Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


180 of 189 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy, But Not Exactly a "Study Bible"
Comp-bibl
This "Comparative Study Bible" is a useful tool, handy, and cost-effective for any bible scholar who doesn't have most of the translations in hand already (King James, Amplified, New American Standard, and New International).
Its chief virtue is that the two middle translations are somewhat difficult to find and very expensive to buy: the Amplified...
Published on October 3, 2002 by Allen Smalling

versus
97 of 107 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed...
The convenience of having four Bible versions in one is definitely unbeatable for those seeking to have a total understanding of the verses they are reading. The text is set up in four columns across a two-page spread which is great for comparison purposes. However, in this volume (Hardcover-ISBN-0310903335), the type (font) is so small and the pages are so thin that I...
Published on July 16, 2001 by Kimberly Frank


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

180 of 189 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy, But Not Exactly a "Study Bible", October 3, 2002
This review is from: Comparative Study Bible, Revised (Hardcover)
Comp-bibl
This "Comparative Study Bible" is a useful tool, handy, and cost-effective for any bible scholar who doesn't have most of the translations in hand already (King James, Amplified, New American Standard, and New International).
Its chief virtue is that the two middle translations are somewhat difficult to find and very expensive to buy: the Amplified Version and the NASB. The Amplified is just that: if more than one word is necessary to get the nuance of meaning(s) of the original text(s) across, this version will indicate so, even at the risk of a "stuttering" effect: For example, the New International Version Chapter 1, Verse 2 reads: "Meaningless, Meaningless! Says the Teacher, Utterly Meaningless! Everything is Meaningless." The Amplified Version has it: "Vapor of vapor and futility of futilities, says the Preacher. Vapor of vapor and futility of futilities. All is vanity (emptiness, falsity, vainglory)." (note the repetition of the "vapor" phrase; also, this edition contains a cross-reference to Romans)
The New American Standard Bible (NASB), on the other hand, does not try to synthesize text with synonyms but with a challenging, "strictly literal" or word-for-word methodology so difficult to read that most bible scholars rate at about grade 11. (At this point I should mention that the "reading levels" of the past were skewed much higher in, say, 1960 than they are today: today's college textbooks are written at level 10, editorials in prestigious newspapers at about 8, and news content about 6.
The price we pay for the strict literalness of NASB makes it unsuitable for general pew use (most of the time, anyway), the virtue is that it reveals shades of meaning through its complexity that are not available to the general reader of the New Revised Standard, King James, NIV and so on. For example, the New Revised Standard (NRSV) translates Genesis 1:11 as: "Then God said, 'Let the earth put forth vegetation: plants yielding seed, and fruit trees of every kind on earth that bear fruit with the seed in it." The NASB has it "Let the earth sprout vegetation; plants bearing seed and fruit trees on the earth bearing fruit after their kind with seed in them." A subtle but key difference, no?

In terms of the market value of its translations, our "Comparative Study Bible" has the advantage over its near-twin, the very similar "Today's Parallel Bible," which contains KJV, NIV, NASB, and a paraphrase, Today's living version (TLV). The TLV is a widely-circulated and admired paraphrase and is quite easy and cheap to come by. Instead, our version includes the more expensive Amplified version.
Like "Today's Parallel," our "Comparative Bible" here discussed is manufactured in the USA but the physical product is not, I fear, a sterling example of American workmanship. For the book's weight, the spine stitching is too slight. (I recommend the owner carry it around in a backpack or tote of some kind.)
More problematic is the fact that the "Comparative Study Bible" doesn't really qualify as a "study Bible," even within the slippery bounds of bible lingo (what constitutes a "concordance," what is "annotated," etc). Cross-references frequently are contained in braces after the relevant verse but don't come in the kind of flowing abundance we'd expect in a center-column bible, for example. Comment and annotated footnotes are rare. There are exceptions (see Amos 3:7) but they are exceptions.
This lack of study-worthiness from lack of full cross-references and annotation makes me downrate this otherwise useful and thrifty four-format Bible from a 5 to a 4. But considered not as a "study bible" but just as a cheap and convenient way to acquire new bible versions (especially NASB and Amplified), it's a bargain and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 in 1 Bible... If this is what you're looking for..., November 11, 2002
This review is from: Comparative Study Bible, Revised (Hardcover)
Despite the crushed expectations of some, I find these types of tools invaluable, and the product itself is outstanding. The intentions of the publisher was to put four translations side by side in one clearly labeled package, and they delivered (except for the "study" part of it... which is more commonly used today suggesting editor's notes... honestly, I'm pleased that piles of opinions aren't there).
These aren't the only four translations that will go great together, but they are definately good to compare, especially the NASB update (my favorite) and the NIV which are very popular translations. The KJV is significant considering it was a translation based on the TR text, and interesting to note some of the rather dated words that were used (that still cause "confusion" with certain groups that hold exclusively to this translation). The amplified translation seems a bit awkward, but still good because it causes curiosity.
If you are expecting this to be an exact literal translation or an "interlinear", then don't buy it, it isn't supposed to be. If you are expecting the Greek text, don't buy it, it's not a Greek testament either. If you want a parallel Bible, buy it, it is just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL BIBLE! One Of The Best 4-In-1 Bibles Made Today!, May 3, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Comparative Study Bible takes the complete texts of four
popular Bibles each acclaimed for its distinctive translational features and sets them side-by-side for fast, easy comparison.
This revised version offers important updates that make it more useful than ever. Includes the beloved King James translation, Amplified version, New International version, and the Updated NASB with the words of Christ in RED in all translations.
This ASIN that I am reviewing is the leatherbound edition. It is bound in beautiful top grade burgundy leather with a satin bookmark & exceptional binding. Pretty endpages and gold gilded pages make this Bible a great gift for ANY occasion or a well-deserved gift for yourself.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 107 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed..., July 16, 2001
By 
Kimberly Frank (a southern state, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comparative Study Bible, Revised (Hardcover)
The convenience of having four Bible versions in one is definitely unbeatable for those seeking to have a total understanding of the verses they are reading. The text is set up in four columns across a two-page spread which is great for comparison purposes. However, in this volume (Hardcover-ISBN-0310903335), the type (font) is so small and the pages are so thin that I find it difficult to read the text (the font is TINY and the words from the previous page show through) - and this coming from someone with 20/20 vision. I cannot imagine how it would be for someone of age or with less than perfect vision.
I would recommend that you go to a brick and mortar store and see this Bible FIRST to decide if it is right for you. I wish I had actually seen the text before making an online purchase. I had planned to use this Bible as my main reading Bible but it will remain on the shelf, used only as a reference. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be called "The Comparative Bible", June 7, 2003
By 
varhou (Vic, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comparative Study Bible, Revised (Hardcover)
As a bible student I know that finding a good translation is hard some often don't render some verses clearly and some are bias and others give the wrong impression from their wording. Some say just buy the KJV but most people can't read or understand its archaic langauge. From multiple translations you can really understand what a verse is saying and the meaning behind it therefore the Comparative Study Bible is a great buy. It takes four different bible translations and puts them side by side one in each column for you to compare and contrast. It saves time because you only have to find one page rather than going through four different books its a great idea this bible!
Zondervan also produce a Today's Parallel Bible it is almost identical to the Comparative Study bible except for the middle translation the Parallel uses a New Living Translation (NLT) a bible that translates the verse using a different wording that best presents the meaning the verse is trying to express. This translation is good for reading but not for studying as its not the exact word but someone's intrepretation of it. The Comparative uses a Amplified Bible which tries to compress as much information as possible into each verse and has quite extensive footnotes and cross references to similar passages features the NLT does not have. The other 3 translations are exactly the same in both bibles the 1873 King James Version, New International Version (NIV) and the New American Standard Bible (NASB)
In the NLT it reads at Matthew 24:15 "The time will come when you see what Daniel the prophet spoke about: the sacriegious object that causes descreation standing in the Holy Place - reader pay attention" if you prefer a NLT then I recommend the Parallel. The same verse from the AMP "So when you see the appalling sacriledge [the abomination that causes and makes desolate], spoken of by the prophet Daniel standing in the Holy Place - let the reader take notice and ponder and consider and heed this" [Dan 9:27; 11:31; 12:11] if you like the AMP then I recommend the Comparative Study Bible. They are both great bibles and great buys all you need to decide is which one the Parallel or Comparative I bought both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT Disappointed. . ., February 27, 2005
By 
This review is from: Comparative Study Bible, Revised (Hardcover)
Unlike a prior reviewer, I definitely don't have 20/20 vision. However, I found the layout of this Bible very amenable to Bible study. I particularly appreciate Zondervan's giving the Amplified translation more room in the NT so that the total Bible size can be held down. Certainly these pages are thin, and I probably wouldn't recommend a lot of marking on them, but again, this was done in the interest of holding the total size and weight to a reasonable level. And yes, I consider it reasonable; I've got other study Bibles as heavy as this one. I won't give 5 stars because I think construction quality should be better, but we'll just keep the bookbinders in business! All parallel Bibles have to necessarily be a compromise and I think this is a superb one. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Research Tool, January 5, 2001
I found this Bible to be a great research tool. The Amplified version is great and includes lots of footnotes. Unlike study Bibles it doesn't contain study notes, but having the versions all alongside each other is fantastic. It's great for writing sermons with, as the actual meaning of each passage (which can sometimes be mis-read) is easily and assuredly explained. A great buy, and still less expensive than some single version Bibles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for verifying the original meaning of the Word., June 13, 1999
By A Customer
The Word of God is living and active and penetrates to the inner man. With the additional expository comments found in the amplified bible, the student can attain a better understanding on the first attempt. This great resource works well with a Hebrew/Greek/English Interlinear Study Bible as well. Truly we Americans are blessed to have such instruction in righteousness available to us ! Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great study tool, but don't let the title confuse you, July 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Comparative Study Bible, Revised (Hardcover)
This is an excellent study tool for those who want to get at the heart of the passages that guide a Christian life. However, don't get confused by the word "Study" in the the title. Although this is a great study resource, it does not have study notes found in most Bibles labled as a "study" bible. Besides that, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent format except for quibble on footnotes, December 27, 2000
This review is from: Comparative Study Bible, Revised (Hardcover)
I didn't notice any abbreviation or omissions of the footnotes for the Amplified text (after comparing with a copy of the Amplified hardback edition). However, it appeared that that complete footnotes for all translations were included except for the NASB. I don't understand why so many omissions of translators' notes for NASB when there appears to be room for them. However, the TODAY'S PARALLEL BIBLE that has just recently come out has complete NASB footnotes (it has KJV, NIV, NLT and NASB) as well as other translations' complete footnotes. Regardless, both the COMPARATIVE and TODAY'S are equally good in format--very handy to compare translations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Comparative Study Bible, Revised
Comparative Study Bible, Revised by Zondervan (Hardcover - July 1, 1999)
Used & New from: $10.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.