Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank-you Brent Peterson
Not that many years away from retirement, I starting thinking about traveling & not having to get a cat sitter each time. Hmm, makebe I could take them with me - maybe an RV would be the answer. In this book, Peterson even says a lot of people got started in RVing for that exact reason.

I read the whole book cover-to-cover in a few sittings. There is a lot of...
Published on September 4, 2006 by Chaya

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A too "Light" read
Disappointed. I was expecting more detail and specfics. It seems as if each new chapter or aspect of RV'ing was introduced as if it was going to expain everything you needed to know, but then only provided the highlights without giving you a complete picture. For example, Chapter 12 covered plumbing systems in 13 pages with items discussed in no more than one or two...
Published on November 24, 2010 by J. Wells


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank-you Brent Peterson, September 4, 2006
By 
Chaya (La Jolla, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Not that many years away from retirement, I starting thinking about traveling & not having to get a cat sitter each time. Hmm, makebe I could take them with me - maybe an RV would be the answer. In this book, Peterson even says a lot of people got started in RVing for that exact reason.

I read the whole book cover-to-cover in a few sittings. There is a lot of information, but it's not overwhelming because the writing is easy to read, and Peterson is funny - lots of sly humor snuck in in very unsuspecting places. I would recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about buying an RV for the first time. It may not be the ultimate "bible" for using RVs as someone complained, but it has so much information about what to look for in an RV, how to bargain with the salesman, what it's like to go on your first trip, etc., it's a great introduction.

The book was so detailed, it convinced me - I'm not cut out for it. For the price of this book, I've saved over $60k!

I won't sell the book just yet or totally abandon the idea, and I might still go to a few RV shows as he suggests, just to make sure it's not for me. This book is for you if you are also someone who knows nothing at all about the topic but think it might be fun. And if you are better at paying attention to all the little details RVing entails, he will probably convince you in the opposite direction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A too "Light" read, November 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Disappointed. I was expecting more detail and specfics. It seems as if each new chapter or aspect of RV'ing was introduced as if it was going to expain everything you needed to know, but then only provided the highlights without giving you a complete picture. For example, Chapter 12 covered plumbing systems in 13 pages with items discussed in no more than one or two paragraphs. If you like 378 pages of puff and jokes you may like it. I wanted more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pass On This One!!, December 30, 2007
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Don't waste your time on this book. The author spends way too much time tring to be funny and cute. Very little usefull information at all. Try the RV'ers Bible. A much better book. Well written with lots of good information. Again, Pass On This One!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars richard book review, June 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, I am a new to RV ing and this book helped explain some of the situations that I can find in my travels, the downside of this book is that it does not go into detail about anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't feel like a Complete Idiot about RV's anymore!, December 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I decided to switch to the RV lifestyle without much knowledge of the logistics. After I bought my new home (1978 Mobile Traveler) I decided it was time to learn the basics. This guide is an easy read, full of all the fundamentals of how every aspect of RVing works without getting too technical. I got out my hi-lighters and read it cover to cover in a day. Totally worth it. I learned how my RV works, problems to look for, and so much more. It gave me the confidence that I knew what I was doing, even made me brave enough to test my propane system and turn on my stove for the first time. I keep it around as a handy reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, December 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Awesome book great information. For a first timer all the hints and suggestions are wonderful. A great purchase indeed, money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no complaints, July 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
We are just starting out exploring hitting the road. We weren't looking for too much info....and this book delivered what we needed. It covered the basics that we needed to consider re: renting, purchasing, what to look for, why to look for it...., as well as ways to make sure we were going after what suited us. If your beginning the 'thinking process' re: RVing.....I trust you will find this book very helpful....as well as fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less an Idiot now that I read it, April 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I was contimplating purchasing an RV, but knew virtually nothing about RVing. This little book really did well for me. I couldn't find it under "Camping and RVing" that I put into the Amazon search, and it really needs to be there. It's very basic.....as it should be for complete idiots to RVing like me. So, now, I'm the owner of one of these playhouses, and my search for a used Class B made sense because of what I'd read in this book.

Scotty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RVing 2nd edition, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
Shipped quick!! Novice camping and thinking of purchasing a RV in the future. Great book and leaves me very confidant that I could do the whole RV thing and NOT be intimidated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who Is this Book Written For?, June 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition (Paperback)
I liked the book very much. It does spend a fair amount of time on the "upfront" issues. Do you want to buy an RV? What kind of an RV is right for you? What's out there for RVers? So the book may be best suited to those who are new to the experience, but, duh, it's the idiot's guide. If you've rented an RV, traveled in one with your parents or friends, you may be at a different pay grade.
When I bought it, I was a woman in my sixties, not mechanical by nature, planning to travel alone. I'd never owned an RV, though I'd taken a few trips in one. I was buffaloed by the systems that the guys usually take care of--the water tanks, batteries, power systems, etc.
Face it. There are many systems within the confines of an RV. Everything that's needed to live on the road--refrigerator, shower, sink, cupboards, closets, tv, beds, and more. If any part of all this malfunctions, it can be dangerous, irksome, and/or inconvenient. I recall a hot evening in Minnesota, with bugs swarming outside and the air conditioning not working inside. At that moment, more permanency in my home seemed highly desirable.
The Idiot's Guide supplied the answers to many of my questions in a very clear though breezy manner, with lists, illustrations, and explanations. It supplied references I could check out. I felt more equal to the task I was undertaking once I had read The Idiot's Guide. Not that I knew everything, it's kind of RVing 101, so the basics were covered and I could move on from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition
The Complete Idiot's Guide to RVing, 2nd Edition by Brent Peterson (Paperback - April 4, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.