Customer Reviews


493 Reviews
5 star:
 (339)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THESE, TRUST ME.
ok, so if you are reading this then you probably did what I did. I read through hundreds of ratings from hundreds of different wii cables that said 'DO NOT BUY THESE THEY ARE BAD', ETC. I finally just was like 'forget it, i'm going to buy these cheap ones and see what happens.'

THESE CABLES ARE AWESOME! The sound comes in crystal clear, the picture looks...
Published on August 18, 2011 by gleng

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a piece of junk...
I tried this on 3 different televisions... Didn't work on ANY of them. I kept getting nothing but Black/White picture.
Not a lot of $$$ wasted. But, the frustration of waiting for it, then it not working...
Published 15 months ago by Phill


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THESE, TRUST ME., August 18, 2011
By 
gleng (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Component AV Cable for Nintendo Wii to HDTV (Video Game)
ok, so if you are reading this then you probably did what I did. I read through hundreds of ratings from hundreds of different wii cables that said 'DO NOT BUY THESE THEY ARE BAD', ETC. I finally just was like 'forget it, i'm going to buy these cheap ones and see what happens.'

THESE CABLES ARE AWESOME! The sound comes in crystal clear, the picture looks amazing on my 60" LED SAMSUNG. I highly recommend these cables. The saying is true, sometimes cheaper is better!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It gets the job done, June 1, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have an HD TV, get these cables. It cleans up the color quality and you'll be playing games in 480p. Without this cable, games tend to look dark on HD TVs. This cable brightens things up a bit. Don't expect XBOX 360 video quality because the Wii does not support HD. Wii games are not formatted to run on HD. Another thing. At first, I had a bit of a hard time inserting the cable in the Wii. It was a tight fit, so be careful not to damage your Wii's cable input. As you insert the cable, gently wiggle your way in. Do the same when removing the cable. Usually goes in or out easily if you do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cable is better than expectd, August 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Something not mentioned in the reviews was that when viewing Netflix through the Wii, the movie is brighter than with the old cable. Previously, some movies were so dark you couldn't see them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enhance your Wii's video output - but only a little, October 28, 2013
By 
S. Melvin (I'll give you three guesses) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Component AV Cable for Nintendo Wii to HDTV (Video Game)
If you've downloaded and started using the Wii to play videos (Netflix, Amazon, etc), you will notice that the output isn't always great - often blurry and if there is fast movement, lots of "ripping and tearing." That is because the cables that come with the Wii (red, white, yellow) only allow 480i output. The "i" is for interlaced, which means that all the even lines are drawn first, then all the odd lines, until all 480 lines are drawn. This often causes flickering and other anomalies, which can be overcome with better cables.

These cables provide you the ability to display your Wii at 480p. The "p" is for progressive-scan, which means that each line is drawn in order, which generally translates into a much smoother and clearer picture. That is very important when you are watching movies that have fast action sequences or light/dark spots, as it will draw them as it was initially intended You will still get ONLY 480 lines, but you should notice a difference in the picture quality. This is accomplished by dividing the "yellow" connector on the original cable into the three colors (Red, Green, Blue) on the component cable. The Red/White (left/right audio) cables remain the same.

This will not give you HD quality video out of the Wii - sorry, not possible. It will, however, alleviate some of the weird anomalies many have reported seeing when watching movies on the Wii and if you happen to be playing a video game, you'll get better picture there too. Additionally, if you happen to have your Wii plugged into a HDTV, you can also change the screen aspect from 4:3 to 16:9. That will help "stretch" the video to your screen size and should result in fewer "big heads"...a result of your TV attempting to stretch the movie to your screen, but doing a poor job at it.

One caveat - make sure you set the Wii to display 16:9 after you install the new cable. Your Wii will blank out if you still have the old cable in and attempt to change it to 480p with 16:9 before putting in the new cable. It is a bit annoying, but could alleviate the "man, they sent me bad cables" fiasco. Success is in your sights - just follow the steps properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, can be split to reach an amp, January 4, 2010
By 
Jason C. Cox (Albuquerque, NM USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this specific component Wii cable because it looks like the cables can be separated to reach my TV and the amplifier that is about 2 feet away. There is a little piece of plastic that keeps the cable from being separated too far, but you can carefully cut this off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why wouldn't you get one of these?, May 19, 2010
By 
Ninjaneer (Space Coast, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No issues. Works. Noticeable improvement in image quality. Didn't pay attention to the exact length, but it's somewhere between 4 to 5 feet long. With shipping and handling, still less than the other listings. Made by Nintendo--can't go wrong. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Component Cables for WII, February 8, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The cables work great! Was a little leary when the price of the cables were only $3 but thought I woud give them a try. Glad I did! I wasn't looking for any improved video or sound, just wanted to connect my WII up to the new TV. Product arrived at my house in 7 days just as promised; just a quick plug in and was up and running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economical Wii investment, February 1, 2010
By 
M. Cruz (Naperville, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like so many people who searched for a HD cable for the Wii I was flooded with different manufactures and sellers, of which only the expensive ones were reviewed. I looked for the cheapest cable that looked well manufactured, i.e. a thick coaxial line from the connector to the adapter.

When the product came in I was happy to see that it looked like what was in the pictures and after installation worked fine. Since the Wii isn't HD or anything over 480i I wasn't able to determine if the full capabilities of the cable are being used.

Overall, shipping was within the week, product works great, and the price was cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Component cable works very good and a great price., March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Component AV Cable for Nintendo Wii to HDTV (Video Game)
The component cable works better than the standard single video input cable that comes with the Wii. I noticed an improvement when streaming the same show on Netflix through the Wii (I compard the standard cable and component cable on the same show and noticed an improvement in picture quality.)

Sharper image when you set your Wii to 480p instead of 480i. The standard Wii setting is 480i. Go into your Wii settings and change the setting to 480p so you can get the most out of the component cable.

Still not as good as HD, but the Wii is not capable of 720p or 1080p, so this is as good as it gets. Very good item and a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a piece of junk..., August 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Component AV Cable for Nintendo Wii to HDTV (Video Game)
I tried this on 3 different televisions... Didn't work on ANY of them. I kept getting nothing but Black/White picture.
Not a lot of $$$ wasted. But, the frustration of waiting for it, then it not working...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Component AV Cable for Nintendo Wii to HDTV
$5.20 $4.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.