Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oozing with practical ideas and step-by-step guidance
I just finished reading "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business," and I only wish this book would have been around when I was launching my two online businesses! It could have easily cut my learning curve in half while saving me countless headaches and thousands of dollars on foolish ideas and unproven strategies. In this fabulous book, Steve provides...
Published on October 23, 2009 by E. Gandia

versus
79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent for beginners but some incorrect info, and author's own sites are lacking
I am a web designer who has done work for Fortune 1000, non-profs, and govt, but I have little experience with small e-commerce sites, so I thought this book might be helpful.

This book is written at a *very* basic level, a small step up from explaining what a website or search engine is. Much of it is common sense, but there are some pretty good points that...
Published on April 30, 2011 by Dan Trachtman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent for beginners but some incorrect info, and author's own sites are lacking, April 30, 2011
By 
Dan Trachtman (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
I am a web designer who has done work for Fortune 1000, non-profs, and govt, but I have little experience with small e-commerce sites, so I thought this book might be helpful.

This book is written at a *very* basic level, a small step up from explaining what a website or search engine is. Much of it is common sense, but there are some pretty good points that not everyone will know. So on that level, I think its good for beginners who have no experience with web development or even how to run a business.

What concerned me was that because the author is not actually in the field of web development, he seems to just "improvise" some info. This book contains some incorrect information and there are some issues with the author's own websites.
-The author's websites should be models of well designed e-commerce sites. They are "fine" and functional, but there are some design and usability issues. forcopywritersonly.com does not look professionally designed, has some basic usability issues such as lack of breadcrumbs, nav states not staying on at the tertiary level, an inconsistent use of text links and button links, blog missing most common blog functionality, use of the word "click here" which is seen as a big faux pas in the industry, etc. I just showed my girlfriend forgraphicdesignersonly.com (his second site), and told her the guy on the homepage says he is a graphic designer. Her response was, "Are you f-ing kidding me?" It doesnt look professional at all despite the author saying he is a "Registered Graphic Designer" (NEVER heard of such a thing).
-He defines terms he says are common in the industry that just arent. "Beta site" is a not a demo site used by designers, it is a site used for web applications before they are done. I have never heard a designer use that term. We might call them staging sites or testing sites. We don't use the term "masthead". The author must be thinking of magazines. We call them headers or banners. On page 105, he says, "This is tricky because most internet web browsers, like Foxfire.." The author must be thinking of Firefox. Typo perhaps, but at the level this book is written, one assumes the readers havent heard of these different web browsers.
-He mentions applications or services that are not common or forgets some common ones. For example, he says Dreamweaver and Microsoft Expression are "used by most professional designers". Dreamweaver, yes. The second I have never seen used ever (and I have worked lots of places). When he mentions email marketing software, he forgets the number one most popular, MagnetMail (and yes, it was big at time of publication too).
-When talking about web development, he only talks about web design, the word information architecture never appears and that is a big part of it too.
-His lists of websites to consult or applications to use that exist throughout the book are deceptively long. Usually the first couple are commonly used and the next 12 or seem to be just the result of the author doing a web search and entering the results into his book w/o actually knowing anything about them.

Anyway, again, I wouldnt completely discount this book because it has some pointers on promoting your business and such, but there have to be other books out there written by professionals in the industry (people who work at reputable web development or PR firms) who really know what they are talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oozing with practical ideas and step-by-step guidance, October 23, 2009
By 
E. Gandia (Marietta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
I just finished reading "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business," and I only wish this book would have been around when I was launching my two online businesses! It could have easily cut my learning curve in half while saving me countless headaches and thousands of dollars on foolish ideas and unproven strategies. In this fabulous book, Steve provides an easy-to-understand yet comprehensive approach to planning, launching and growing a Web-based business -- whether you want to sell products, services, memberships or even profit from affiliate commissions or online advertising revenue. It's an approach anyone can follow to get great results faster and avoid costly pitfalls. Just one warning: The book is oozing with practical ideas and step-by-step guidance, so grab a cup of coffee, a comfortable chair, a good pen, and get ready to take notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Practical and Informative Gide, June 5, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
This is a practical and informative introduction to the world of web-based business. The few other books I have read on the subject were filled with a pie-in-the-sky-get-rich-quick orientation and this has none of that. Just a realistic examination of the subjects that you need to address to get a web-based business off the ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Wear Out These Pages Following The Experienced Advice, June 20, 2010
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
If you're going to begin a new venture, you want to follow detailed advice from someone who has successfully started an online venture. Steve Slaunwhite is that person. As he writes inside the cover, "I built that website (his first website) into a six-figure money maker for me, and helped dozens of other entrepreneurs do the same."

Whether you have never launched a website or already have a foot in the web-based world, you need this book. It contains hundreds of time-tested tips and insight which will save you hours of experimentation (read wasted time) and put your business on the right course for success. As Slaunwhite writes in the introduction, "I've also included hundreds of recommended websites, online tools, products, services, and other resources."

I read this book cover to cover and plan to read it a second time (yes, it's that worthwhile). "The information is all hear. The next move is yours."

Get this book, read it carefully (and repeatedly), take action on the advice and wear out the pages. You will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers on What It Says It Will Deliver On, November 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
It's nice to read a book that delivers the contents of what it boasts about on the back cover. This book was very complete. The most beneficial part I got out of it were the tons of online resources to go to for assistance on the various subjects. There are many short and sweet chapters for easy reading. It will be a good reference tool down the road. It was very well written and organized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pick any general library will find popular, December 15, 2009
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business joins others in the excellent 'Complete Idiot' series (which is not really 'for idiots', but rather a user-friendly series for anyone and everyone!) and offers an easy survey of the basics of how to create and operate a successful cyberspace venture. From how various online businesses conduct their business to selecting among best web hosting options and creating user-friendly sites that attract surfing clients, this is a pick any general library will find popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hype-free, comprehensive and accurate guie, November 3, 2009
By 
Pete Savage "Author" (Peterborough, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
This book offers the most comprehensive, accurate, and realistic coverage on the topic I've seen in any one book. What sets it apart is it gives new and aspiring entrepreneurs what they're starving for: detailed, step-by-step advice on how to turn an idea into an online business - with NO hype or empty 'get rich quick' promises. Encouraging, informative and filled with helpful examples, this is the book that will finally guide small business owners past the roadblocks that stop most people from successfully selling products, services, and information on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book on Internet Marketing, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
After weeks of readings just managed to finished 1/5. A solid book that covered many aspects of marketing.
Is good for newbies and those adventurous to plunge in to know more on marketing.
I give a rating of 5 stars -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for web business owners, August 5, 2012
By 
Tdnandi (Arlington,VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I recommend this book to any aspiring web business owner. Steve Slaunwhite has covered all the topics one needs to think about for building a strong web business. He explains the concepts in a simple way that it is so easy to follow - the reference websites are the biggest sources for me!
I will buy any book from Steve and highly recommend this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Resource at last, December 7, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business (Paperback)
This book offers real, practical advice for those trying to start up an Internet based business, unlike so many other "resources" that are just a way to sell you on some product or another.The advice makes sense and can actually be implemented in the real world and the language is not too technical for the beginner. A greta buy for anyone interested in starting a business online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Starting a Web-Based Business by Steve Slaunwhite (Paperback - September 1, 2009)
$19.95 $14.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.