Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome as usual
Max is one anointed writer. Writes in a very simple but straight forward way. God bless you Max. Happy New year to you and yours.
Published 8 months ago by C. L. Brocksieker

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Max Lucado Small Group Study
Having purchased the actual book "Cure for the Common Life" I did assume the study guide would work step by step with the book, but it doesn't. As a result we have not used the study guide at all, but working through the chapters one by one.

I think the study guide has some good ideas, but we haven't been able to use it during our small group time, so rather a...
Published on November 9, 2006 by Jane Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Max Lucado Small Group Study, November 9, 2006
By 
Jane Smith (Richmond , Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having purchased the actual book "Cure for the Common Life" I did assume the study guide would work step by step with the book, but it doesn't. As a result we have not used the study guide at all, but working through the chapters one by one.

I think the study guide has some good ideas, but we haven't been able to use it during our small group time, so rather a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best for a true group study, November 27, 2007
By 
A customer (Fort Collins, Colorado) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This study guide is stuctured for a small group that breaks up into pairs or threes to share thoughts and personal stories to help discover each person's individual strengths. If you want to do a study based upon the book with a group that stays together and discusses together, I recommend you follow the actual book not the study guide. The book has a good list of questions at the back for chapters 6-15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very redundant, February 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cure for the Common Life Small Group Study (Lucado, Max) (Paperback)
Our couples group Finally abandoned this "bible study" after week 3 because it was the EXACT same questions week to week. Please note on the cover that some other group is parting writing it and I believe just using lucado's name to get you interested in it. Definitely not a lucado study. Don't waste your $.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome as usual, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Max is one anointed writer. Writes in a very simple but straight forward way. God bless you Max. Happy New year to you and yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book by itself would be just fine and no need for the workbook. There is a lot of turn to your neighbor and talk about......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real life changer, May 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved this book. I underlined, folded pages, used post-it's and overall could not wait to read this. Each chapter was a step and eye-opener of what to do to make your/my life worth something that matters. The workbook is great, tremendous group study and/or just for yourself. If you need a shot in the arm -- this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cure for the Common Life Small Group Study (Lucado, Max) (Paperback)
This is a great book. I found it to answer a lot of questions that people have concerning what to do with their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Stps, October 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cure for the Common Life Small Group Study (Lucado, Max) (Paperback)
This study was a big surprise. At first it seems kinds fluffy compared to the actual book. But in a small group setting it really generates conversation and soul searching. I highly recommend this study to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Max Lucado Masterpiece, April 21, 2009
This review is from: Cure for the Common Life Small Group Study (Lucado, Max) (Paperback)
I love his books and this one is great. Buy them all and lock yourself into your room for a month and read them. You will be blessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, July 16, 2010
By 
Don "lgregory20" (Batesville, Arkansas United States) - See all my reviews
I really do not understand how Max has done it. He takes a bunch of fluff, stirs it around a little and pours out "Best sellers?" Is our society so lacking in religous understanding that they are willing to swallow anything that makes them "Feel" good. Cure for the Common life is just more of the same double talk that takes you no where, and has no real rationale. (except of course to make Max $$$) The true purpose of God's word is to lead us thru life, and motivate individuals and society as a whole to be more like Him. To say God's give us a "knack sack" (Max's words not mine) and that to be truly happy or find our "sweet spot" we must align ourselves to "the plan" God put together for us before we were born? Let's just say it's a little our there. Now if you wish to stay in the "shallow" end of the pool, and you only want to discuss "touchey, feeley" aspects of a religous dicussion?...then Max's books, including this one, are right up your alley. But..if you truly want to strive to be a better Christian, and learn how to improve your life, and the lives of others. Forget fluff like this big bowl of sugar and buy yourself and good translation of the Bible. All of life answers can be found in God's word. You just have to spend the time finding it. Good luck and good hunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cure for the Common Life Small Group Study (Lucado, Max)
Cure for the Common Life Small Group Study (Lucado, Max) by Max Lucado (Paperback - September 19, 2006)
Used & New from: $2.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.