Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reference book for the original volume
This book is a slimmed down version of the original book, which I also own. It is paperback, 4.5 in X 6.5 in, and 195 pages, versus the original, which was 9 in x 6.5 in and 452 pages.

What it leaves out: All of the historical anecdotes and extensive examples of each law.

What it leaves in: The law, the Judgement (a short description), the Keys to...
Published on January 29, 2005 by David Witt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiny print. Best for schemers and manipulators.
If you're a "do what you love and the money will follow" enthusiast, this book will turn your stomach.

If you're ready to do anything at all, even compromising your values (if you have any) to get ahead, this book is what you're looking for. Waste no time clicking the button to buy this. It's easily one of the very best books for getting ahead in...
Published 13 months ago by Aisling D'Art


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reference book for the original volume, January 29, 2005
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
This book is a slimmed down version of the original book, which I also own. It is paperback, 4.5 in X 6.5 in, and 195 pages, versus the original, which was 9 in x 6.5 in and 452 pages.

What it leaves out: All of the historical anecdotes and extensive examples of each law.

What it leaves in: The law, the Judgement (a short description), the Keys to Power (the author's direct description of the law and its consequences), the Image (a symbolic representation of the law), and the Authority (a supporting quotation). This book also has some of the stories that were printed in the margins in the original book.

I loved the original book, which typical had three or four long anecdotes, stories or historical references to illustrate each law. This book is useful as a easy-to-carry reference to the laws now that I have read the original. If, however, you really want to learn these laws, I recommend the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential survival kit for the naive, April 6, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
Excellent book which is a must for everyone who are spectacular failures in all walks of life. In this book you will certainly find the answers for your failure to attain your potential .It is more than likely that you are violating one or more of these laws and / or you are not following the 48 excellent laws of Power.
The ancient wisdom is distilled in a clear and racy format which keeps your attention through out. Only regret that I did not find this book earlier. Brazenly honest book with none of the idealistic crap. A book to be lived by! for survival and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work like a CEO or Politician, May 20, 2008
By 
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
This is a guidebook for the ruthless careerist type. Is that you? If so, read the book. If not, beware of how they operate - read the book to avoid being a tool. It definitely DOES contain outstanding advice for dealing with people, regardless of who you are.

There is one law for each chapter. Each 3-5 page chapter states a law of power, explains it, then gives a few examples. It also tries (and fails in my opinion) to create a visual image for each law. Most of the examples are taken from Renaissance or ancient Chinese times, which most readers will have difficulty relating to. If there is a new edition, it could be vastly improved by using modern-day character examples from business or government.

The book is easily readable. The short chapters make it ideal to read when time is limited, e.g. commuting, waiting, etc. While almost all the chapters are surely relevant, it would be a bit difficult to keep all 48 in mind when confronting each situation. So, it's a bit overwhelming. Also, I think to really integrate these laws into everyday behaviors, a reader would have to practice or attend a workshop. Visually, the book is extremely dull - only 1 photo of the author. Any new edition would need serious visual re-design - fonts, colors, real images, etc.

This book is invaluable for aspiring executives. (It's probably required reading at intensely competitive schools like wharton, Harvard, etc. If not, it should be.) Having deduced many of these laws through firsthand work experience before reading this book, I absolutely agree with almost all of the laws the book states. The main caveat is that readers shouldn't expect to be able to apply every one of the 48 laws appropriately to all situations - at least not without a lot of practice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tiny print. Best for schemers and manipulators., August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
If you're a "do what you love and the money will follow" enthusiast, this book will turn your stomach.

If you're ready to do anything at all, even compromising your values (if you have any) to get ahead, this book is what you're looking for. Waste no time clicking the button to buy this. It's easily one of the very best books for getting ahead in business.

Yes, the print is tiny. That's okay if you want to keep this in a jacket pocket, backpack, attache, or hidden in your desk or locker. In fact, the size of this book makes it ideal for anyone who'll want to refer to it regularly throughout the day... without co-workers noticing. (The red cover wasn't an ideal choice, but you can always cover it with an old-school book cover.)

Sure, if you have scruples, the advice in this book is appalling. Things like not letting your boss know how bright and clever you really are... so you're not perceived as a threat to his (or her) job, until it's too late for your boss to do anything about it.

That is the tip of the iceberg. In fact, the author opens with that kind of advice, building up to more devious tactics.

If you're looking for the very best, tried-and-true Machiavellian ways to lie, cheat, and (maybe) steal your way to the top -- and you didn't learn enough from Othello's Iago -- this is the book you want. It's loaded with tips, background information, and pithy quotations so you'll feel like these are venerable business practices.

(I could counter that by saying -- in true hippie style -- two things: 1) Karma!, and 2) What goes around, comes around, so watch your back if you rise to the top following the advice in this book.)

For many of us who wouldn't think about doing half of what's in this book, it's kind of stomach-turning. Yes, we know we may lose opportunities to people who play by the rules (or lack of them) in this book. It's okay. We'll sleep better at night.

If you're laughing as you read this, thinking, "That poor, deluded, excessively idealistic woman...," you will love every morsel of advice in this book. In fact, buy two copies, because you'll wear out the pages of the first copy.

Me...? I'm keeping this book as a writing reference. When I need a sleazy character, or someone who will reform in the course of my story, this is an ideal guide to understand his characters and the things he might do, on his way to redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Have Replaced This Book 3 Times.., March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
This book was the backbone structure to lectures on leadership for Bible students. I found much more wonderful qualities and understanding of leadership within these pages than many other books. There are rough tones and kind tones through out. Yet each point is made perfectly clear. There is indeed power to written words. Why I need to replace this book? I use some of the understandings when dealing with certain personalities. These people want to know where They too can gain a good understanding. I recommend highly the full trio of this authors work. I have yet to consider the "50th law of Power". I keep close the other books calling them my "War Manuals". To understand others, is to succeed in self. I do not recommend the concise. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great literature, July 7, 2004
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
In a nutshell, this book is like Machiavelli, without the boring context. This is a short-cut for historians. I was a history major and I am learning more about history, to include amusing anectdotes, than I did in college. In other words, this book makes history relevant, which is difficult. Maybe someday the author could make a boring subject like math relevent too. Every page oozes with wisdom, in my opininion. I have a very fast paced job and I learned a lot of these lessons the hard way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared, June 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
Like it or not, people get more and more pragmatic in their everyday moral behaviour, so chances are high that you will be confronted with one or more of the 48 Laws of Power sooner or later. Don't let yourself be fooled by Christian rhetorics. Hypocrisy is now the standard -- if it wasn't already through the times. If you want to be wise and just, reading the 48 Laws of Power will help you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get beyond the gangsters and gather the gold from great minds, November 7, 2013
By 
Allen Baird (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
This book has been out for so long now that there seems little point in adding to the multitude of reviews. However, I want to for two reasons. (1) Judging from the review content of those who have given it a low number of stars, it sticks me that they don't know what they're talking about. (2) I gained great nourishment from 48 LoP and would like to encourage others to share in the feast.

The associations with gangsters and manipulative techniques put people off it. The first is the fault of the book's publishers who saw this as a selling point, albeit a misleading one. Gangsters are 'sexy' and sex sells. The second is to underestimate the book's guiding spirit, Nicholo Machiavelli, who was not some immoral fiend but a diplomat and political philosopher of the highest order.

Better reasons to regard the book negatively are the clichés and contradictions it seems to contain. Laws such as "play a sucker to catch a sucker" (21) and "despise the free lunch" (40) seem like truisms or the folk wisdom of some annoying, smart-arse uncle. I counsel patience here; read the content first.

As for the contradictions, how can you "make your accomplishments seem effortless" (30) while at the same time never appearing too perfect (48)? Or how could you "use selective honesty" (12) while keeping your hands clean (26) and guarding your reputation with your life (5)? But remember, Greene is not presenting us with some system here, some self-contained method that breaks if you foil any single part. It is rather a tool kit. A wrench does not 'contradict' a hammer. They perform different functions at different times for different people. So it is here.

The main point I want to stress is the quality of Greene's sources. Yes, we have the usual suspects of Sun-tzu and von Clausewitz, beloved of management gurus everywhere. But here we find classical authors like Tacitus and Plutarch, Renaissance men like da Vinci and Montaigne, and even philosophers like Nietzsche and Schopenhauer. These people are not self-help authors or second hand car salesmen. There is also an attractive smattering of African, European and eastern fables to add some spice. The ideas derived from such sources make up the bulk and thrust of the book. There is enough substance for those with brains to read.

As for the charge of immorality and manipulation, please use your words carefully. Greene, as with Machiavelli before him, gives advice from an amoral perspective i.e. looking at what works in the real world as opposed to an ideal utopia in which everyone plays by the laws of nice. Here, our goal should not be mere amiability but efficiency and effectiveness. Indeed, the other great spirit behind Greens work is Balthasar Gracian, a cleric no less, who described his advice as "worldly wisdom" and who criticised Machiavelli in another work ('The Hero').

So if you are sickened with the kind of self-help type literature that is chock-full of shallow sentiment or iffy science, i.e. approximately 90% of it, then please recline here instead. You will find a little oasis of quality company with which to converse, without a Notorious or Biggie in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !!!, June 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
Lots of Knowledge in this book wish i would bought earlier in Life, A must get & read, Very Good !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise 48 Laws of Power (Paperback)
Great but I don't know if it even got there yet .. Because my hubby has not told me yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Concise 48 Laws of Power
Concise 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene (Paperback - 2002)
Used & New from: $5.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.