Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Summary of Human Evolution for Non-Scientists
This book is actually about the evolution of apes, starting with Proconsul and working up to all of the living apes, including us. But it is we who are at center stage, with the others in supporting roles.

The book starts with an extended section on how fossils and evolution are studied. This includes how dates are estimated, how fossils are formed, and how...
Published on November 25, 2005 by Edward F. Strasser

versus
12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not So Complete, Not So Objective
Chris Stringer can write better than most other paleoanthropologists. That helps to make this book a fairly good intro to the subject. Highly readable. Highly knowledgable. That is Stringer's strength. But this book is certainly not complete. Stringer has long been the leader of the theory that Early Modern Africans left the warmth and plentiful food sources of East...
Published 16 months ago by Alfred Sundel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough examination of human evolution, August 30, 2005
By 
The title explains it all. It is a very complete and thorough (and a bit dry) work drawing a very good picture of the current state of the Theory of Evolution as it pertains to us humans.

This book is not going to produce a shock and awe from its readers, but anybody who desires to learn a great deal about the story of human evolution, need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Concise and well laid out but too many pictures., February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete World of Human Evolution (Second Edition) (The Complete Series) (Paperback)
I found the book to thorough in detail and well laid out but it had too many pictures. Or perhaps more appropriately too many effectively irrelevant pictures. About 30-40% of the way into the book up until about 70-80% the reading could be bit "difficult" for the average reader. I only say this as to keep all of the names in your head and their place in time and characteristics and frequent referrals back to them some times makes you think you are watching a Taratino movie with no sense of time lines. =) That is a bit facetious but correct in my view. If you are looking for a short book that gets you a wealth of information and a host of colourful pictures this is the book for you. I thought the last sentences of the book very pertinent even if not directly related to evolution but rather the human species as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fossil Hominoids Research, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Complete World of Human Evolution highlights fossil hominoids research with a focus on excavation sites and fossil apes. The book features information regarding fossil hominoids, photographs of fossils, art images, and drawings. Pages 94-95 feature drawings of the skeleton and life appearance of Proconsul heseloni moving along a tree branch, which had a deep and narrow torso like that of cats and dogs and four legs that were equal in length. Page 97 features a comparative photograph that shows the fragmentary remains of the femur of Morotopithecus bishopi, which has a similar but more slender design to that of the chimpanzee femur next to it. Pages 102-103 show an art image of Griphopithecus alpani apes moving on the ground and on a fallen large tree in Pasalar, Turkey 14-15 million years ago in the middle Miocene. Pages 108-109 feature a comparative photograph that shows the skulls of the chimpanzee (left) and the orangutan (right) next to the skull fragment of Sivapithecus indicus (middle), which has a similar design to that of the orangutan. Pages 110-111 show an art image of Dryopithecus hungaricus apes hanging from the branches of Taxodium swamp forest in Rudabanya, Hungary 9-10 million years ago in the late Miocene. Page 124 shows the skull of the Taung primate child, which was named Australopithecus africanus by Raymond Dart. Page 127 features a photograph of a fossil leopard's lower jaw's canine teeth fitting the depressions in size and spacing at the back of a skull of a young robust australopithecine (SK 54) from Swartkrans with both fossils coming from the same site, showing the potential for hominoids to have been the prey of predator animals. Page 137 features a Homo erectus skull from Java (right), a Homo ergaster skull from Africa (left), and a Homo heidelbergensis skull from Petralona, Greece (center). Page 138 features a comparison in drawings of the Homo erectus skull from Sangiran, Java, which has a thicker, stronger construction, and the Homo erectus skull from Zhoukoudian, China, which has a larger brain and a lighter construction. Page 142 features a photograph of the Mauer lower jaw that was discovered in a sand quarry near Heidelberg, Germany in 1907 and later named Homo heidelbergensis. Page 151 features a greenish radiograph (X-ray) of a fossil skull from Petralona, Greece that has the long, low shape, angled and thick rear, and massive browridge of Homo erectus, while also showing the relatively high skull, retracted face, and large air spaces in the brow and face of Homo heidelbergensis and Homo neanderthalensis. Page 175 features an art image of a hunting Homo floresiensis with the Flores giant rat (Papagomys armandvillei) draped over his shoulder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable introduction, April 2, 2012
This review is from: The Complete World of Human Evolution (Second Edition) (The Complete Series) (Paperback)
This is a good introduction to the subject, with excellent illustrations; very accessible to the lay person. I've used it as a resource in college teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for those with curiousity about where we all came from without being over my head, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete World of Human Evolution (Second Edition) (The Complete Series) (Paperback)
I have not finished it yet, but it is written for people like me who do not know much about the subject. And, the pictures really help bring it into focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent review of evolution, July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete World of Human Evolution (Second Edition) (The Complete Series) (Paperback)
I was very impressed with all the illustrations. It gives a comprehensive and understandable review of human evolution and I am delighted to have the book as reference in in library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful pictures of what we used to be, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
anyone interested in our origins, in how we came to be who we, as human beings are...this book will take you into that wonderful mystery and treat your eyes and imagination to a delightful experience. you will want your visiting friends to look at this book with you beside them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Purchased this book to enhance my daughters biology and history education however I ended up reading the text myself. Pictures and graphics are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept from College, June 24, 2013
This review is from: The Complete World of Human Evolution (Second Edition) (The Complete Series) (Paperback)
I was required to buy this book for a college course several years ago. Istill have it and never plan to sell it. its decriptive enough to give a broad knowlege on the topics presented, but covers a huge range for human evolution. Pictures are clear and provide excellent visual depictions. theres a chart in there showing the presumed locations in time for certain species.

My major was in Geology/Paleobiology, but I work in logistics in the Army. I keep this book to peak my interests And use the pictures, diagrams, and charts as a basis for my drawings I do as a hobby.

This is an excellent book to teach from, get artistic ideas from, or just to learn about human evolution on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete World of Human Evolution (Second Edition) (The Complete Series) (Paperback)
A fantastic literary voyage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete World of Human Evolution (Second Edition)  (The Complete Series)
$26.95 $20.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.