Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong
I found this book to be very informative not just for the A+ exam, but for computer knowledge in general. First - the most important part - it's definitely got everything you need for the A+ exam, and if you use the book to study, you should be able to pass on the first try. I'll run down the contents of the book so you know what you're getting into. First - a tear out...
Published on March 1, 2011 by JB

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all that it appears to be
The publisher claims on this book's cover that it includes coverage of Windows 7. That's true. The author does mention Windows 7 here and there but only as an afterthought. This book focuses almost entirely--perhaps as much as 95 percent--on Windows Vista and XP.

I bought this book thinking I would get up-to-date information on the latest version of Windows and...
Published on May 24, 2011 by M. Alexander


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong, March 1, 2011
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
I found this book to be very informative not just for the A+ exam, but for computer knowledge in general. First - the most important part - it's definitely got everything you need for the A+ exam, and if you use the book to study, you should be able to pass on the first try. I'll run down the contents of the book so you know what you're getting into. First - a tear out 60-bullet point or so study sheet to take with you on the run. Not a ton of learnable content in the tear-out sheet - it's meant more to help you remember the topics you've studied, not the actual content. Each chapter is reasonable in length and lists all of the details necessary to learn the material that you don't already know. At the end of each section (not chapter - each chapter has multiple sections), there is a cram quiz with a few Q&As (about 3-5 questions, usually) to see if you've picked up the material you just read over or if you should read it over again. There are also random "exam alerts" scattered throughout the book that have one-sentence factoids that you should definitely memorize for the exam. The end of each chapter also has additional reading & resources links (sometimes to books, sometimes to websites), if you're so inclined to expand your studies (I wasn't). There are plenty of pictures scattered throughout as well to help you visualize what the author is talking about. One of the last chapters is about tips & tricks for how to not just take the exam, but also do well on it. The book has 3 practice exams at the end. The first two are 100 questions each, the third is 50 questions. The questions are very well written and quite indicative of what's on the actual exam, so they'll help with reinforcing the content and also becoming accustomed to the wording of the questions themselves. The supplied answers also explained why the particular answer was correct and provided a location of where in the book you could turn for a more detailed answer. One thing that isn't present, that I prefer, is a listing of why the other answers were incorrect, but that isn't a huge deal b/c this exam is mostly about facts, and the simple answer is that B isn't right because it's just the wrong answer. The included CD has additional Q&As in PDF form and a PDF of the tear-out sheet from the front of the book. A PDF of the book itself is not included (I prefer that they are, despite piracy concerns), although the back of the book has a link & coupon code to download a 45-day free online version of the book through the usual Safari Books online which numerous other companies use. It's OK, but I still prefer a personal PDF copy. To sum it all up - I recommend this book and do not doubt that it will help you pass the CompTIA A+ exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, September 6, 2011
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
Excellent book, passed both exams on the first try on four and a half hours of sleep. If you do everything David tells you to do to prepare, you will pass the exam. He states the facts that you need to know for the exam and doesn't overload you on information. I like his book because he doesn't use an overly fluffy language.It's to the point and not verbose and not written like he's regurgitating information from a technical document.

For someone like me it is very important because I get easily bored and if it's written in an overly technical manner I get easily sidetracked which is why I couldn't get through Michael Meyer's book. But it still is very informative and he makes sure to cover all the necessary exam objectives. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+ Exam Cram 220-701 and 220-702 (5th Ed), February 22, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
This is an excellent resource! I highly recommend this book. I needed to brush up on some of my A+ knowledge to stay current with the computer changes. This book helped to replenish those skills. I especially like the addition of the Windows 7 material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best exam books written., March 3, 2011
By 
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
Reviewed this book and I already have my A+ Certification. If you work your way through the book and can answer all of the questions from the 3 practice tests, you should have no problem passing the exam. Also an excellent reference book for working on all types of PC's. The chapter on printers is especially well done. It has Windows 7 information in it which is very helpful considering how quickly it is being adopted. I have taken both courses and have worked my way through another well known book to pass my exam. Add to that 25 years of IT experience. I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, December 14, 2011
By 
Penny G (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
I have been reading several reviews on here mainly the negative ones. This is just my opinion, this book will not teach you everything it is the nut's and bolts of what you will need to know for the exam. If you do not have at least 6 months of helpdesk or desktop experience then I would advise anyone to get the cert guide by this author and take that route to get the A+. Professor Messer also has really good FREE videos to watch. If anyone failed by reading this book alone and did not have the technical background well you can't blame the book trying to cram all this stuff into your head is not the most feasible way to go. This book is just meant to be a refresher for those who are in the IT field or are the at home PC repair gal/guy. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to review but not to anyone who is new to the IT field I would get the cert guide. That is just my .02 cents. BTW I passed the 701 and go for my 702 in (2) weeks. *****Update***** I passed the second part of this exam, I would suggest that read the practical parts very closely as some of the questions are tricky. Good luck to all who are preparing for this exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+ Study just got easier with this ExamCram, April 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
I purchased this book to use in the final 30 days of my A+ exam prep. I love this book and I really wish I had purchased it sooner. It has information in it that I have not run across in other A+ prep material. It includes Windows 7 so it is more up to date than some of the other books. The material is pretty condensed which makes it an easy review. It also does a really good job of pointing out the differences between different items such as multi-core and hyperthreading. It points out the key differences in a concise, straight to the point way that makes it easy to remember. It includes questions at the end of each Chapter that are specific to the Chapter. It also has 3 practice exams at the end of the book that appear to be made up of the same questions found at the end of each chapter.

The included CD has a PDF containing all of the Chapter quiz questions and solutions along with explanations. It also contains a Cram Sheet. It contains the usual ExamGear2 practice question software application that is very easy to use.

I expect to continue to use this book as a reference even after I pass my A+ certification exam.

I have not taken the certification exam yet so I don't have any input on how well the book prepped me for the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comptia A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram Fifth Edition, March 16, 2011
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
This latest release of the Cram Exam for both A+ exams (220-701 and 220-702) by David L. Prowse is spot on for future exam takers with some experience looking to prepare for both exams.

I like the way the book is broken down by section and test areas with practice tests spread throughout the book. This give you the ability to focus on areas where you are weak. If you have tried to take the A+ exam and did not pass one or both parts, the way this guide is laid out is good for focusing on those key areas where you didn't receive a passing score. Since this is a Cram guide it assumes a certain level of knowledge and rightly so (anyone who wants to take these exams should have some practical experience before taking the tests).

Another way the guide is helpful is showing you how strong or weak you are in key areas. Try taking one of the shorter tests and see how you measure up. This book accomplishes its purpose of helping you bone up before tackling the A+.

The last plus for the book is the access to updated content, errata and other technical information on the Authors web site, technical blogs and forums.

Another good job by David L. Prowse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Book for A+ Cert- Passed in One Try!, March 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition)

David L. Prowse did an EXCELLENT job with this book. It was a great preparation for taking the A+ exam. I was originally using CompTIA A+ 2009 In Depth by Jean (Jean Andrews) Andrews AND i was So bored! because is was an overload of information.

I like CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition)]]by David L. Prowse because it really focused on types of topic and format of questions that you can expect on the exam.

The book also comes with CD that allows you to take practice exam.

I dumped CompTIA A+ 2009 In Depth by Jean (Jean Andrews) Andrews after reading 8 chapters and studied CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition)]]by David L. Prowse for 3days and took the test and passed it. I Thank God!

I will definitely recommended this book for someone who has at least some substantial background exp. and would like to adequately prepare for the A+ exam. This will be the book for you!

All the best to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for newby or as a refresher, March 10, 2011
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
This book is a great resource for passing the A+ certification exams. The is a great teaching tool whether your someone starting out as a pc technician or a seasoned technician already with an A+ certification. The format of the book along with the accompanying CD is presented in a manner to help test your knowledge and build your understanding of pc software & hardware issues. The questions not only explain why an answer is correct, but why other answers are not correct.

Use the book as a study guide. Use the quizzes to build your knowledge and understanding. Review. And when you begin to consistently score 80%-90% or better on the practice exams, take the CompTIA tests and get certified. It is a great way to validate that you have the knowledge and skills as a IT professional!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for any Certification, March 10, 2011
This review is from: CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) (Paperback)
The Exam Cram series is a great tool when studying to get certified. I have used them before to obtain other certifications as well.

The content in this is very up to date. Many books aren't able to keep up on all topics. I was impressed that this book covered very current technology including Windows 7. The Exam Cram books won't get you the core knowledge. They are perfect for testing what you know or have learned as prep for your testing. The included CD with its testing engine and practice questions allow you to put yourslef into a testing environment and know where you stand. This is a great way to get bearings on what you do and don't understand prior to the real test. Not to mention its cheaper than taking your test multiple times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition)
CompTIA A+ 220-701 and 220-702 Exam Cram (5th Edition) by David L. Prowse (Paperback - January 30, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.