Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best!!, July 3, 2003
By 
Fan for years - K (Frankfort, Kentucky United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
This is a very good compilation of the greatest "early" hits. The original versions by Exile of "Take Me Down" and "The Closer You Get" (written by J. P. Pennington) are better than the versions covered by Alabama. It is especially nice to have the original version of "Kiss You All Over" sung by Jimmy Stokely. Great for Exile fans who go WAY BACK or for the new fan who wants to add to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pop years, October 22, 2004
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
Exile, founded by J P Pennington, began as a group as far back as 1963 (as a rock'n'roll group called The Exiles), but changed their name to Exile in 1973. When they eventually achieved success, it was big - a major international hit, Kiss you all over, which topped the American charts and also made the British top ten,

In both countries, they followed up with some minor hits and it seemed that they were just another pop group who would disappear quickly. However, their songs were good and attracted a number of covers, particularly by country singers although Huey Lewis and the News were successful with Heart and soul.

Among the country singers to cover Exile's songs were Dave and Sugar (Stay with me), Janie Fricke (It ain't easy being easy - Exile's version is sadly not on this compilation) and Alabama (The closer you get, Take me down). All these covers did well on the country charts with the two by Alabama going to number one. You thrill me, a minor hit for Exile, also spawned a country cover - this time by Lynn Anderson. Except as noted, Exile's own versions of these songs are included here.

Eventually Exile, with a new lead singer (Les Taylor), decided to try their luck as a country group. Their rocking, upbeat, pop-country music proved to be very successful for a few years. Those recordings are available separately.

This compilation covers their years as a pop group superbly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good coverage of Exile's pop era, March 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
With the omission of the rather bland "How Can This Go Wrong" (mentioned in the liner notes), this album is undoubtedly a complete collection of all of their pop years before country fame. The album begins with the only full-length version of "Kiss You All Over" I know of available-the one that top the pop charts for a full month in 1978. The next two songs, both major later successes (and classics) for Alabama, "Take Me Down" and "The Closer You Get" were nice touches. "You Thrill Me" hit #40 on the pop charts immediately after "Kiss You All Over". Though lacking the dynamics of "Kiss You All Over", it still features some of JP Pennington's best vocal talent. "Stay With Me", also a Top 10 Country Hit for Dave & Sugar, is certainly worth a listen and was good enough that it actually charted country in their peak of country success. "Heart and Soul" also was also reincarnated in 1983 as a major Top 10 smash for Huey Lewis & The News. Another great song is the R&B flavored "Take This Heart".
Needless to say, this is a fun listen-especially if you know the above songs. I can't say they are as good as the classic versions, but they are still a perfect addition to your Exile collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Exile Collection., August 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
Excellent CD. Exile is an amazing band and this cd captures some of their greatest songs from their rock years. A great collection for any Exile or 70's rock lover. Proud to say they're from Kentucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXILE, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
What a wonderful group of the past. Perfect harmony and lots of variety in their songs. Will always love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories..., January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
Brought back so many memories from the past, some great, some not so great...but having said that, the CD WAS great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gift, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
This was sent to my sister in law as a gift and she thought it was great. The CD arrived before the expected date and in good condition. She's enjoying it in her car driving down the road. Really something for someone who is 73 !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kindle fire, May 25, 2013
I like that I can listen to music on my kindle fire..
and that it's so light and I can take it with me anywhere...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Calling all Exile fans, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
here's a collection of excellent quality recordings from a great band. Another awesome addition to the cd library or a must for the DJ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another gift., January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Collection, The (Audio CD)
Yes my husband liked it. I wish you would quit asking me to say more...... five more words...la la la
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Complete Collection, The
Complete Collection, The by Exile (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.