Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What could be better?, July 10, 2000
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
For those of us obsessed with "Deep Soul" you'll just have to have this because it's all of O.V. Wright's Hi Records cuts. Sure his voice is a little weaker here, and he's clearly under the influence at times, but some of the stuff he belts out are so hauntingly beautiful you'll just have to have it.
Even better, make sure you pick up the 2nd live disc as a companion. Truly wonderful.
For those of you not familiar with O.V. Wright, might I suggest you go pick you pick up some of his older MCA compilations and consider this disc after. Once you hear him, you'll just want more and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there's only one o.v. wright, July 15, 2006
By 
COMPUTERJAZZMAN "computerjazzman" (Cliffside Park, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
those people who say that his later music recorded on the Hi label is not as good as his earlier output on the Don Robie BACKBEAT label, are wrong. Just listen to the man's voice and interpretation of his material. Besides, how can any music produced by willie Mitchell be bad? Plus, you have backup by the Hi Rhythm Section (the Hodges Brothers plus the great Howard Grimes on drums, with his trademark emphasis on the second and fourth beat), and The Memphis Horns! If you like soul music, then you will love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FOR THOSE WHO THOUGHT IT WAS ALL OVER FOR O.V. WRIGHT WHEN HE LEFT BACKBEAT RECORDS...THINK AGAIN!!!, June 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
Nothing really changed...The Deep Soul was still there...It was just that Disco & Soul music was REALLY undergoing some massive changes, but Willie Mitchell and Company (Hi Records) REFUSED to go along with those changes when it came to: Ann Peebles, Otis Clay, and O.V. Wright. This 2 (Two) Disc Set covers ALL 30 (Thirty) Studio Recordings or ALL 3 (Three) Albums O.V. Wright recorded for Hi Records ("Into Something", "The Bottom Line", and "We're Still Together"), Plus 2 (Two) Single Only Tracks: "Rhymes" and "Without You". "Without You" is from a poor quality tape. You think they would have used a Mint/Unplayed Single...Why? We'll never know. It should be noted that the final 2 (Two) Tracks are NOT by O.V. Wright, but some Demo's that was probley for O.V. to record, but he never got around to it, and BOTH of these Tracks SHOULD NOT HAVE EVEN BEEN INCLUDED...Thank God they are at the very end of Disc 2 :)

I would list the 'Killer' Tracks, but No! I'm not gonna do that (It's just too many to list). I will list the Billboard Charted Singles O.V. Wright had during his years at Hi Records: "Rhymes" (#87), "Into Something" (#43), "Precious, Precious" (#50), and "I Don't Do Windows" (#91). Do yourself a favor....Go and buy this Compact Disc! Deep Soul don't...No! CAN'T get no better than this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern soul masterpiece, February 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
O.V. Wright has so much soul it's unbelievable that he isn't nearly as famous as Al Green. Don't miss out on him, he was one of the most (constantly) soulful singer to ever walk the face of this earth. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, O.V. Wright's pre-Hi records career has received much more attention (Although it was also recorded with producer genius and recently departed Willie Mitchell). Check for yourself but this is AMAZING material here, just buy it and you won't regret it. Just take any song, like "I Don't Know Why" for instance. It's far from being the most famous song on this double album, and yet, I am sure it's the best thing you've heard in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deep Soul meets Memphis Magic, January 19, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
I already had a CD copy of Wright's older recordings, from the 1960s and early 1970s, "The Soul of O.V. Wright", and totally love that one, so I felt like I needed to get this collection of his recordings on the famous Hi Records label. This 2-CD set includes 3 entire studio albums, from 1977-79, plus two songs he did for the label in 1976, and also two controversial "bonus tracks" that many people believe are not actually O.V. Wright at all, but were found during a researcher's' "trawl" through the Hi Records vaults in late 1980s.

The idea of pairing a deep soul singer such as O.V. Wright with the magical touch of Hi's legendary producer Willie Mitchell must have sounded like a great idea, and for the most part the pairing works well, but I have to say there were a few songs I didn't care for, and at times I wished for an earthier, rootsier feel on some songs rather than Mitchell's trademark sweet strings and horn arrangements. Unlike one reviewer, I don't think it's "wrong" to say that these recordings aren't as good as Wright's material for Back Beat. Those older records were so devastatingly great that it would be very hard to top them, and as good as this material is, I just don't think it's as strong overall as the older stuff. That said, there are some wonderful songs to be found on these two discs and soul fans will find a lot to like.

For those fans that prefer a stripped down sound, you DO get that on those final two non-album bonus cuts, in the form of some demo recordings. The first of those songs, "A Fool Can See the Light" does sound a bit like Wright, exuding the same phrasing and style, but the last track, "I'm Gonna Be a Big Man Someday" sounds like another singer entirely. Still, I have to say that I enjoy those two cuts, even if they aren't actually by Wright.

The CD comes with a 16-page booklet that has an essay about O.V. Wright written by Chris Bolton for this reissue in 1999. The booklet also has full track listings with songwriting credits and song times. A very nice package with some very good tunes from an essential soul music singer who deserves to be ranked with the greatest of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this old R&B record., June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
This is a very good record. It takes me back to some of the great times in my life. And the singing is so soulful. You will get your moneys worth if you purchased this record. You will love it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, January 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
This album is truly music to my ears. I remember O.V. from my childhood years. His sound reminds me of my mother and her girlfriends giving Friday night cardgames/fish fries and all of the fond memories of that era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, August 10, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete O.V. Wright on Hi Records, Vol. 1: In the Studio (Audio CD)
This is an excellent CD if you like this era of music. It is a great collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.