Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Book on Shirley Collectbles
With apologies to Edward Pardella, whose book is excellent in its own right, I must say I am absolutely blown away by this volume. I sold off my collection several years ago--I only have one Shirley doll at this point. So I was not inclined to buy another book on the subject. But the amount of information presented in there is astonishing!!!! I especially liked the...
Published on July 22, 2006 by J. Anderson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Disappointed
This book has ALOT of information on most types of Shirley Temple memorabilia. For me, specifically, it was disappointing since it didn't have information on the one doll issue I was looking for - a particular doll that I remember as a child in the 60's. I'm beginning to think I imagined my doll!
Published 7 months ago by Charlotte Arzola


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Book on Shirley Collectbles, July 22, 2006
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
With apologies to Edward Pardella, whose book is excellent in its own right, I must say I am absolutely blown away by this volume. I sold off my collection several years ago--I only have one Shirley doll at this point. So I was not inclined to buy another book on the subject. But the amount of information presented in there is astonishing!!!! I especially liked the photos of the dolls being made (I KNEW it was a curling iron!!!), the restoration section [if only I had had that when I first started collecting--LOL!]. And the section on ST autographs, which was badly needed. Kudos to Tonya Cammeratta for what amounts to a true act of generosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful and valuable guide for Shirley Temple collectors!, July 2, 2006
By 
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
The word "complete" is a good one word description of this book. There are many details of every Shirley Temple doll imaginable from 1930s composition, 1950s vinyl, to contemporary Danbury mint dolls. There are foreign dolls too. All the outfits are thoroughly described and beautifully pictured. You will find extremely easy and useful tips about caring for your dolls and fixing them up. There are chapters that showcase paper dolls, other paper products, children's dresses, jewelry/accessories, and many other Shirley Temple items. The book is hardback. The layout, photography and text are pleasing to the eye and well organized. Tonya is very knowledgeable and shared a lot of time, effort and thought into making this an accurate and encompassing book. It will be helpful to Shirley Temple enthusiasts and to those looking for an approximate value of items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on this subject, June 14, 2007
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
This book is one of the best books on the subject of the Shirley Temple dolls (& other S.Temple Collectibles).
Written on quality paper with excellent photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Instant Classic!, December 3, 2006
By 
Yvonca (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
This book was a classic from the instant it was published. Simply stated, it is an invaluable reference for Shirley Temple Collectors. It is the only book on Shirley Temple dolls that I own and the only one that I could possibly conceive of ever needing. First of all, there are literally hundreds of beautiful color photos, and it is chock full of useful information. It is so interesting to see the dolls from some of the biggest collectors in the world. Even collectors of other types of dolls will appreciate the very helpful section on restoration techniques. Tonya very generously shares all of the details on improving the looks of a doll from styling the hair to cleaning the clothes to repairing the composition. It is worth the price of the book for this one chapter alone. Every Shirley Temple doll from the very first prototypes right up to current issues are included, along with those from other countries, copies by other doll companies, all the clothing and other types of memorbilia and collectibles. Even people who don't collect dolls at all will enjoy looking at all of the photos of the different Shirley Temples, but for a collector it is simply indispensible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review-The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls And Collectibles: Identification & Value Guide (Identification & Values (Colle, June 27, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
Great pics of Shirley Temple Dolls & memorabilia organized by years-very thorough and helpful since I am a Shirley collector. Additionally, great tips on improving the looks of the dolls. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Shirley Temple collectibles guide, July 8, 2006
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
This is by far the most comprehensive, detailed, and accurate Shirley Temple collectibles guide ever written. It is well-organized with hundreds of bright, clear photographs to help you identify and price your Shirley items. The book covers composition dolls, vinyl dolls, look-alikes, foreign dolls, and modern dolls. It also covers collectible items both new and old. There are many things I have not seen before. She also wrote a truly helpful section on restoring both compo and vinyl dolls. The book ends with some touching stories, an inventory list, and some great contact info. This big, hardcover book is a fabulous reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SHIRLEY TEMPLE GUIDE EVER WRITTEN!, July 3, 2006
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
Bravo to the author! Finally, a Shirley Temple Guide that is extremely well organized, loaded with detailed information and 100's of beautiful photographs. This beautifully put together book is by far the best I've ever seen! This book was professionally done from cover to cover. It is not just an identification & price guide but also includes detailed photos and information on caring for and repairing your Shirley Temple dolls along with lots of history on Shirley's life. I highly recommend buying this book - you will be extremely pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the market!!!, July 3, 2006
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
I have stopped looking for a Shirley Temple book on this fascinating star ,after buying this 368 page beautifully illustrated ,full texted book!!! The information is easy to find,the clothing of these gorgeous dolls are stunning; rare costumes,dolls and merchandise is well -represented .Every known item and other items not known,presented for the first time , can be found in this fascinating book. I stayed up until the early hours,reading this book; there is so much valuable information !!! Planning on buying a valuable price guide,want to learn how to make your Shiley look her best , to clothe her in the right costume or dress,plus learn the fabulous history of the greatest child star ever? This is the one book to buy!!! I highly recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The compleat guide to Shirley Temple dolls and Collectibles, May 12, 2007
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
I found this book to be very helpfull in finding what I needed to know on the dolls and clothes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT book for Shirley Temple collectors!, July 15, 2006
By 
edna (Fayette City, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books)) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent 368 page book with detailed descriptions and full color photos of Shirley dolls with their outfits, paper products, clothing & accessories, along with many miscellaneous collectible items. Unique chapters show step by step restoration techniques for composition & vinyl dolls with lots of pictures describing the process! The book also includes a wonderful inventory of Shirley items in the back. This book is a must for any Shirley collector!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Complete Guide to Shirley Temple Dolls and Collectibles (Identification & Values (Collector Books))
Used & New from: $12.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.