Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The testament of the man with the golden voice
It's surprising that, as I write this, there is only one other review. This set may be the most valuable recording of lieder in the history of recorded music. Containing all of Schubert's songs for male voice (there are many others that DFD didn't record, because they are for higher ranges), this set is brilliant, and has a rare homogeneity. Some may say that it's not...
Published on September 8, 2007 by Kirk McElhearn

versus
20 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diary of a Madman
DAY 27.
I have not been outside for nearly a month. The pizza boxes are piling up like a ziggurat. I need a shower. Was it wise to import the entire Dietrich Fischer Diskau survey of Schubert lieder - twenty one CDs and four hundred and sixty three songs - onto my i-Pod and play it on repeat through the hi-fi? It's been a DFD marathon. Praised be that which...
Published on October 26, 2011 by Bernard Michael O'Hanlon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The testament of the man with the golden voice, September 8, 2007
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
It's surprising that, as I write this, there is only one other review. This set may be the most valuable recording of lieder in the history of recorded music. Containing all of Schubert's songs for male voice (there are many others that DFD didn't record, because they are for higher ranges), this set is brilliant, and has a rare homogeneity. Some may say that it's not quite as good as his recordings from the 1960s, and they may be right. But this set has a unity of vision that spans all 21 CDs, from the songs of Schubert's youth to the three great song cycles.

DFD is certainly the golden voice that has left the greatest imprint on lieder singing, and this set should be in every lieder fan's library. While completists will want to also pick up the Complete Songs on Hyperion (on 37 CDs, includes all the songs for female voices, and for multiple voices), but that set, with different singers, lacks the unity of this landmark. Once you have gotten hooked by Fischer-Dieskau's voice, it's hard to turn back. When you understand this music, and fall in love with his voice, you can then go on and explore his other great lieder recordings, of Mahler, Schumann, Brahms, Wolf, and many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!, October 9, 2009
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau is my favorite singer. Many would agree. On a personal note, he personally helped me with my Master's Thesis on Busoni's Doktor Faust, back in the 1970s, by which he personally sent me(tho he was busy performing at the Edinburgh Festival at the time!) a lengthy letter stating his opinions and insights on this 20th century masterwork. I am forever grateful and have his letter framed in my office. Now, the Schubert:

I am listening to disc 10 as I write this review. Surely DFD is the most-recorded singer of all time, of any genre! 21 CDs of fabulous music here alone! Surely this wonderful singer bears no comparisons in versatility. There may be warmer or more dramatic voices, but no one sings with more expression then DFD. This is, as others have stated, a recorded document of great historical significance. All lovers of great music and great singing should own this. The price may seem steep at first glance, but count the discs, then count the songs!! And mention should also be made of the redoubtable Gerald Moore, the prince of accompanists. He too is simply amazing! A plus all around. Recorded sound is first-rate. And booklets enclosed, commentaries and complete lyrics are most appreciated.

Thanks to DG for keeping this magnificent collection in print. May it ever remain so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing achievement, January 25, 2010
By 
S. Evans (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
The sound is glorious, the voice in great shape, and what comes through are the beautiful songs of Schubert in all their glory. This set is a sort of gold standard by which Schubert Lieder performances should be judged. Moore is exquisite, adding just the right weight and texture to the various songs, and Fischer-Dieskau brings his amazing insight into each of the songs. The thought that has gone into even the most minor song is what really sets this apart. And there is a perfection to the recorded sound that helps bring the words and music to life. Nothing stands in the way of the text and music. The set comes with complete translations of all the songs, which is a great bounus, although most of the songs and text are easily found online if you wish to follow the score. And two things for completists - this is not every Schubert song, but every song that's appropriate for a male voice, so there are many songs not included here. And on some of the songs, not every verse is sung. Still, those are minor quibbles with what to me stands as a landmark of Lieder recordings in every sense. Get this if you love Schubert, Fischer-Dieskau or the wonderful piano playing of Gerald Moore. A true education!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Recorded Male Lieder Singer Ever?, December 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
Along with Richard Fritz Wunderlich, whose voice was totally different but just as wonderful. Oops! I forgot Richard Tauber, another German phenom.

Dietrich and Elly Ameling are the two best "modern era" Schubert lieder singers. It's very interesting to note that, while superb lieder singers, neither had the incredibly powerful voices necessary to sing high opera with the best of opera singers. It's almost like there's a barrier between being a great lieder singer and a great opera singer --- based on the size of the hall for which the music is intended. The only exceptions I can think of are Fritz and Lotte Lehman, both of whom sang lieder with operatic voices but who were wonderful non the less.

I have both the earlier complete DGG recording on vinyl and this later recording on CD. While Dietrich's voice may have been more bright and fresh on the earlier recordings, I consider it to be more mature and far better on this recording, particularly his dark voice and phrasing. Also, he and Gerald Moore knew each other so well for this recording that they sing and play as one person. As an earlier poster said, one can not understate the importance of Gerald Moore in this collaboration.

Buy this immediately if you like Schubert Lieder. I got my copy of 21 discs for only $75 at Amazon's used website. The box was a little chewed up, but the CDs were in superb condition. It was one of the biggest steals in my record collecting history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Schubert Lieder Recordings, May 15, 2012
By 
Thin Man (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
The glowing 5-star reviews might sound like the standard hyperbole dished out too regularly at Amazon. But they are not. This is one of the best box sets I own (classical, rock and roll, jazz or blues). It might even be the best, and I'm stacking it up against the likes of John Coltrane and Miles Davis. I am not a Schubert or lieder connoisseur - though I've been sampling a lot of lieder lately - but I cannot stop listening to these recordings. I must be on my third or fourth run-through. I cannot imagine a better combination of composer, singer and pianist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a goldmine of sublime music, January 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
For many years, I have loved the Fischer-Dieskau recordings of Schubert's two best-known song cycles, "Die schone Mullerin" and "Wintereise," but as this 21-CD set reveals, there is so much more to be discovered! Truly a goldmine of some of the most sublime music ever written--and the performances are breathtaking. Fischer-Dieskau and his accompaniest Gerald Moor have made us a gift of incomparable beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This One or the Budget Version, February 22, 2014
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
Several have asked whether it's worth buying this iteration for the book ("booklet" doesn't accurately describe the 500-page publication). In my opinion, no. The delta is about $40. Instead, buy budget version for under $50, then get the John Reed book, "The Schubert Song Companion," for $22 here at Amazon, http://www.amazon.com/Schubert-Song-Companion-John-Reed/dp/1901341003/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393075359&sr=8-1&keywords=john+reed+schubert. The Reed book, while it doesn't provide the original German texts, does give a translation and the background to every song. The appendices alone are worth the price. And it is analysis of all the Schubert lieder, not "just" the ones written for male voice.

As this is nominally a review of the Fischer-Dieskau set and not the Reed book, I'll chime in with another five-star rating. Not a weak performance in all 21 discs. Not even a mediocre one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fischer-Dieskau and Moore, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
What's that? Schubert's Complete Lieder with Fischer-Dieskau and Moore? What Moore could one ask for? The answer is nothing, as these two fine young scholars present the greatest recording of Schubert's lieder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was a great album., April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Complete Schubert Lieder (Audio CD)
I have been collecting CD of Dietlich Fischer Diskau for a long time. This set includes all that I wanted.
I will be listening to it repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Schubert: Lieder (MP3 Music)
I gave this as a gift to my son in law and he loves it. Of all the things on his wish list he wanted this the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Complete Schubert Lieder
Complete Schubert Lieder by Franz Schubert (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.