Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Informative Resource for Churches and Families
As a mother whose family has been affected by homosexuality, I've been looking forward to reading this book. It took me a little while to finish, not only because it's lengthy, but because it covers so many subjects. All in all I'd say Dallas, Heche and the other authors have provided the first one-stop "WalMart" for people wanting comprehensive information about...
Published on July 23, 2010 by Mariemom

versus
18 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be filed under "Religious Prejudice" not "Gay and Lesbian"
A gay, pro-gay, or in any way enlightened reader looking for an informative and positive book about the church and homosexuality should not consider this one. Written by a prominent "ex-gay," TCCGtUHABaCRtSSA (lol) regurgitates the same old bigotry that is driving people away from the church in record numbers. There is nothing "Christian" OR "compassionate" about...
Published 21 months ago by Richard S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Informative Resource for Churches and Families, July 23, 2010
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
As a mother whose family has been affected by homosexuality, I've been looking forward to reading this book. It took me a little while to finish, not only because it's lengthy, but because it covers so many subjects. All in all I'd say Dallas, Heche and the other authors have provided the first one-stop "WalMart" for people wanting comprehensive information about homosexuality, especially from a Christian perspective. And it really is written that way. It stresses a high regard for scripture from cover to cover, and every theory or idea it promoted was backed Biblically.

You'll get a lot out of this book if you're someone who wants to better understand homosexuality, or if you're someone who wants to be in better shape to talk about this subject. All the bases are covered, and I mean all. It has chapters on gay marriage, witnessing to homosexuals, counseling homosexual men and women, gays in the military, gay school programs, dealing with homosexual sons or daughters, AIDS, hate crimes, gay theology and more. Joe Dallas and Nancy Heche wrote most of the chapters, but there are some good contributions from other writers as well.

For me, the most helpful chapters were the ones that teach the reader how to dialogue. There's one on Terms and Definitions, for example, and one on Refuting Pro Gay Theology, that are extremely useful if you want to talk or even argue with someone who holds a pro-gay viewpoint.(See Dallas' book The Gay Gospel?: How Pro-Gay Advocates Misread the Bible There are also more technical chapters written from either a psychological or philosophical perspective.

I especially liked the way the book is formatted. Each chapter is followed by a section outlining its main points, and a list of other resources to check into, which made this a little bit like a textbook. But it's thorough without being boring. In fact, I thought the introduction was moving.

Some of the chapters were a little short, especially the ones on gay teens, and the one on how to respond to a gay parent. But all in all, this is the most informative book I've ever read on homosexuality, and any pastor or counselor who cares at all about this will do well to pick this book up. The first two chapters on The Church in Crisis, and the last chapter titled How Then Should We Respond are worth the price of the whole book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Resource, Comprehensive yet Accessible, March 1, 2011
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
Countless people are struggling in the church pews today. Our world is full of addictions, fears and psychological disorders. Divorce is rampant as is sexual infidelity. From all corners we are hounded by the siren call of worldly desires and sensual pleasures. What was deviant and beyond consideration three decades ago is considered standard fare today, and today's deviance would make previous generations shudder.

Enter homosexuality. While thirty years ago this sin was still a mystery for most, today it is trumpeted from the billboards all over the place. And slowly and steadily, the problem of homosexuality is being realized inside our churches today. It is becoming increasingly common for young people in Christian homes to struggle with same-sex desires. And many a pastor, bible teacher or other church leader is confronted with a respected church member admitting to a problem in this area and seeking help. With all the controversy and debate that surrounds the issue today, and with the assumed distance the Church enjoys from this issue, it should not be surprising that many feel unprepared to help those struggling with this contemporary problem.

"The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Repsonse to Same-Sex Attraction" (Harvest House, 2010) looks to be an accessible and comprehensive resource that will equip church leaders to handle this all important issue. Editors Joe Dallas and Nancy Heche have personal experience dealing with this problem. Joe is a former homosexual who found a new life in Christ. He is a past president of Exodus International, a network of Christian ministries dedicated to equipping Churches to minister to homosexuals. Nancy's husband was secretly living as a homosexual who contracted AIDS, while her daughter, actress Anne Heche, was for a time, the gay partner of Ellen DeGeneres. Both editors are experienced counselors who continually address this issue.

Dallas and Heche have compiled a comprehensive collection of accessible and helpful articles covering the range of questions relating to homosexuality. Six others contribute to this volume, ensuring that each chapter contains expert advice. Part one gives a background to this issue calling on the Church to pursue truth, and which gives an overview of the issue and a history of the gay rights movement. Part two explains and rebuts the pro-gay theology. Part three looks into the debate concerning the origins of homosexuality and takes care to evaluate theories from a biblical perspective. Part four contains practical counseling advice for helping homosexuals. Part five deals with how to help the parents or spouse who finds their loved one struggling with this issue. Part six finishes out the book by dealing with some of the hot button policy concerns such as same sex marriage, gays in the military, hate crime legislation, transgender issues, and AIDS. The book is rounded out by a call from the editors for a Christlike response to homosexuality.

This book seems to have the right balance and care for such a sensitive topic. The Bible is repeatedly brought to bear but the Church is cautioned against making uninformed assumptions. Numerous resources are referenced throughout the work, and it is a great place to start for finding information on any question you are interested in regarding this issue. It is going to be a useful handbook on my shelf in the years to come.

With the problem of homosexuality all around us, the Church cannot afford to ignore this issue. We must speak truth with love and grace to those struggling with this issue. Church leaders and pastors cannot afford to be without a resource like this. I recommend this book highly.

Disclaimer: This book was provided by Harvest House for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for Church Leaders, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
Dallas does it again in providing the conservative Christian church with a valid resource. Let me suggest you ignore the negative reviews on this book. They are written by folks who believe that folks are born gay so naturally they would have a negative reaction to this book.

Again, this book is an excellent resource and is exactly what it's title states, a complete christian guide to understanding homosexuality and it is about helping a loving church see how to biblically and compassionately respond to those who struggle with unwanted same gender attraction and those who self identify as a gay or lesbian person.

As a former lesbian and as one who now speaks to churches to help them in this subject matter I highly recommend this book. When a pastor or lay leader calls me up asking for help, this is the first book I recommend they purchase. It is powerful! Definitely God-inspired! Take care now and I hope this review helped. Charlene E. Hios
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great compassionate look at a difficult topic, April 4, 2011
By 
Mark B (Lisbon, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
I was rather surprised when this book came in the mail and I saw how big it is. It comes in at a whopping 501 pages, which includes an index.

Some books like this that has so much information can get boring and dry, but the authors did a great job of presenting a lot of information while keeping it interesting and relevant.

This is a book every pastor should read, and a lot of people in the church should also read. The topics are many, from what causes homosexuality, to gay marriage, and counseling people struggling with the issue themselves.

The book is sub-titled A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction, and that is exactly what the book is. Yes, the authors hold the view that living a gay lifestyle is wrong, they talk about why gay marriage is a bad idea and wrong, yet they don't do it from an attacking mode. I learned a lot by reading the book, and it is obvious that the authors know what they are talking about, with both having person experiences in their own lives.

It did take me a while to read this book. It is the type of book that is more of a resource book, but yet one that is easy to read. I recommend it for anyone who has a friend or relative living the lifestyle, and/or struggling with same-sex attractions, and for people in the church who just want to know more about this hot topic. With it being so prevalent today, we all need to know more about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very thorough and though provoking, October 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book because it covered the subject from every possible angle. I desired to have a more balanced view, and that's what it gave me. It helped me to understand how the homosexual understands the scriptures. While the book is not compromising, it is compassionate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is "Judge Not" the only scripture so-called homosexual Christians know?, August 16, 2014
After reading all the "one star, negative comments" posted by homosexual activist (like the one LGBT activist who said that children who are not allowed to grow up homosexual will commit suicide); I KNEW this was the book to get! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Resource, February 26, 2012
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
As Spiritual Formation pastor of our church, and interacting with this very sensitive issue in the lives of our congregation, I haven't found a book on "understanding and responding to homosexuality" as well-balanced and well-rounded as this one. The church in our day faces quite a challenge to strike a biblical balance between truth and love, but I believe Dallas and Heche authentically help us toward that end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With that however be brings great insight towards helping the church bring the Good News ..., October 25, 2014
By 
Godson (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
A must read for any Christian before entering a discussion of homosexuality. Dallas is very conservative regarding homsexuality and holds firmly to a traditional biblical view of the issue. With that however be brings great insight towards helping the church bring the Good News into the discussion. For a more recent book on the topic I would also highly recommend "Homosexuality and the Christian: A Guide for Parents, Pastors, and Friends" by Mark Yarhouse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarify your faith through the fog, August 24, 2014
By 
kkreitler (ste. genevieve, mo United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
Very informative. Gives readers meat to hold on to conservative Christian views. Explains how the 'world' enters into Christian teaching and confuses believers. It enforced my traditional beliefs and explained how the worlds popular views twist Christians to comply to the desires of the flesh. Recommend for those who believe in black and white, right and wrong Christianity. This book cleared up a foggy subject for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Convincing, July 26, 2010
This review is from: The Complete Christian Guide to Understanding Homosexuality: A Biblical and Compassionate Response to Same-Sex Attraction (Paperback)
Joe Dallas' comprehensive work on this topic has made him a leader in the field. He hits all the bases when it comes to discussing biblical and moral consequences.

Including a chapter for parents of homosexuals, this book is a must read for anyone longing to know the true love and compassion God has for those who are caught up in the gay lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.