Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book sure to inspire even the youngest reader to create their own stew!
What a unique an engaging book! The illustrations are fascinating and I really loved the rhymes. It's not often that an alphabet book flows along so seamlessly, especially one that tackles such a unique subject. This works well as a read aloud and I think would be even better with one on one sharing so everyone can fully enjoy the captivating illustrations. This is a...
Published on May 1, 2010 by J.Prather

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for country kids
This book may be ok for kids who know nothing about composting but it was a big disappoitment to my grandkids and I.
Published 17 months ago by Beverly Whitmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book sure to inspire even the youngest reader to create their own stew!, May 1, 2010
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
What a unique an engaging book! The illustrations are fascinating and I really loved the rhymes. It's not often that an alphabet book flows along so seamlessly, especially one that tackles such a unique subject. This works well as a read aloud and I think would be even better with one on one sharing so everyone can fully enjoy the captivating illustrations. This is a perfect choice for any preschool or kindergarten classroom looking to introduce environmental issues and activities, since creating a compost stew is something anyone can do! A huge recommend both for the text and illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a marvelously ingenious way to teach everyone many things about composting the easy way!, October 14, 2010
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
The compost bin is open and ready to accept a few additions so "environmental chefs" can whip up some "Compost Stew." Get ready to listen, and you'll find a list of ingredients from A to Z that are just perfect for Compost Stew. A young girl with a gorgeous mane of curly red hair has apple cores, a dalmatian is running with bruised bananas, and a goose has coffee grounds still in their paper filter. "Dirt clods, crumbled / Eggshells, crushed / Fruit pulp left behind, all mushed / Grass clippings / Hair snippings / and an Insect or two." There are many interesting ingredients in the stew that you might not think of.

Into the pot everything goes. It's all mixed together and will eventually rot and turn into Compost Stew. You might think of saving jack-o'-lanterns, but how about the lint that has collected in your dryer trap? A little dab of oatmeal will work and even seaweed is welcome into the bin. "Just add to the pot / and let it all rot / into Compost Stew." There are so many things that can be used in the bin that will eventually turn into rich soil. Can you think of anything that could be added to your bin to make Compost Stew?

This book is a marvelously ingenious way to teach everyone many things about composting the easy way. The "instructions" are very easy and fun to follow as this ABC story in rhyme wends its way through the pages showing us many things that can be composted. Many more young people are interested in doing their share to help create a better Earth and composting is not only educational, but a lot of fun. There are several instructional books available, but this one is perfect for the youngest gardeners. They will not only listen and learn, they will also have some great visual artwork to learn from. If you are thinking about how you will teach your children to appreciate the Earth, this book is probably one you are going to add to your list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teach kids... while you learn, too!, August 4, 2012
By 
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
This rhyming book makes it easy to learn what goes into the compost pile. It goes through the alphabet with things you can add - from "Apple cores" and "Bananas, bruised" all the way to "Zinnia heads whose blooming days are through". The illustrations are really adorable, too.

There's also an additional block of text at the back that explains composting (more for older kids, or for adults who'd like more info). :)

My sister purchased this for our son when he was a year old, and he loved it then. He's almost 3 now, and still asks for it regularly. It is a HUGE hit with both the kids & the moms at our preschool co-op.

If something happened to our copy, I would purchase it again in a heartbeat. It's that good. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for Earth Day, every day of the year!, April 24, 2014
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
Ashley Wolff’s engaging collage illustrations are a delight. She is a very talented illustrator. Mary McKenna Siddals writes the A to Z recipe of what can go into a compost, including “grass clippings, hair snippings, and an insect or two.” She cleverly weaves the compost recipe into the rhyming text.

Compost Stew is a perfect book to celebrate Earth Day, every day. The book serves as a fantastic introduction to composting, especially if you would like to try it with your children this spring. There’s also a little note at the back of the book about what’s not fit for the compost. I always found my primary school students to be eager environmentalists whenever we talked about earth-friendly activities. Composting their food scraps made more sense than putting more garbage into the landfills.

Giselle Shardlow
Kids Yoga Stories
Author of several yoga stories, including Sophia's Jungle Adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compost Stew, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
This was a great book for the young kids just starting out. The format was excellant and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whimsical and Informative, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
I am a preschool teacher and I bought this book to use with my Earth Day themed curriculum. It is a fun read with wonderful, bright illustrations. It is informative as well. It was a great find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Child Care Director, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
We love this book. Great rhyme with alphabetical compost materials. The preschoolers are still asking to read it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!!!!, August 28, 2011
By 
C. D. Hill (Lafayette, California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
A book to educate and charm children through adults about composting. As a teacher, I am always looking for books to enlighten, inspire and enrich the minds of my students ... and me as well. If a book doesn't "grab" me, then I cannot consider introducing it to my students. This book completely "grabbed" me and I will continue to share this book with my students, and their parents, for many years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informational, April 11, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
This is a simple, yet very well written alphabet book packed with tons of information about composting. My students and I have just started composting at our school, and this was one of our sources. I did not rely on this exclusively, of course, but used it as a starting point. They have returned to it several times this year, and will be reading it to the younger students. This should definitely be in one of your classroom library baskets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars informative and fun, July 2, 2010
By 
Beverly Wells (Tallahassee, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Compost Stew (Hardcover)
Our school has gardens and compost bins so this was a great find for the early childhood classrooms. The illustrations are colorful and continue the theme of earth friendly practices by recycling materials into bright collage. The rhyme and rhythm of the text holds everything together. A delightful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Compost Stew
Compost Stew by Mary McKenna Siddals (Hardcover - March 23, 2010)
$15.99 $11.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.