Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest coffee table book EVER
I had this book out when family was over and everyone was checking it out. Basically, you look up your symptom (headache, whatever) and the book tells you what terrible disease you're dying from. I don't understand the reviewer complaining about the medical advice -- um, hello, it's a HUMOR BOOK! And my two sisters are nurses and they thought everything was hilarious...
Published on June 4, 2008 by J. T. Stern

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hypocondria in over drive
This book is hypochondria in overdrive.
It doesn't tell you much but it tells you just enough that you might have it IF...
Published 11 months ago by knitter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complete manual of things that might kill you, December 16, 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
I gave this book as a funny christmas gift to my friend and she absolutly loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, May 13, 2008
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
I now know everything that ails me, it really helps when calling in sick! Thanks goodness for this book, laughter is the best medicine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book is funny., June 1, 2008
By 
Rebecca Rice (Culver City, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
That being said, it may require a dry wit, and first-hand experience with a hypochondriac to appreciate the book to its fullest. The individual entries themselves are written straight. The humor is in that the only diseases that go with a runny nose are Hodgkin's Disease and Relapsing Polychondritis (for example) as well as the silly facts and quotes. My favorite part of the book is at the end, where there are many medical terms, including prefixes and suffixes so that you can make up your own diseases. At a time when there are so many web sites devoted to self-diagnosis, it is nice to see that someone out there is not taking it all too seriously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good to keep around, May 7, 2008
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
There are always days when rain or laziness keeps you inside, whether with friends or by yourself. Some of my favorite memories are from days like those when doing nothing is really the best thing. One of my friends had this sitting on their bookshelf and we wasted at least an hr flipping through it. There were some fascinating facts and I definitely left my "lazy" afternoon a little smarter than I started it! Glad to have a book that can help out when you wonder what a certain pain or feeling could mean- everyone's hoping for something that's at least a little dramatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee table book., June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
This is a great conversation book. After reading it or friends thumbing through it ...it made for some interesting conservationist. A good quality book at a great price. My dog ate it eventually lol but I am reordering it as it is worth the second purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun present, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
Gave this to my daughter-in-law, who is in her last year of medical school. Everyone loved it! Nice paper for the book and cover, too...I'm picky like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for the worried mother., June 5, 2009
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
Give descriptions of common symptoms and what serious disease it could be a sign of. Great gift for the paranoid mother lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we all know someone who could use this, June 3, 2009
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
I bought this as a birthday gift for one of my friends, who is also a hypochondriac. The book provided us with hours of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, January 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
This is a really fun book for the person in your life who worries WAY too much about everything! They'll find it hard not to laugh after a few minutes and symptoms are reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely funny... makes a great gift for health professionals, May 27, 2008
This review is from: The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs (Hardcover)
You have to admit with the state of the medical industry as it is today, a good laugh is sorely needed. This book is hilarious and it would make an especially good gift for health professionals. The reviewer below me is obviously not amused with this book but I have to say that this is the funniest medical-themed books I've ever seen. No, don't go treating your medical issues with it. It's comedy for pete's sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Manual of Things That Might Kill You: A Guide to Self-Diagnosis for Hypochondriacs
$23.00 $15.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.