Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complexity and hardship make this the best ADTR album yet.
In an interview with the frontman of ADTR Jeremy McKinnon, he said that one of his goals with writing albums is to make sure that every song is able to be listened to without skipping a track. With the band's previous releases, there have been some tracks that I found necessary to skip. With this album, however. the game has TOTALLY changed.
After a dispute with...
Published 12 months ago by Tyler White

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common Courtesy by A Day to Remember
Everyone I’ve spoken to about Common Courtesy has said that this is a very solid album and after finally listening to it, I can see why everyone said that. They have come a far way with constant tours, it’s obvious why they never had time to come out with another album but I liked it for the most part. It definitely is a ‘softer’ album with it...
Published 8 months ago by Abbe Hinder


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complexity and hardship make this the best ADTR album yet., November 25, 2013
This review is from: Common Courtesy [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
In an interview with the frontman of ADTR Jeremy McKinnon, he said that one of his goals with writing albums is to make sure that every song is able to be listened to without skipping a track. With the band's previous releases, there have been some tracks that I found necessary to skip. With this album, however. the game has TOTALLY changed.
After a dispute with Victory Records, ADTR were not sure if they were going to be able to release this album. There were a series of court proceedings, and after all was said and done, ADTR won the case. Jeremy built a studio in his house, and boom. The recording began. It took three years and nine days before this CD was available for us to purchase physically, and fortunately, the wait was worth it.
This is the best album ADTR have ever put out, hands down. There is literally something for everyone on this album, whether or not you're a fan of A Day to Remember or not. "City of Ocala" is a fast punk-rock song that will show inspiration from New Found Glory and other acts alike, while songs such as "Sometimes You're the Hammer, Sometimes You're the Nail", "Violence (Enough is Enough), and "Life Lessons Learned the Hard Way" show how this band can perfectly move from a punk rock song to a hardcore one like it's nothing. In fact, there are songs on this album that are nothing like another song in the band's catalog; "End of Me" is a near power ballad, and "I'm Already Gone" is reminiscent of "You Had Me at Hello", proving th./786at this band can literally do anything it wants in terms of sound. The songs have also become more complex; instead of just a breakdown and chorus, there are now songs that have bridges in them, as well as other added musical parts. "City of Ocala" has a bridge in which Jeremy sings "This is where I came from; I'm right back at it again", while the band sings with him in a series of "Whoa-oh's" that are nothing like I have ever heard before. Another example of this is in "Sometimes You're the Hammer", in which there is a soft drum beat, a few guitar chords, and then Jeremy singing "I want to be a better person, I wanna know the master plan; cast your stones, cast your judgement, you don't make me who I am". The band then goes from just the few drum beats to a full band once more in a transition that I would compare to Underoath's "It's Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door."
All in all, this album is FAR more complex and powerful than any other release from A Day To Remember. The lyrics are meaningful and express love, hatred, and anger, and the instrumentals are either soft enough to lullaby you to sleep or heavy enough to make you headbang to this album for eternity. Do yourself a favor; go pick up this album. It is HANDS DOWN the best release of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite albums., November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Courtesy (Audio CD)
I love every ADTR album but this one is by far one of my favorites. This album has a little bit of everything, super soft songs, pop punk songs, and super heavy songs. Not to mention amazing lyrics that I can relate to. It also comes with a DVD. For 10 bucks you can't go wrong... support good music and support ADTR!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Release, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Courtesy (Audio CD)
Been a fan of this band since their early releases. I was bummed about the delay after their initial single was released almost two years ago but it was worth the wait. I was excited that the cd version would contain 16 tracks and over an hour of music, something that is rare to see in music today. There is a great mix of heavy and light tracks, I felt each track had its own unique feel to it and it did not feel like one long song. Jeremy's vocals have never been better and he seems to improve with every new cd. I would have loved some more screaming parts but im biased toward the heavier songs. If you're on the fence about this one, I would definitely recommend it, especially for the price which includes a bonus DVD.

Glad to see this cd released and I look forward to more from the band in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album!, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Courtesy [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
Common Courtesy has a wide variety of songs, all of which are entertaining and fun to listen to. This was the first time I have heard A Day to Remember, and I am definitely now a fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common Courtesy by A Day to Remember, March 7, 2014
This review is from: Common Courtesy [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
Everyone I’ve spoken to about Common Courtesy has said that this is a very solid album and after finally listening to it, I can see why everyone said that. They have come a far way with constant tours, it’s obvious why they never had time to come out with another album but I liked it for the most part. It definitely is a ‘softer’ album with it being full of more pop than post-hardcore but they still appeal to the same audience and that’s good.

The album starts off with a nicely done tribute to their home town, City of Ocala. Although it may be catchy and sweet giving thanks to their city, it’s still boring. The next FEW SONGS are just as punk and fun but that seems to be all that they are. Right Back at it Again has a killer beat drop that insists on head banging but that is at the very end of it. In fact, Sometimes You’re the Hammer is touching and sweet with words about being humble and having the right to make mistakes but again, these is at the end of the song that it’s hard to believe that the beginning and the end aren’t separate.

A Day to Remember is a band well-known for their mixture of a few pop songs, a few punk/post-hardcore and then rest pop punk. Sometimes You’re the Hammer, Sometimes You’re the Nail is where it gets into post-hardcore and it’s such an intense song that leaves no room for hesitation, these guys know what they’re doing. Even with the simple lyrics, the singing is strong and hypnotizing that it’s hard not to enjoy their post-hardcore songs. This epic streak is cut short by another pop punk song that leads into a quite ballad titled I’m Already Gone that can easily be the sister or cousin to the insanely famous, If it Means a Lot to You with the lone guitar and the speak of an unknown romance.

Common Courtesy is a solid album like everyone says it is. It may seem that they have grown ‘softer’ since there are more pop punk and plain pop in this album than there is post I still enjoyed it. The middle section of this is definitely their strongest point even though it is fairly short. I recommend this album mostly to pop lovers though and anyone who likes dabbling in the pop/post-hardcore things like I do. Off of this album, my favourite songs are: Sometimes You’re the Hammer, Sometimes You’re the Nail, Dead and Buried, I’m Already Gone, and I Remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely Fantastic., February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Courtesy [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
This is such a great album. It is definitely better than there previous album, it reminds me of their album "Homesick" where every song is fun and very energetic. You should buy it. It will be a solid, and everlasting purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good ADTR album, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Courtesy (Audio CD)
As consistent as any band out there. If you like any of their previous albums then you will like Common Courtesy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep putting out good stuff ADTR., January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Courtesy (Audio CD)
Even sweeter because they beat out that crappy record label. The bonus tracks are so good. Perfect amount of everything I love about them on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection!, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Courtesy [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
By far my favorite album they've put out so far. There's a lot of good jams on this. It's hard to pick a favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ILLEST Compact Disc Out, January 22, 2014
This review is from: Common Courtesy (Audio CD)
What a masterpiece by one hell of a band. If you are into the hard core metal with loads of wicked breakdowns and something you can jam out to without too many judgmental kids looking at you, this is your best bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Common Courtesy [Explicit]
Common Courtesy [Explicit] by A Day To Remember
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.