Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm's tales as they should be read!
True, some (but not all) of the Brothers Grimm stories are gruesome and parents would find it unesay reading them to their children as fairy stories, but then they were never intended to be read predominantly by, or to, children. The Brothers Grimm wrote down their collected oral tales mainly for the bourgeois audiences of 19th century europe, and Jacob Grimm said that...
Published on February 19, 2000

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIRD EDITION HARDCOVER REVIEW
This book review is about the "all New Third Edition" hardcover, ISBN 0-553-38216-0. This edition contains 762 pages, is over one inch thick, but the quires have been snipped like a paperback, and the the paper appears to be typical paperback-style acid/rag paper! The binding is similar to the cheap paper hardcover of children's "Golden Books" series and seems likely to...
Published on March 16, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 168 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm's tales as they should be read!, February 19, 2000
By A Customer
True, some (but not all) of the Brothers Grimm stories are gruesome and parents would find it unesay reading them to their children as fairy stories, but then they were never intended to be read predominantly by, or to, children. The Brothers Grimm wrote down their collected oral tales mainly for the bourgeois audiences of 19th century europe, and Jacob Grimm said that whilst the stories were mainly for an adult readership, the fact that children were also beginning to read them was just a bonus. Certainly many of the tales are different to the sweet and innocent versions portrayed by Disney. Don't expect to find cute little animals here! However, expect to find tales with a moral and a recipe for living, as prevelent today as they were nearly 200 years ago. It's a great book, especially with the added bonus of Zipes' introduction which details the history of the Brothers Grimm and their reasons for writing down the tales. Buy it to read to yourself, not your children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy tales:unwatered and uncensored, May 15, 2000
By 
Fuchsia (United States) - See all my reviews
An excellent collection of the fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm. Its good to find collections of their tales out there that are not just watered down versions. Jack Zipes, who has also translated wonderful editions of the thousand and one nights and a collection of French Fairy Tales(both highly recommended) does an excellent job with the Grimms and provides interesting commentary about the orgins of the tales. My favorite story in particalar was one about a tailor, I can't remember the name.(Yes, I know there are a million stories about tailors but this was the one where the tailor gets blinded and his traveling companion treats him horribly) This edition even includes all of the stories that were even too violent for the Grimm Brothers. One called "How Some Children Played at Slaughtering" is especially unappetizing. All in all I recommend this book to anyone who would like a little enchantment in their lives. By the way, the cover of this book is just gorgous, nice illustrations inside also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I finally found a complete collection!, March 28, 2000
The fairy tales of the Brothers Grimm date back to centuries ago, but only in the 19th century were they written down and collected. An avid fan of fairy tales, I consider this an important treasure. These are the original, untouched-by-Disney, pure tales. All 250, incluidng 40 never before seen, are in this. Many are actually redos of the same tale, but always with a different twist. They are full of gore and violence and everything else, but I've been reading them since I was little. The author Jack Zipes also provides plenty of history notes on the collecting, writing, and translating of the tales and the lives of the Brothers Grimm. All in all, 'tis excellent collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fairy Tale book for adults, December 12, 2000
Like most children, I grew up with the stories of Rapunzel, Hansel and Gretal, Rumpelstiltskin, Snow White and a host of other Grimms Fairy Tales. Now I am grown, my children are grown, and I just happened upon this book and decided to treat myself, to bring back memories of a past childhood maybe. Well, it didn't completely do that, as the stories are certainly not, for the most part, the stories that I knew as a child. They are not the glossed over, perfect happy endings that we think of when we think of 'Fairy Tales'. This book has the tales the way they were originally written, complete with enough violence, blood-shed and gore that would make even Freddie Kreuger cringe. But they are also full of humour, life lessons and morals that we could all learn from. The notes at the back of the book are also very informative. Each story title is given it's original German translation, with information on when it was first published and the source from whence it came. The section of Omitted Tales is particularly interesting. These tales were originally ommitted due to either their gruesomeness, similarity to other tales or for other reasons stated in the notes at the back. For those people who want the 'real stuff' and not the 'sugar coated variety' then this is for you. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The student's dream edition, March 9, 2004
This review is from: The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm All-New Third Edition (Paperback)
This book not only comes with almost 300 stories, but a introduction that covers the Grimm brothers lives and their gathering of the stories. In the end it also has a very thick glossary that covers the credits of each story, most even say who the exact source the story came from. It's a literary masterpiece full of the Grimm's collected folklore and almost thirty new stories that I myself have searched for everywhere and couldn't find exept in this copy. Don't let the different names of a few of the stories through you though, every story had origanaly abuot five names and are referred to by anyone in different editions and company's prints. This is truely a grand buy for anyone who just wants to have a book with some illustrations and tons of stories for thier kids, or wants to reseach them. If this is for kids, I'm sure you know to be careful, some of the stories are very gruesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim, Entertaining, and Strangely Insightful, July 11, 2000
The brothers captured much about the German spirit in theircollection of fairly tales, including those aspects of it thatresonate with human nature in general. Most of the tales have German folk origins, some are remakes of French tales, and a few, well... may have been invented by the women who supplied the brothers with fairy tales. The Grimms were academics. Cultured and urban, they did not hang around the villages, pestering peasants for fairy tales. Rather they obtained their material from middle class and aristocratic women who visited their home and related the stories. The women themselves got their material from their mothers or nannies. Wilhelm and Jacob, however, produced an inspired collection of tales with their own distinctive character and flavor. Perhaps they were prodded by the erotic impulse to do that. The tales have certainly withstood the test of time.
There is a lot of good natured, blue-eyed German innocence in these tales; strange, dark, and grotesque imagery and symbolism can surely be found; and of course, anyone reflecting on these tales, cannot help by think of all the grusome violence. For some of the most graphic examples of violence check out "Fichter's Bird" and "The Robber Bridegroom" in the first volume. Strangely enough, children do not seem to be disturbed by the violence of these tales. I read this book for the first time when I was seven or eight, and I was fine--perhaps I wasn't old enough to realize what was really happening. Of course, my experience is typical of the way children respond to these tales. I am more disturbed by Grimm's tales as an adult. Their violence, combined with dark imagery and symbols of darkness (ubiquitous forests), irrational behavior (read "Clever Hans" or "Katy and Freddy"), strong pagan themes ("Gambling Hans"), all this combined with certain naivte and matter-of-factness makes you fear that culture and people a bit.
"The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm" is a masterpiece, as revealing of the times and culture, as they are imaginative and grim in their images and storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, enchanting, scary, fun, violent, gruesome, etc., September 15, 1999
By A Customer
I am presently having a ball going through these fairy tales which were collected by the brothers Grimm over a century ago. These 200 tales are enchanting, scary, lovely, fantastic, grisly, etc. Some of these tales are definitiely NOT for bedtime reading for youngsters. They will frighten children. That makes them great reading for adults! There is nothing else like these fairy tales in print. Buy these books and read a few each day. They are thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great translation, poor paper, April 3, 2002
By 
Patrick Hardin (evanston, IL USA) - See all my reviews
While I was impressed with Zipes translation I was incredibly disappointed with the quality of the paper. This is the "Library" binding, which is basically the paperback pasted into a laminated cardboard jacket too small for the volume. The paper itself is of the poorest grade recycled stuff, true pulp. Save yourself some money (and disappointment) and just get the paperback. I guess I'll keep looking for a volume I'm not ashamed to put on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful way to explore classical fairy tale literature, December 27, 1999
By A Customer
As a child, I remember reading these fairy tales all the time. Now as an adult I am able to read them the way they were written. I do not recommend these tales for small children, as some are quite graphic and can be disturbing, but for an older audience or teenager this is a great way to get back in touch with your childhood and explore how these tales were meant to be read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't miss a thing..., September 3, 2005
By 
Kindle Customer (Kerzenheim, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm All-New Third Edition (Paperback)
I like this newer edition, which includes stories I've never read before. I read a much older edition every time I visited my grandparents and knew I must get this for my children. There's something less mystical about holding a softcover book, but the stories are still as amazing.

Disney and children publishers usually censor the tales so they have weak and happy endings. The real tales have Cinderella's step sister's eyes pecked out or the evil Queen from Snow White dance in red-hot shoes. The time when the Grimm Brothers wrote down these German tales, was a violent time and the stories properly reflect that.

The only downside, is I'm not fond of the overly religious tales. I know these stories also go with the times, but they're not my favorite. Also, there are a few tales that are a little odd and don't seem to make sense to our modern mindset, but are still interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm All-New Third Edition
$23.00 $17.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.