A COMMON LAW FOR THE AGE OF STATUTES and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

A Common Law for the Age of Statutes (Oliver Wendell Holmes Lectures) Reprint Edition

1 customer review
ISBN-13: 978-0674146051
ISBN-10: 0674146050
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used
$3.72
Buy new
$39.00
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, January 31, 1985
"Please retry"
$39.00
$39.00 $3.72
More Buying Choices
20 New from $39.00 26 Used from $3.72
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


InterDesign Brand Store Awareness Textbooks
$39.00 FREE Shipping. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

A Common Law for the Age of Statutes (Oliver Wendell Holmes Lectures) + The Nature of the Common Law
Price for both: $70.75

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Review

This is a genuinely original and thoughtful book, one of the few in the jurisprudential genre that is both dearly written and devoid of cliché. It addresses current social and legal issues from an engagingly fresh, nonpolemical, and erudite perspective. (American Bar Association Journal)

Calabresi has brought his ample juristic talents to bear on a foundational problem of the legal and democratic process...in its quality, timeliness and provocativeness [this book] is likely to stand alongside the seminal works of Ronald Dworkin and Grant Gilmore. (Columbia Law Review)
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Oliver Wendell Holmes Lectures (Book 2004)
  • Paperback: 332 pages
  • Publisher: Harvard University Press; Reprint edition (January 1, 1985)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0674146050
  • ISBN-13: 978-0674146051
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.8 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,039,830 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What can I say -- words from the last generation's greatest scholar-jurist in the vein of Cardozo and Holmes, updated for our modern legal system. Brilliantly expressed and readable in a way that law review style legal scholarship is not. When I can open a law book on an airplane and become absorbed, you know it is worth paying for. I have the Kindle version and will follow up with one for the bookshelves.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
A Common Law for the Age of Statutes (Oliver Wendell Holmes Lectures)
This item: A Common Law for the Age of Statutes (Oliver Wendell Holmes Lectures)
Price: $39.00
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?