Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let this book's compact size fool you, it packs a giant return!, January 23, 2012
By 
Chris Smith (Kirkland, WA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
Common Sense Investing is short and easy to read. It's also complete, and rock-solid on the fundamentals. That combination is very rare when it comes to investment books, and that's why Common Sense Investing is such a treasure.

How do I know? I write personal finance for young adults myself, so I've read most of the current offerings that young adults have to choose from. Some are fundamentally sound, but are just too long - which means that they won't get read. Some take an oversimplified, condescending approach. And sad to say, quite a few of them just plain get it wrong.

But Common Sense Investing is the exception. The "Ten Simple Rules" structure makes it easy to see how the pieces fit together, and acts like a "progress bar" to keep you reading. Rick has a gift for distilling the essence of a topic, and presenting it in a way that produces an "oh, I get it!" insight.

Common Sense Investing should be on the must-read list for all young adults. But they're not the only ones who can benefit. Anybody who is new to investing - or maybe isn't so new, but is befuddled by it - will find it refreshingly enlightening. Don't be fooled by its compact size - it packs a giant return on your reading investment, which - if you follow the simple, sound advice presented - will followed by similar returns in your investment account. 5 stars!

Chris Smith
Author of Securing Your Financial Future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In life, some advice is simply precious...., November 25, 2011
By 
Henry (Seattle Area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
For young folks starting out, this book outlines a simple but effective strategy of investing.

The daunting task of managing one's 401K takes many folks into a sinkhole because they do not understand the risk inherent in investing and how to manage risk thru prudent diversification. They may not understand why it is necessary to hold stocks as well as bonds in their portfolio. And they may not understand why certain ratios of stocks to bonds are critical to investment success.

If you do it right, it's like a heavy weight lifted off your shoulders !

COMMON SENSE INVESTING helps guide you in making good investment decisions.

Mr. Van Ness wants to educate others to develop a sound approach to investing.

The easy-to-read COMMON SENSE INVESTING is based on his 10 mini-videos series.

I saw the videos first and wished I saw them years ago ! The book stresses the same 10 Rules:

1. Develop a workable plan
2. Invest early and often
3. Never bear too much or too little risk
4. Diversify
5. Never try to time the market
6. Use index funds when possible
7. Keep costs low
8. Minimize taxes
9. Keep it simple
10. Stay the Course.

Rick's sincerity, honesty and desire to help educate us are obvious.

Thank you, Mr. Van Ness, for selflessly sharing your gifts and talents !

COMMON SENSE INVESTING is a wonderful gift for your loved ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, wise, to the point, accurate and a winner for sure., October 28, 2011
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
The title tells it all: Common Sense Investing.

There was a song a few years ago, "Pennies from Heaven." If one follows the very understandable and readable ten rules to accumulate riches in this book, you will be showered with riches, not just pennies, ere long.
Yes, patience and time are essential but it is doable if you follow the simple ten guidelines in this book. It also helps you write a simple one-page investment plan, that with revisions, will serve you all the days of your life.

Oh, how I wish this book had been available decades ago. I would have saved myself a lot of grief and acquired a lot more money.

Give this book to those you love. It's a wonderful gift for high school and college students and for those just beginning their careers.

You are beyond that age? Well, you too can profit as well from reading this enjoyable and instructive book.

He's another Jack Boogle. Five stars for sure!!
***************
Dr. Mellander was a college president for twenty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Starting Place for Investors, October 9, 2011
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
If you are new to Investing and don't want to spend hours and hours wading through confusing, unsubstantiated B.S., this book is a wonderful one-stop resource for developing a common sense investment plan, with the added bonus that you can finish it in about an hour. Rick Van Ness provides 10 simple rules that anyone can apply, along with charts, graphs and excellent video links that will help you create a sound investment foundation. You will not find sophisticated technical analysis or trend following trading platforms here (both of which have merit, but are the financial equivalent of suicide for novice traders). This is a conservative, no-nonsense plan that will invariably create wealth over the long run. It would make an excellent gift to someone starting their first job after college. The author is an experienced investor and clearly has enough practical knowledge to be a great teacher. His writing style is easy to read and understand. I can't think of a better way to start your investment plan than buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is important information, explained clearly., September 13, 2011
By 
Martha (Hooksett, NH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
Rick did a great job with his streaming videos and now it's in print. I'm ordering our copy today, and our adult children will receive copies for Christmas.

My husband considers himself a Boglehead, and has been handing out information cards for years (on those inexpensive Vistaprint business-type cards) with similar information (asset allocation plan with low cost index funds, held over time), a short list of recommended books, plus the diehard website. Also included is this recommendation: "For some terrific quick, easy video lessons, meet Rick Van Ness at [...]" He hands out these cards to every waitperson, salesperson, acquaintance and stranger who will accept one! Thank you, Rick, for using your considerable gifts to help people. We'll have to add this book to the list of recommended books.

And God bless Jack Bogle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had this at 18 years old...., September 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
I am a high school Economics teacher and Boglehead. I stumbled on Rick's videos on the Boglehead Facebook and instantly thought these would be an excellent teaching tool for my Seniors to view and understand. I ordered 3 books for my students to check out and read.

The book and videos make your financial life simple and peaceful. Its detailed but doesn't overwhelm you in our busy culture. Its ideal for a college or high school graduate that is entering the real world.

I applaud Rick for trying to educate the public on common sense investing and living. Financial literacy is badly needed in our high schools and Rick has the right idea about how to simplify life with his roadmap.

We need more Rick's in this world and less get rich schemes from the financial services industry. Watch the videos at financinglife.org .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand and practical investing advice., October 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
This book is filled with easy to understand investing advice. It takes seemingly complex things and makes them consumable to people who don't have the time or energy to fully understand how best to manage their money but still want to responsibly save for retirement. After reading this book you will have a list of things to check on your current investments that could dramatically improve your long term financial health. I highly recommend this book as a way to build a plan for your future and as a reference book for explaining seemingly confusing financial topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and clear, September 4, 2011
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
This book is an extension of some excellent videos created by the author to help young adults understand investing and how wealth builds over the years. Ha, I'm well into middle age and this is about the best "how to" on the very basics I've found. (I got "Investing for Dummies" and found it too hard so that gives you an idea of how simple I needed.) I think it is a perfect graduation-from-college book, and if you wanted to read it before giving...well, it couldn't hurt and it very well could help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncommon Common Sense, September 29, 2011
By 
Allan S. Roth "dare_to_be_dull" (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
Rick Van Ness' Common Sense Investing offers readers some crisp, simple, and irrefutably great investment advice. In about an hour, you can learn ten simple rules that will give you all you need to pull ahead of the herd and leave 99 percent of so called investors in your dust. I write "The Irrational Investor" for CBS MoneyWatch, and am of the opinion that this book presents readers with the opportunity to discover a much more rational and profitable way to invest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, January 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Common Sense Investing: Ten Simple Rules to Finance Your Dreams, or Create a Roadmap to Achieve Financial Independence by Investing in Mutual Funds with a Personal Financial Plan (Paperback)
If you're looking to make your financial life simple, yet successful, this is the book for you. This book is very easy to read, offers simple advice that anyone can follow, and makes preparing for a successful financial life seem easy. I wish someone would have offered me a book like this when I was in high school or college; it would have made a big difference in my life. But it's never too late to start and Rick's ideas are right on the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.