Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now HTL
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.40
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Complete Decca Studio Master Takes 1940-1949 Import

2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, April 5, 2004
"Please retry"
$39.48 $11.99

Indie for the Holidays: Listen now
Get ready for the holidays with 'Indie for the Holidays' our exclusive seasonal playlist featuring original tracks and covers from some of our favorite artists. Listen while you shop with our pop-out player. Listen now

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Hep Cats' Ball
  2. You've Got Me Voodoo'd
  3. Harlem Stomp
  4. Wolverine Blues
  5. Lazy 'Sipi Steamer
  6. W.P.A.
  7. Boog It
  8. Cherry
  9. Marie
  10. Sweethearts On Parade
  11. You Run Your Mouth, I'll Run My Business
  12. Cut Off My Legs And Call Me Shorty
  13. Cain And Abel
  14. Perdido Street Blues
  15. 2.19 Blues
  16. Down In Honky Tonk Town
  17. Coal Cart Blues
  18. Ev'rything's Been Done Before
  19. I Cover The Waterfront
  20. In The Gloaming
  21. Long, Long Ago
  22. Hey Lawdy Mama
  23. I'll Get Mine Bye And Bye
  24. Now Do You Call That A Buddy?
  25. Yes Suh!
  26. Sleepy Time Down South
  27. Leap Frog
  28. I Used To Love You
  29. You Rascal You
  30. Cash For Your Trash
  31. Among My Souvenirs
  32. Coquette
  33. I Never Knew
  34. Jodie Man
  35. I Wonder
  36. You Won't Be Satisfied
  37. Frim Fram Sauce
  38. Maybe It's Because
  39. I'll Keep The Lovelight Burning
  40. That Lucky Old Sun
  41. Blueberry Hill
  42. You Can't Lose A Broken Heart
  43. My Sweet Hunk O'trash

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 5, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Definitive
  • ASIN: B0000558LA
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #276,194 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Louis Armstrong Store

Visit Amazon's Louis Armstrong Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By JG on December 17, 2005
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This European label and some offshoots does a fine job specializing in Jazz bringing many older diamonds in great sound to listeners at very good prices...all with 24 Bit sound ...Duke's masterful Fargo Concert,the Lester Young with "Sweets" and "Little Jazz" years(Lone Wolf records) and these Decca sides come to mind...these Satchmo collections gather in 2 seperate sets his output from a very brilliant period.
The 1st 4 cd collection covered the earlier 1930's to 1940 and this one here under review is the followup, a 2 cd set going through 1949.
These are the Master Takes and the liner notes make mention in honesty that of the omissions as to alternate takes,test pressings etc. There is an integrity here that is welcome.
The sound is superior to the Proper UK sets.The 4 cd set from Proper C'Est Ci Bon, is very good bringing together the Decca
and RCA Victor sides of this period and Proper also specializes in a value satisfying roster of jazz boxes but these recordings are in a higher quality more akin to the other UK label JSP Records as to quality and a shared sincerity of putting great masters of music out to the general public both for old timers and new converts to Jazz.
These Decca sides brought Armstrong to a new critical acclaim recording with such greats as the Mills Brothers,Sy Oliver and Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald..Between the RCA Victor sides found on their own 4 cd box covering his later output with RCA as well, and these Decca sides you have great stuff that will allow one to fully appreciate the genius that came after his Hot 5's and 7's days, his "happy" big band recordings of 1930-1932 into this more "mainstream" Decca but no less crucial to jazz history.enjoy, and after these get into the 4 cd set The California Concerts as an encore.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By L. Dequesada on February 22, 2008
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is an unequaled 2 CDs containing Louis Armstrong during the Big Band era recorded for Decca during the years 1940 through 1949. There are a lot of his big yesteryear hits which made him one of America's most important band leaders, trumpet player and singer. Classics like "The Harlem Trot" and "Wolverine Blues" are including along with many other unforgettable melodies. If you're a Louis Armstrong and a Big Band Era fan, do not miss this one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: the complete louis armstrong