Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and substantiative; Revitalizing for believers and extremely beneficial for nonbelievers.
Doug Jacoby is a highly educated theological scholar. He has traveled all over the world to teach and specializes in Christian apologetics and exegesis of the Bible. What I really like about him, however, is that unlike some scholars or authors who only know a lot about their particular field of study, Doug has devoted much time to studying out other religions and other...
Published on May 12, 2010 by Song Rose

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much for the non-believer as for "the choir."
On a recommendation from a Christian friend, I gave this book a try.

Jacoby trots out many tired old saws that have been debated and refuted, or just bandied about endlessly without much conclusion. I kept thinking that if he was in a room with a proper philosopher or logician he would have been eaten alive for his inconsistencies. (There is an interesting...
Published on May 22, 2011 by J. Hicks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and substantiative; Revitalizing for believers and extremely beneficial for nonbelievers., May 12, 2010
This review is from: Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt (Paperback)
Doug Jacoby is a highly educated theological scholar. He has traveled all over the world to teach and specializes in Christian apologetics and exegesis of the Bible. What I really like about him, however, is that unlike some scholars or authors who only know a lot about their particular field of study, Doug has devoted much time to studying out other religions and other fields of study (such as science) which enables him to have a uniquely broad perspective and understanding of the things he teaches.

I highly recommend this book for believers and nonbelievers alike because of the plethora of information and tremendous insight it provides. It is very well-written, thought-provoking, and faith building. He handles the questions of God's existence and the validity of the Bible with finesse and prudent consideration.

He begins by "clearing away the debris" of all the arguments against the existence of God. He discusses atheism in detail and provides strong arguments for the reality of God. He then moves on to the credibility of the Bible and provides extensive information based on his own experiences visiting archaeological and religious historic sites and the utilization of his training in Ancient Greek and other biblical languages. He also discusses the life of Jesus in detail including miracles and the resurrection. The final part covers the pursuit of God and making informed decisions. In the bonus appendix, he discusses the trinity, Bible Study strategies, and "seemingly" contradictory passages in the Bible.

If you do not believe there is a God, then this is the book for you. If you are questioning whether God truly exists or doubt that the Bible is God's Word, this book will really make you think and prayerfully build your faith. If you want to be able to defend your faith using sound arguments and valid evidence, this book will be invaluable to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend this book, May 30, 2010
This review is from: Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt (Paperback)
As a young Christian, I often read and reread Jacoby's earlier work, "True and Reasonable". What a leap forward from an already good foundation! Jacoby's personal growth as an author and teacher is apparent in this similar, yet greatly improved work. His arguments are even more compelling and sound. The tone and vocabulary is neither condescending nor over the head of the intended audience. Jacoby strikes a great balance between keeping it relatable to the average disciple and including content that helps the more intellectual ones.

The cases that he builds for a faith in Jesus are profound, yet simple to understand. His recent public debates with skeptics and people of other faiths have prepared him very well. They shine through in this book. He has grown tremendously in his ability to make a very persuasive, honest, and logical argument. In some ways, the book reads as the expert presentation of one side of a debate, which can prepare the average disciple to make a case to skeptical friends. A person with an open heart and mind will have a difficult time refuting the evidence.

I highly recommend this book to skeptics, seekers, young disciples, anyone with doubts, or those looking to help their friends come to faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing compilation of years of study, July 2, 2011
This review is from: Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt (Paperback)
This book is so scientific yet so readable to the somewhat "common folk" that I am. I love that Jacoby really puts his faith to the test and lets the reader in on it. I go back to this book often. This is a purchase you will not regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars skeptical, September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really find this book very helpful for people that are really interested to find the truth and are willing to be challenged to open not only their minds but all their humanity.
This provocative and challenge book is very fascinating for those who are looking more than answers, faith and hope .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for building faith!, September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt (Paperback)
The book is good and an easy read. The statistics portion is really good too as it widdles down the chances of everything being an accident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This apologetics book is an easy read. Mr. Jacoby delivers what he promises: compelling evidence for faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior---the Son of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt (Paperback)
This book is really awesome. It arrived on time and in good condition. A good book for anyone who wants to have their own convictions on things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book really helped with some of my questions. I highly recommend for anyone seeking to understand the validity of God and the Bible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most Logical and Easy to Recall Christian Evidence Book, January 1, 2013
This review is from: Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt (Paperback)
I have not only read Compelling Evidence For God and the Bible but I have given it away to many friends. One might say I read this book as a believer, therefore I cannot give the nonbeliever's perspective. However, that fact should not discredit my review because I have used this material to help countless friends, plus it has taken my own understanding to a deeper level. I am confident any honest reader of this book will appreciate how Jacoby masterfully puts complex ideas into simple terms. That takes tremendous skill. I love how the material is so logical, making it easy to understand and recall at other times, which is the main reason it my favorite Christian evidence book (and I own most of the good ones). Lastly, I want to comment that one of the critics misunderstood the fact that this work is purposefully simple and addresses common misconceptions. I've heard Jacoby speak on many other subjects and I know for fact he goes in depth on more topics than any other apologist around. You'll see if you do a search on his website: [...] or look at other books he has published or listen to his recorded lectures or visit one of his lectures on his schedule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible, July 19, 2012
This review is from: Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt (Paperback)
Compelling Evidence is a must read book for everyone. Whether you are set in your personal belief or disbelief, you will be challenged, but not pushed away. Dr. Jacoby's intellect and writing appeals to the scholar and the uneducated (like me). Everyone will be captivated and have a deeper understanding.
We can no longer sit back and let others decide what is true or not. Discernment is a gift, but like anything physical we either use it or lose it. But when we do discern, let us do it from the correct perspective, of love and servitude. I recommend this book to everyone, whether you are riding the fence or not. In reality, there is no fence. We all are making a difference in this world, for the better or for the worse. I challenge myself and all of us to think and discern not from our own biased experiences, but to search for the truth. It will be found if you search for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Compelling Evidence for God and the Bible: Finding Truth in an Age of Doubt
$13.99 $12.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.