Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO Good!
With 19 tracks and 2 enhanced CD videos of "Allison" and "Here Comes Your Man," this CD is definitely worth the price and the effort.
For diehard Pixies fans, this CD will not disappoint. There are alternate versions - or as Frank Black puts it in his liner note blurbs, "re-recordings" - of familiar tunes such as "River...
Published on March 12, 2001 by Paula Abilheira

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PIXIES FANS ONLY
Is the Pixie vault finally emptied? This CD, as it's title suggests, contains the bands' music that did not fit on the regular releases. Instrumentals, live takes, and a handful of Neil Young covers comprise the selections on this CD.This collection is a mixed affair, and as a whole is not as enjoyable as the band's pre-break up releases. If you are new to the Pixies I...
Published on June 19, 2001 by Russell Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO Good!, March 12, 2001
By 
Paula Abilheira (East Providence, RI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
With 19 tracks and 2 enhanced CD videos of "Allison" and "Here Comes Your Man," this CD is definitely worth the price and the effort.
For diehard Pixies fans, this CD will not disappoint. There are alternate versions - or as Frank Black puts it in his liner note blurbs, "re-recordings" - of familiar tunes such as "River Euphrates" and "Manta Ray." There is also a live version of "Vamos" and the infamous UK Surf version of "Wave of Mutilation," which fans will recognize as one of the tracks in the "Pump Up the Volume" soundtrack.
There are also two Neil Young covers which were part of the regular Pixies live sets, and a few very "early days" songs recorded in a "hairdressers basement" because as Frank says, "I Like the sound in there."
The CD design is once again by V23 - the Vaughn Oliver studio responsible for most of the 4AD packaging through the 80's. And, the interior features liner notes written by Frank Black which explain the history behind the songs.
I always forget how much I love this band until I stumble on a CD like this or until I finally get around to dusting off the entertainment center and knock off Surfer Rosa - thereby promtping me to play it and everything else I own by The Pixies.
For those of us who don't want to think of them as "no more," this Cd offers seemingly "new" material, giving the illusion that they are still around making incredible music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Pixies that you've never heard before, April 29, 2001
By 
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
I can quite honestly say, that I know of no one who is a larger fan of the Pixies or of Frank Black. I have all the CDs, several live shows, tons of Napster tracks, all the bootlegs I could find. I've been to five Frank Black concerts ( and counting...) even when it required travel. I'm a FAN.
The Pixies were something truly unique. A band like that doesn't come around often. The Pixies are unique in the way the Velvet Underground were, and perhaps Television. That's more or less it. An Underground band that rocked the universe away.
This is a CD of their b-sides, immaginatively called 'The Complete B-Sides'. It really isn't, though. I have several b-side tracks in my collection which aren't here - mostly live recordings.
But this IS a record of Pixies songs most non-obsessed fans haven't heard before. So... what are they like?
Well, generally speaking, the first ten tracks are very good, and the last 8 not nearly as much.
Amoung the first 10 tracks, you have 'In Heaven', certainly one of the better covers the Pixies or Frank Black has ever done. Black Francis's screaming here are priceless... and the lyrics are obscure and haunting enough to have been written by our man himself.
Dancing the Manta Ray is a terrific song, and one which Frank Black is currently performing in his live shows. The intro of guitars, drums and screams is terrific, as well as Francis's singing 'Your head can go real screw... with saucers cha-sing you'.
The UK surf version of 'Wave of Mutilation' is haunting and probably better than the original.
Into the White is Kim Deal's moment. Her singing proves again that she has the sexiest voice in Rock'n'Roll. I'm also very fond on the rythem guitar here, especially the distortion filled part in the chorus.
Make believe is a hysterical song about Debbie Gibson, sang by David Loveering. It is honestly strange, to here the Pixies with a NORMAL singer. Lovering is very competente, and he sings sweetly, which in a way comes as a shock.
My favorite track in this CD, and one of my top 10 Pixies songs, is Baily's Walk. A song about a homeless who after every few steps had to stop, spin, and tap himself on the head. It's one of Black's most powerful vocal achievements, a song that is eery and appealing at the same time, quite yet powerful. In short - the Pixies at their very best.
Even the weaker songs in the first 10 are very interesting - Manta Ray and Wierd in My School shine through Joey's guitars and Kim's hyper backup vocals, and it's allways nice to here songs like Vamos again...
The next 8 songs aren't quite as good, mostly because they don't contain original songs. 'The Thing' is just a cut from the Pixies's 'The Happening', and 'Letter to Memphis' is an instrumental version of one of the Pixies's best. Velvety is another instrumental, while 'theme from Narc' is a bizarre injoke, which really doesn't work for me. As for the Niel Young covers, the most interesting is 'I've Been Waiting For You'. It is interesting because it sounds like a Breeder song, and you can see the great influence Young had on Kim Deal. Build High is silly and Santos is cute, but not much more.
Overall, this is a great purchase for Pixies fanatics like me. If you're not a Fantatic, get all their albums first, than buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the rest of the best, March 30, 2001
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
without any "new" material to please fans for the past decade, the pixies have finally decided to give in and release a collection of the tracks that didn't make the final cut on their albums, but still exhibit their unique character and incredible talent for writing songs that just blow a listener away. it's true that the tracks here are dated, but that doesn't take anything away from the power of numbers like "bailey's walk," an understanding take on a homeless man, or the insanity of "weird at my school." it's easy to forget that without the pixies, nirvana and pearl jam may never have brought "alternative rock" to the forefront. in spite of that fact and considering the lack of a true commercial appeal, it shouldn't come as much of a surprise that they are still ignored. lead singer black francis' lyrics are often impenetrable and perhaps silly, and he tends to scream more than sing. that's his style though, and he does change his intonation and voice every now and then, especially on "the thing," where he does his best robert palmer impression. the live take on "vamos," a classic from their 80s EP, Come On Pilgrim, doesn't really bring anything new to the table, as it's a simple rehash of the album version. what is impressive on this compilation though, is the success with which it demonstrates the multifaceted sounds that the pixies had in their repertoire. there are hints of latin influences on "santo," full-blown punk explosions on the reworking of "river euphrates," and even country-bluegrass touches on "build high." black pulls off the entirely spanish-sung "evil hearted you" with surprising ease, to top all that off. with at least two of their albums acknowledged as seminal works that redefined rock music, this release is a testament to their devotion to pushing the limits of music, and that is what makes complete 'b' sides a success. it's a shame they broke up, because we need more bands like the pixies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, but not complete, March 5, 2003
By 
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
The frustrating thing about this album is that if you are a Pixies fan you will probably have all the singles anyway. If you came in late, or never got the singles, this is a must-have. It does smack a bit of 4AD profiteering, but I digress....
This album features the single version of 'River Euphrates' a much better version than on the album, and the one you will always hear at the nightclubs. All the other singles up to the final Pixies album, Trompe Le Monde are on this album. It even has songs from the two alternate singles of 'Planet of Sound', one of which (US, I think) had the instrumental version of 'Letter to Memphis' and the other (UK / Australian version) had 'Theme from Narc' (from the video game).
I give this 4 stars because it is lacking a few things (but I am being very picky). Firstly, it has the live version of 'Vamos' from the Gigantic/River Euphrates single, but does not have the live versions of 'Planet of Sound' and 'Tame' that were on the Alec Eiffel single (and they are excellent!).
Also, it does not have the single version of 'Dig for Fire' which is very slightly different to the LP version (different intro). Also, I think 4AD could have dredged up 'Born in Chicago' off the Elektra anniversary CD and 'I can't Forget' from the 'I'm your fan' Leonard Cohen tribute. Although strictly not 'b-sides', they would really make this album complete.
Worth buying for a fan, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Heaven Angels Play The Pixies On Their Harps, July 9, 2001
By 
Eamonn (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
The Pixies are simply...when everything wasn't cool in the late Eighties indie scene, before Madchester had to re-invent sixties hype-adelia and The Smiths divorced leaving their children bewlidered and lost, the Pixies shot through in a fury of light with a Sun Studio era Elvis impact that really, really wasn't heard before. From Old Testament to New Surf to Space Rock they had the kind of sound you'd want to emulate, and the vocals which would simply tear right through your speakers, competing with all around it like a new born baby fighting for its first breath. I love this compilation. I like the stuff all the other reviewers hate and love more so the ones they like. Even more so than the ones Black Francis states on the sleeve notes aren't that cool ("Manta Ray") and I must admit I kinda like the fact that the live tracks and some of the others (such as "Wave Of Mutilation") are Brit-orientated. No, I'm not an Anglophile. I just appreciate the fact that The Pixies appreciated these grey, brutal nostalgic shores, that's all. They were the Monkees if they were genuine, and the Beatles if they were fake, and they burnt as brightly as the white noise of guitar at the end of "Debaser". Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best B-Sides Ever, February 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
My dad introduced me to this band like he did Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Violent Femmes. Well maybe Violent Femmes were my uncle. All through my life favorite bands have come and gone. Yet it looks like Pixies are going to stay. I first heard this band at the begining of the school year in 2004. Now its 2005 and lets get to this album.

This album is awesome. Period. It is the only B-Sides album I have ever liked. Even when I got the Nirvana Box Set most of there B-Sides sucked. Lets go track to track. That will be pretty helpful.

River Euphrates is a great song that was re-recorded to be made a b-side for Gigantic. The version on Surfer Rosa was better, but this version is good too. Vamos and In Heaven are 2 live tracks that were from a concert in England which the whole concert is on the DVD of Pixies. You should check that out too. They both are great songs and fun to listen to. Manta Ray is a great song with a catchy, but simple guitar solo. Wierd At My School is a good song, but the lyrics are sick and perverted. But hey its great!

Dancing The Manta Ray is one of my favorites and has the most catchiest guitar riff ever. Wave of Mutilation(UK Surf) is wonderful and just might be better than original version. Into The White is a great song sung by Kim. I have a major crush on her even though she has aged over the years and isn't that hot anymore. Bailey's Walk is awesome about an old dude who has to stop, tap his head, and do a spin every few steps. One of their best songs. Make Believe is a good song sung by David Lovering who is great at singing.I've Been Waiting For You is a great cover song by Kim also.

The Thing is just a take of from The Happening from Bossanova, but is real catchy. Velvety Instrumental Version is awesome and Frank Black wrote lyrics to it for Frank Black and the Catholics, but its not as good. Santo is an alright song that is catchy, but Theme From Narc is a different story. Sorry Pixies. I'm your biggest fan and all, but this song sucks real hard. Build High is awesome and make me laugh just because of the way Frank and Kim sing "Build High". Evil Hearted You is great even though it's all in Spanish and Letter To Memphis sounds even better as an instrumental version.

Thats it. Plainly you can see that only one song on this CD sucks, but everything else is great. Get this CD as soon as you can. It's awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pixies B-sides better than most bands' A-sides, August 9, 2002
By 
Jason Panella (Beaver Falls, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
Albums comprised mainly of b-sides are often disregarded by most as second-rate or unimportant material. Save for the diehard/completist fans of the artists in question, people generally don't even think about spending the money on b-sides. For the most part, b-side collections are inferior to groups' album cuts. The exception to the rule: Pixies.
For a band that never released a 'bad' record, per se, you'd expect some excellent flip sides to their singles. And excellent they are. 4AD, the label that released the Pixies' albums during their too-short lifespan, collected all the b-sides from the band's singles on one recording. In chronological order, too!
Well, aside from the few live/alternate tracks missing, this *is* the complete b-sides. Since I became a Pixies fan a little bit after they disbanded, I didn't know these songs and wasn't sure what to expect. I was greatly pleased. While this isn't the ideal place for a newcomer to their music to start listening, it still is (for the most part) top-notch material.
There are nineteen tracks on this recording, many of them being under the 2-minute mark (in standard Pixies fashion). Some of the standouts are: the instrumental version of the stellar "Letter to Memphis," the catchy Doolittle outtake "Manta Ray," David Lovering's demented ode to Debbie Gibson "Make Believe," and the cover of Neil Young's "Winterlong." Oh, and don't forget the live version of "In Heaven (the Lady in the Radiator Song)," the key song from David Lynch's film Eraserhead.
The only tracks I really didn't like (which, in Pixies land, is still a good song) were the live version of "Vamos" and "Bailey's Walk;" the former because, even though it was a favourite live, never impressed me much, and the latter because it's just too weird.
The progression from Come on Pilgrim/Surfer Rosa-era's rawness to the final days of Trompe le Monde's noise pop is clear on this collection. Even though it's clear these songs *are* b-sides, they're still excellent tunes. As a bonus, 4AD tossed in two Pixies videos: the hilarious "Here Comes Your Man" and "Allison," which, is over before it begins. Not to mention the brief but good comments on the tracks by Frank Black. This is a great album for any Pixies fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving, missing pixies fanatic, December 21, 2001
By 
Diego V. "diegueinss" (Miami, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
Get this, get this now, you wont regret it!!
Manta Ray Rocks!!
includes 2 computer videos allison an here come your man ( really funny one)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PIXIES FANS ONLY, June 19, 2001
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
Is the Pixie vault finally emptied? This CD, as it's title suggests, contains the bands' music that did not fit on the regular releases. Instrumentals, live takes, and a handful of Neil Young covers comprise the selections on this CD.This collection is a mixed affair, and as a whole is not as enjoyable as the band's pre-break up releases. If you are new to the Pixies I suggest you start with TROMPE LE MONDE, DOOLITTLE, or SURFER ROSA.
Cool bonus: multimedia section that contains two Pixie vids, "Monkey Gone To Heaven" and "Allison".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what you see is what you get, February 16, 2005
This review is from: Complete B-Sides (Audio CD)
This is a great CD if you're a Pixies fan. It's probably not a good introduction to the band, but who starts listening to a band with its b-sides? And at 19 tracks, 4AD didn't skimp. There's a lot of great songs or alternate takes here that never made their US albums. This and the recently released "Purple Tape" are must-haves for Pixies fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Complete B-Sides
Complete B-Sides by Pixies (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.