Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any budding pianist
Alfred's Books have always been some of the best learning materials available. This book is no different. The book has all the scales every student should master as well as some informative information regarding music fundamentals. The book is of high quality with bright big text and is very easy on the eyes. They used quality paper and ink for this book. The paper...
Published on August 28, 2008 by Dat Hong

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good explanations
The book is inferior re annotation of the actual scales and cadences but the 16-page theory section is excellent and worth the price of the book.
Published on November 28, 2012 by CLH


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

143 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any budding pianist, August 28, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
Alfred's Books have always been some of the best learning materials available. This book is no different. The book has all the scales every student should master as well as some informative information regarding music fundamentals. The book is of high quality with bright big text and is very easy on the eyes. They used quality paper and ink for this book. The paper stock is thick and sturdy so it can stand up to some abuse. The one thing I wish was included was a spiral binding. Once you get into these types of books, it becomes difficult to lay flat on the piano desk without the pages closing. Minor gripe, you can take it to Fedex office to get it binded for around $6 if it becomes too bothersome to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Scales Book!, June 21, 2011
By 
M. Jenson (Washington DC Area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
The Alfred Complete Book Of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences is an extraordinarily well put together format. They spend the first dozen or so pages explaining the theory behind how scales and chords are put together. They do indicate that they are best learned by practice, but the theory at the beginning of the book is an excellent resource.
They formatted the scales extraordinarily well. Starting around page 16 you start the key of C Major, with every major and minor scale following that as well as two pages of Chromatic scales at the end, a page on harmonizing the scales, a page with blocked scales and accelerating scales followed by Expanding scales, and scales in double thirds, double sixths and octaves. After that they have Scales in the Grand Form, followed by broken triads, triad chains and cadences. The back of the book finally has a scale fingering chart.
Back to the format of the regular scales though. I'll illustrate what they do with C Major, which they do for the rest of the scales. All of C Major is listed on the two pages you have open when you turn there. First there are parallel motion in octaves, followed by contrary motion starting on the same note, parallel motion in thirds or tenths, parallel motion in sixths. On the following page (which you're already opened to) they have the C Major Triads: Root Position along with the primary chords, the C Major Cadences, C Major Arpeggios, and Dominant Seventh Arpeggios. This is an excellent resource for any student pursuing understanding in piano.
I have been playing piano for several years and never have grasped such a great understanding of the instrument until purchasing this book. I find that songs come so much more easily now just as long as I practice the scales before playing. The brain is a wonderful thing, but you do need to give it some fundamentals to work with, and this book of scales are the answer.
Well worth the cost, I would've been willing to pay more for this book than the $9 I payed for it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foundation of music, January 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
Scales are not fun but form the foundation of all music understanding. This is an excellent book providing many exercises in all the foundational principles of music. Regardless of what instrument played, all good musicians benefit from a strong understanding and mastery of the content of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, February 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
I am a beginner and bought this to supplement my music lesons. I am finding it wonderful and have been playing from it for a couple weeks now. It has suggessted findering for the scales. Each scale has the basic two octives followed by contrary motions and then two variations. Each is pretty humbling - I think I have it down until I try the 6ths or such and find I have to learn it again. Second page has the cords and arpeggios. The written background information is interesting and useful explanation of why some of the scales developed as they did. My teacher is also impressed by it. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential for your Learning Library, January 26, 2009
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
Scales and chords are the building blocks of learning piano, and are tied into basic music theory. This book is an excellent and easy-to-understand reference for that, and has exercises that help develop good skills.

I find it essential for practice and just for looking up stuff I've forgotten. If you're a self-study looking for something to supplement your method books, get this book. If you have a piano teacher, chances are he or she has already recommended picking up this or something similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have item for learning the piano, August 3, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
I just started playing the piano 4 weeks ago and purchased several books on music theory and the like. After reading many of the books, I was left with several questions relative to major and minor scales etc. This book answered all of the quesitons I had in the first 10 pages. As I make progess with my playing, I'm sure this book will be an invalueable tool as well as an excellent reference. I highly recommend it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential learning, December 1, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
First pages give handy explanations of how scales and chords are formed, so you can start from any note and construct the chords yourself.
Scales are easy to read, includes fingerings.
Great book to learn and practice the fundamentals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book on the essentials, March 16, 2010
By 
JXdelaCruz "J" (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
This book includes all the basic information needed to master scales, arpeggios and other music fundamentals. The importance of practicing the scales is more than just familiarizing oneself with the notes on the board, they also help to practice fingering.

The book also gives a nice overview of some basics of music from cords, triads, fifths, cadences, etc. So yea, if you're beginning the piano or just looking for a good all in one book on the subject I would definitely recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best I've come across, March 1, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
When a book of piano scales, chords, and arpeggios can bring inspiration to a practice session it's something special. If the practitioner that uses this book spends two minutes or less each day when they sit down to practice their scales and spends that time reading the Foreword on page 2 of this book and does not find themselves at least somewhat inspired about practicing scales then perhaps they may want to take up another sport.

I own two other scale books; the The FJH Classic Scale Book: Major and Minor Scales, Chords, Cadences, and Arpeggios with Instructional Material and Practice Guides (FJH Piano Teaching Library), The The Brown Scale Book: Scales, Chords and Arpeggios for Piano. I think, because of the editorial comment and fingering provided in this book that it's the superior of the three. I would not recommend the Brown unless you're quite advanced as it provides little other than the notes and various iterations (thirds, sixths, chromatics, arpeggios, etc.).

Beginner or advanced student;, I think this is probably the best book of it's type for your money. The one thing the FJH offers that the others do not is a chart of keeping track of each scale with various metronome readings. However, something of this nature could easily be made up by anyone proficient with a spreadsheet or simply a pencil, ruler, and some paper. Other than that exception, this book offers far more iterations, and thus will be better for more advanced pianists as well as beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's exactly what it says it is., May 11, 2010
By 
DVDbean (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences: Includes All the Major, Minor (Natural, Harmonic, Melodic) & Chromatic Scales - Plus Additional Instructions on Music Fundamentals (Paperback)
What can I say? It's just what the title says: a book that goes through all the scales, illustrating their related chords and arpeggios as well. If that's what you want, I doubt you'll find a better book anywhere near this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.