Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


123 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unbeatable "bible" for reading tarot with reversals
Mary Greer pioneered the psychological, experiential methods of reading tarot that have now become the norm. Her earlier books, especially Tarot for Your Self, are full of exercises to help beginning readers develop a personal relationship with their cards. I thus expected Tarot Reversals to follow this same pattern...a sort of workbook for getting comfortable...
Published on October 24, 2002 by Tom L. Waters

versus
41 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did I miss something.
After reading the glowing reviews for this book, above, I had to wonder, did I miss something. Are we talking about the same book. So I went back and read it again.
Honestly I found nothing, new, or particularly interesting in the book. The interpretations of reversed cards in say Janina Renee's: "Tarot for a New Generation" is at least as good. I also found the text...
Published on August 31, 2003 by T. R. LAVALLEY


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unbeatable "bible" for reading tarot with reversals, October 24, 2002
By 
Tom L. Waters (Tesuque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
Mary Greer pioneered the psychological, experiential methods of reading tarot that have now become the norm. Her earlier books, especially Tarot for Your Self, are full of exercises to help beginning readers develop a personal relationship with their cards. I thus expected Tarot Reversals to follow this same pattern...a sort of workbook for getting comfortable interpreting reversed cards.
Although there are some very valuable exercises in this book, nearly 70% of it is devoted to card-by-card interpretation, typically a page or so describing the upright meanings of the card, then a somewhat lengthier description of the reversed meanings. These descriptions are an incredible resource for any tarot reader, especially if you use reversals in your readings. There is nothing even remotely comparable anywhere else. (Other tarot books explain the meaning of the upright card, but limit reversed meanings to a few keywords.) Besides the welcome in-depth look at reversed meanings, these card interpretations are just plain good, reflecting Greer's decades of experience as a tarot reader and teacher. A welcome inclusion is shamanic/magical meanings for each card, and healing/disease implications as well. This section of the book holds its own against any of the card-by-card interpretation guides on the market today. Although this book is part of Llewellyn's series on "advanced topics in tarot", a complete beginner could learn how to interpret cards very well by using this book.
The remainder of the book consists of general advice on using and interpreting reversals. Greer goes far beyond "reversals as opposites", describing twelve different senses a reversed card can have. The book includes a lengthy listing of words that can be used to modify the upright meanings of the cards. This is very useful, especially if your own deck is a little too far removed from conventional meanings to make use of the card-by-card descriptions.
There are a number of excursions into various tarot topics, such as elemental dignities, and some really interesting spreads. I could hardly read a page in this book without coming on something new I wanted to try out.
Although this book is not intended to be a substitute for a basic tarot book, it could probably be used as such without much difficulty. And as a resource for working with reversed cards, it is unique and indispensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insights into an often overlooked aspect of Tarot, March 24, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
With "Tarot Reversals", Mary K. Greer (author of, "Essence of Magic", "Tarot Mirrors", "Tarot For Yourself") has created possibly one of the best Tarot resources for the serious student of Tarot divination. I don't want to repeat much of what other reviewers have said thus far, as they have covered the material well. Instead, I will try to add to their insights.
Many Tarot professionals don't use reversed interpretations. This is all well and good. But the numerous books out there that do deal with the concept of interpreting Tarot cards reversed, usually fall short in interpreting reversals. This could leave one to draw the conclusion that reversals are of minor importance in a spread, which is absolutely not true.
Greer corrects this inequity with a book that, not only focuses on the concept of reversals, but equally weights the upright and reversed interpretations of the cards. So you not only get the flip-side interpretation of the Tarot, you get an indepth analysis of the cards in both upright and reversed positions, making this a highly valuable resource for professional and novice alike. Along with this indepth analysis, Greer also offers a very brief, "traditional" interpretation of the cards, both upright and reversed.
The interpretations are the meat of the text. The introduction and the first two chapters set the stage, discussing the book's concept, providing specialized terms used in the text, viewing Tarot from a different perspective (reversals are more than just negative interpretations) and how to go about using reversals.
There are a number of wonderful spreads provided at the back of the book, some of which require you to use all reversed cards, an incredibly innovative concept. The Hanged Man spread is visionary, having you read the cards in each positions as both upright and reversed; upright indicating an outer perspective on the issue, and, reversed being the inner perspective of the issue.
Thankfully, Greer doesn't waste a lot of space on sample readings. Instead, she provides one in significant detail, and even gives readers exercises they can do in conjunction with that sample reading, for further learning adventures.
For greater historical background and Tarot overview, novices may wish to supplement this text with one other well-rounded introduction to the Tarot, such as, Joan Bunning's, "Learning the Tarot" (included in Greer's bibliography), or, Cassandra Eason's, "Complete Guide to the Tarot". But this is, by far, one of the best indepth book of Tarot interpretations out there today. There's a wealth of information here for the advanced practitioner as well.
Llewellyn should be commended for the nice layout and design of this book and for exploring these less-covered aspects of working with the Tarot. I hope this first book in the "Special Topics in Tarot Series", is indicative of the quality of books yet to come. I see that one of Greer's forthcoming titles is one entitled, "Tarot Court", which I hope will be covering yet another often misunderstood element of the Tarot, the Minor Arcana Court cards. Let's hope we can look forward to more quality publications like these on the Tarot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Tarot Reversals Book, March 6, 2002
By 
Sandra A. Thomson (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals by Mary K. Greer

The inaugural book in Llewellyn's new Special Topics in Tarot series is unlike any of Greer's earlier books.
In addition to expanded information on the upright and reversed meanings for each card, the book also contains an explanation of elemental dignities, a list of the elemental correspondences for the Major Arcana, general suit and number keywords, Internet addresses and resources, and an innovating presentation of reversed cards as representing the heroine's journey.
For the brave of heart, Greer also presents the idea of doing basic one-card and three-card readings with all reversed cards (be brave, dear hearts). For her Hanged Man spread, each card is read first as a problem, and then as an inner response to Spirit. Her Hidden Influences spread is extensive and complicated, but not to be missed as a detailed experience in examining major life concerns and how they are influenced.
The example reading for Sarah demonstrates the way Mary can "work" a Celtic Cross spread. You'll never belittle the Celtic Cross spread after reading this chapter.
The reversed card illustrations force you to look at the cards in a new way (if you haven't before) and her ideas about reversed cards includes new meanings for projections, health issues, and the shamanistic and magical levels of the cards. Congratulations Mary and Llewellyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Mary K. Greer, March 4, 2002
By 
Mar Calpena (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
The first in the new "Special topics in the Tarot" series, "Tarot reversals" is the great new book by the author of the classic "Tarot for your self". There's a big wealth of information on choosing your personal approach towards reversed cards (critical, as some of this approaches are in fact opposite), suggested meanings for both upright and reversed cards, considerations on what a majority of reversed cards stand for, spreads, examples, bibliography, resources and a very interesting essay on the heroine's journey, as opposed to the traditional hero's journey suposedly portrayed in normal position cards. Although this book isn't nearly as exercise heavy as "Tarot for your self", I still feel it merits five stars. It already would only because many aficionados have been waiting for one such for a long time, but the fact it's written by Ms Greer makes it a sure winner. It is a good addition for the intermediate/advanced tarot student's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing look at Tarot card reversals, June 3, 2005
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
I've always understood Tarot card reversals as energy "blocks," or signs of delay and difficulty in getting projects or inner changes "off the ground." After reading this book, I realize how much I had been limiting myself with these two interpretations.

Mary K. Greer does an excellent job of providing 12 different ways of understanding reversals in a reading. Depending on how in-depth you want your reading to be, you can try looking a the Rx cards from one or more perspectives. She includes meanings that are traditional, psycho-spiritual and everything in between.

The book includes several spreads for helping you work with reversals effectively. The one I found to be most helpful was the "Hanged Man." Though it only requires the use of six cards, each card is read twice, telling the "story" of your question from both Outer and Inner perspectives...and giving you twice as much information.

I appreciate the fact that the book gets to the heart of its topic without the reader having to wade through the same beginning information found in general books on the Tarot. This book is a great resource, and I believe the entire "Special Topics in Tarot" fills an important need in advanced Tarot studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diane Dodson, Spokane WA, February 6, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
This book, in my humble opinion, is one of the best books on tarot reversals ever writen.I have been reading the tarot for well over twenty five years, and all of the books on the market tend to concentrate primairly on the upright meanings with little or no comment on the reversed positions.Frequently when reversed meanings are mentioned, they are of a rather dark description. I have found over the years that much insight can be gained into the interior world of those that I read for DUE TO the reversals. With the reversed cards,I read as much with the idea that there are inner processes going on that can be brought to light with that cards READ only in the upright position just do not give. This is a great book.Probably for the more advanced, but the beginner can also benefit from having this book in their position. Thank you Mary Greer. I have refered to this book many times and consider it an answer to a readers prayer. It has proven to be a valuable assit. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book to begin with, March 26, 2004
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
I do a lot of Tarot readings and quite often reversed cards come up. I do not think they pop up for no reason. This book does give a good place to start really learning the reversed meanings of the cards. It has been an easy read for me which is really important because I am dyslexic. This book does combine Traditional meanings, shamanistic/magical meanings, health issues and "psychological" meanings. In my experience, it has added an extra depth and accuracy to my readings. I have found most people are put off by reading reversed meanings but I was taught to use both meanings. It is a great place to start but no book takes the place of intuition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, good adition for your Tarot library, August 15, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
I received this book last week and started using it with the readings immediately. The style of writing is clear and precise. Although the book describes the reversed meanings of cards, each card is first described with its upright original meaning. The book is illustrated with Rider Waite deck pictures which might annoy some people but for beginners and those in love with all things medieval this is a plus.
The upright descriptions are really useful but the book will help you in using reversals even if you used them before buying this book, like myself.
I do not agree with some psychological interpretations of the author which is the only reason this book gets 4 stars. Otherwise if you are looking to explore Tarot in depth, besides the usual quick interpretations, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title doesn't fully capture the brilliance of this book, March 26, 2010
By 
PunkKittyDiddy (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
'The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals' is an outstanding Tarot resource, and is far more well-rounded than the title suggests. Greer does provide an incredible spectrum of interpretations (yes, many of them positive!) for reversed cards - far more than the perfunctory and off-handed (or the sometimes dismissive or completely non-existent) treatment of reversals in many other Tarot books. However, this book explores in-depth possibilities of meaning for each and every card - including its many upright interpretations. Of course this approach makes sense, given that understanding a reversal requires a thorough knowledge of the card's upright qualities in the first place. The author also offers up loads of suggestions as to how you can develop and tailor your own unique method of interpreting reversals, which is perhaps the most invaluable advice of all. And the other reviewers are right - she throws the old stereotypical, knee-jerk formula of reversal = negative meaning right out the window. (Good riddance.)

Greer's approach could overwhelm anyone who wants to stick to more cut-and-dried interpretations, so if you're simply looking to memorize a few rote meanings for each card, this isn't the book for you. But if you're ready to dive into the limitless bounty of Tarot, and if you are open to exponentially expanding the ways in which the cards can speak to you, then 'The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals' will be an incredible and invaluable companion on your journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally!, August 22, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series) (Paperback)
This book deals with reversals as being much more complex than a "negative" of the upright card. I had refused to read reversed cards for a long time because it added so much "negativity" to the deck. Greer gives workable options for reading reversals that add texture, not doom, to the cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Book of Tarot Reversals (Special Topics in Tarot Series)
$16.95 $11.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.