Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bulk of the text consists of one-page summaries of individual species, each accompanied by a crystal-clear photograph
Illustrated with stunningly beautiful photography throughout, The Complete Book of Hummingbirds is a detailed guide to well-known species of hummingbirds found throughout the Americas, from Tierra del Fuego to Alaska. An introductory section teaches readers about the life cycle of these tiny yet brilliantly plumaged birds, which are heavily dependent on sugary nectar for...
Published on March 17, 2009 by Midwest Book Review

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine book, but it does not cover all Hummingbirds as described
Preliminary, I'd like to say it is a very well illustrated book. Outstanding pics of SEVERAL (not all) birds. It is a good addition to my collection, but I'm quite disappointed as I was expecting a real Hummingbird guide.

This book is directed to the hummingbird enthusiast. Definitely it is not suitable for a serious birder, scientist and academic biologists...
Published on October 11, 2010 by alexandre toda faitaron


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bulk of the text consists of one-page summaries of individual species, each accompanied by a crystal-clear photograph, March 17, 2009
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
Illustrated with stunningly beautiful photography throughout, The Complete Book of Hummingbirds is a detailed guide to well-known species of hummingbirds found throughout the Americas, from Tierra del Fuego to Alaska. An introductory section teaches readers about the life cycle of these tiny yet brilliantly plumaged birds, which are heavily dependent on sugary nectar for their survival; of especial interest are the careful instructions for feeding hummingbirds in one's backyard (for example, the sugary feed mixture needs to be changed near-daily to prevent spoilage). The bulk of the text consists of one-page summaries of individual species, each accompanied by a crystal-clear photographic image. One doesn't have to be an avid birdwatcher to enjoy The Complete Book of Hummingbirds, which is highly recommended to individual readers and public library collections alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide and photographic appreciation, May 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
This large-format comprehensive guide to these jewel-like birds found only in the Americas includes gorgeous close-up photographs of birds in flight, feeding, nesting and fighting. Many of the entries are two-page spreads, often featuring more than one photo.

Entries are sub-headed with the Latin name and size of the bird. The text includes distribution, foods, and migration and breeding information, where available.

The entries are preceded by a 49-page lavishly illustrated introduction on the bird's lifecycle, which delves into evolution and backyard feeding (including plants and feeders), and the status and delicacy of scientific research.

Anyone who enjoys marveling at these colorful, antisocial, amazing birds will enjoy this beautifully designed and informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine book, but it does not cover all Hummingbirds as described, October 11, 2010
By 
alexandre toda faitaron (sao paulo, sao paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
Preliminary, I'd like to say it is a very well illustrated book. Outstanding pics of SEVERAL (not all) birds. It is a good addition to my collection, but I'm quite disappointed as I was expecting a real Hummingbird guide.

This book is directed to the hummingbird enthusiast. Definitely it is not suitable for a serious birder, scientist and academic biologists that are seeking for serious identification and info, as they do not cover all the species, and for the ones covered, it does not have occurrence maps, pics detailing the sexual dimorphism and other scientific relevant info.

Anyway, for $12 it worth for what it is proposed (not an Id guide, scientific book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HELPED ME IDENTIFY OUR LOCAL HUMMINGBIRDS, June 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
Because we live in Las Vegas I also picked up one very valuable tip from this book - that in a hot climate a sugar mix can quickly go sour. So make small quantities to last about 3 days.

Heartening to know by acquiring a very solid well-designed 5-spiggot feeder from Wal-mart we've enabled a hummingbird couple to settle down in this apartment complex and have children. It pretty obvious when you see a mother bird with a rather fat tummy she's about to lay two eggs.

How the little-ones manage their very first hover is still a mystery but very soon one sees a tiny little creature with a body about the size of a grape supping his evening meal just as astutely as its parents.

Another nice thing about hummingbirds is they go to bed later than normal birds. So just after sunset is their favorite time to load-up on calories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living Gems, May 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
Beautiful book. Exotic birds in glowing colors. Enough information to satisfy but more than enough pictures to bring oohs and aahs. Purchased for my sister who is a hummingbird "nut', I am very happy at her pleasure. She continues to share insights and unique species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, July 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
My only fault with this book is it would be nice to have shaded maps to show regions where these birds may be seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and resource, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
Having needed a resource to identify hummingbirds I found this volume fit the bill. Some of the other birding books had small illustrations but the large photographs helped out a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice images!, April 18, 2013
By 
Claudia B. Martins (São Paulo - Brasil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
Very nice books with ver nice pictures.
It's not a 5 star book because a few species are missing.
And it arrived with the book "Owls of the World", wich is one of the best (if not the best) books ever.
If you want to know where to find some humming birds, and to know it, you must read the text. There's no picture or map locating them visually.
But the images are very, very nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping This One Very Close At Hand, June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
We've been trying to identify the hummingbirds at our feeders for months. With this book, we're finally reasonably sure of our identifications, thanks to the detailed male and female photos and descriptions. As we identify a new one, we're tabbing that page, for ease in identifying the local population. I expect this book will quickly become dog-eared and very well-thumbed and marked, especially when migration begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures, January 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Hummingbirds (Paperback)
I bought this book for a friend who loves hummingbirds. I looked through the book before giving it to her. There are beautiful colorful pictures with a lot of information with a lot of hummingbirds. She still thanks me for the book. I recommend this for anyone who likes sitting outside watching for hummingbirds. Even if you don't sit outside looking at them, the picutres in the book are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Book of Hummingbirds
The Complete Book of Hummingbirds by Tony Tilford (Paperback - March 1, 2009)
$19.95 $11.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.