Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Outdoors Gift Guide on HTL
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by M + L
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped in 1-2 working days from Germany by First Class Priority Airmail.
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.10
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Complete Private Music Blues Rock N Soul Albums Collection Box set, Import

6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Import, August 28, 2012
"Please retry"
$26.18 $26.15

$25,000 Prime Sweepstakes: This Week Only
Listen to Prime Music for a chance to win $25,000 in Gift Cards. Play any song, station, or playlist to be automatically entered. No purchase necessary. See Official Rules for details and alternate method of entry. Ends December 5, 2015.

Editorial Reviews

Rightfully acknowledged as an icon of rhythm and blues, Etta James could, and did, sing an extraordinarily wide variety of music with equal amounts of heart and soul. The 7-CD set, Etta James: The Complete Blues, Rock N Soul Private Music Albums Collection, covers 6 of the 12 acclaimed recordings she made for Private Music and RCA between 1997 and 2006. The emphasis in these albums is on the more earthy blues, R&B, rock and occasional country material that this vocal dynamo put her inimitable stamp on. (The more jazz-oriented work that James cut for Private will find its way onto a projected box set in this series.) This set, which includes Love's Been Rough On Me; Life, Love And The Blues; Matriarch Of The Blues; Burnin' Down The House; Let s Roll; Blues To The Bone; and the bonus disc: Live From San Francisco (recorded in 1981) returns five of these prized albums to CD.

At the time of her passing in 2012 -- after a career that stretched more than a half-century -- James was acclaimed as the musical titan she surely was. A Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame member, and a three-time Grammy winner who also received a Grammy Hall Of Fame and Lifetime Achievement Award, James was an inspiration for generations of musicians, as demonstrated by the 2012 Grammy Awards tribute to her featuring Bonnie Raitt and Alicia Keys.

Stocked with blues staples, R&B standards, and interpretations of rock tunes from the likes of The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, The Eagles and Creedence Clearwater Revival, The Complete Blues, Rock 'N Soul Private Music Albums Collection also includes lives versions of such James's classics as "Tell Mama," "Something s Got A Hold On Me," "I'd Rather Go Blind" and, her signature song and wedding favorite, "At Last."

Discs Included in Box Set:

1) Love's Been Rough On Me (1997)
Private Music
2) Life, Love And The Blues (1998)
Private Music
3) Matriarch Of The Blues (2000)
Private Music
4) Burnin' Down The House (2002)
Private Music
5) Let's Roll (2003) Grammy Winner
Private Music
6) Blues To The Bone (2004)
RCA Victor
7) Bonus Disc: Live From San Francisco (1981)On The Spot/Private Music

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Rock
  2. Cry Like A Rainy Day
  3. Love's Been Rough On Me
  4. Love It Or Leave It Alone
  5. Don't Touch Me
  6. Hold Me (Just A Little Longer Tonight)
  7. If I Had Any Pride Left At All
  8. I Can Give You Everything
  9. I've Been Lovin' You Too Long
  10. Done In The Dark

Disc: 2

  1. Born Under A Bad Sign
  2. I Want To Ta Ta You, Baby
  3. Here I Am (Come And Take Me)
  4. Running Out Of Lies
  5. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)
  6. Spoonful
  7. Life, Love & The Blues
  8. Hoochie Coochie Gal
  9. Cheating In The Next Room
  10. If You Want Me To Stay
  11. The Love You Save May Be Your Own
  12. I'll Take Care Of You

Disc: 3

  1. Gotta Serve Somebody
  2. Don't Let My Baby Ride
  3. Rhymes
  4. Try A Little Tenderness
  5. Miss You
  6. Hawg For Ya
  7. You're Gonna Make Me Cry
  8. Walking the Back Streets
  9. Let's Straighten It Out
  10. Born On The Bayou
  11. Come Back Baby
  12. Hound Dog

Disc: 4

  1. Introduction
  2. Come To Mama
  3. I Just Want To Make Love To You / Born To Be Wild; I Just Want To Make Love To You\ Born To Be Wild
  4. I'd Rather Go Blind
  5. All The Way Down
  6. At Last
  7. You Can Leave Your Hat On
  8. Something's Got A Hold On Me
  9. Your Good Thing Is About To End
  10. Rock Me Baby
  11. Love & Happiness / Take Me To The River / My Funny Valentine; Love & Happiness\ Take Me To The River\ My Funny Valentine
  12. Sugar On The Floor

Disc: 5

  1. Somebody To Love
  2. The Blues Is My Business
  3. Leap Of Faith
  4. Strongest Weakness
  5. Wayward Saints Of Memphis
  6. Lie No Better
  7. Trust Yourself
  8. A Change Is Gonna Do Me Good
  9. Old Weakness
  10. Stacked Deck
  11. On The 7th Day
  12. Please, No More

Disc: 6

  1. Got My Mojo Working
  2. Don't Start Me To Talking
  3. Hush Hush
  4. Lil' Red Rooster
  5. That's Alright
  6. Crawlin' King Snake
  7. Dust My Broom
  8. The Sky Is Crying
  9. Smokestack Lightin'
  10. You Shook Me
  11. Driving Wheel
  12. Honey, Don't Tear My Clothes

Disc: 7

  1. I Just Want To Make Love To You
  2. Take It To the Limit
  3. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  4. Sugar On The Floor
  5. Tell Mama
  6. I'd Rather Go Blind
  7. Otis Redding Medley; Hard To Handle\ Just One More Day\ Can't Turn You Loose
  8. Born Blue

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 28, 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 7
  • Format: Box set, Import
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Legacy
  • ASIN: B008AJ4GTO
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #56,143 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Etta James Store

Visit Amazon's Etta James Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD

The 7-CD box set “The Complete Private Music Blues, Rock ‘N’ Soul Albums Collection”, released by Sony Music in 2012, contains 7 CDs.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By HKO/LSY on April 27, 2015
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is an amazing collection! I thought she only sang jazz. Beautiful voice, beautiful music! The value is much more than the price!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By vickie dravinski on April 11, 2014
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
If you love Etta, you will love this collection; reasonable price for so many CDs; she is the best blues singer in my opinion.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: vinyl pop