Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love my spiral-bound APA pocket guide
There are several reasons I love this reference guide:
1. It is spiral-bound, so I can leave it open at any page i wish without worrying it will close.
2. It is small and fits in my laprop case.
3. It literally lists every possible type of citation.
Published on April 5, 2012 by N.S.

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware. 1st printing 'minor' typos
According to the APA website, the 1st printing of the Concise Rules has 'minor' typos. I have just gone through a tedious process, over about 3 hours, noting corrections for 'minor' typos in the APA Publication Manual, 6th edition, first printing. I ordered the Concise Rules but will return in to the sender, if it is a 1st printing. The APA web site states that the main...
Published on October 29, 2010 by Annette Knobloch


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware. 1st printing 'minor' typos, October 29, 2010
By 
Annette Knobloch (Thibodaux, LA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
According to the APA website, the 1st printing of the Concise Rules has 'minor' typos. I have just gone through a tedious process, over about 3 hours, noting corrections for 'minor' typos in the APA Publication Manual, 6th edition, first printing. I ordered the Concise Rules but will return in to the sender, if it is a 1st printing. The APA web site states that the main errors are in the sample papers, in the Manual, and that the other errors are minor. There are multiple minor errors that are very tedious to deal with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacking, November 5, 2010
By 
Robert Forney (Pacifica, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
This book is great for someone who is familiar with APA, but if you are just learning, I would look for another book as this one can be difficult to navigate and lacks any visual examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better to buy the APA Publication Manual, August 5, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Baldwinsville, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
I found this completely useless for writing papers and had to buy the APA Publication Manual. This is coming from a new graduate student who was trying to learn to write APA style. If that is your purpose for buying this manual, stick with the blue APA Publication Manual. I could find no use for this condensed version and it never had information that was relevant to writing my papers correctly.

I did think the size and spiral binding was kind of handy, if only the information inside was useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can find APA info more easily on the internet, December 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
You are better off using univeristy-based APA style guides on the web. I own this book and have barely cracked it, as it is much easier to find the individual entry types on the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love my spiral-bound APA pocket guide, April 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
There are several reasons I love this reference guide:
1. It is spiral-bound, so I can leave it open at any page i wish without worrying it will close.
2. It is small and fits in my laprop case.
3. It literally lists every possible type of citation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise is right, January 24, 2011
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
Although this book is a handy tool to have, it can be confusing as a guide. I really thought I would be getting more citation examples than offered. I was hoping for an in depth citation example for each type of source, and although I got numerous citation examples, I still felt the book was somewhat lacking. I should have purchased the more complete guide, but if you are looking for a handy quick reference tool, then this is great deal. I just didn't realize at the time of purchase. It also includes instructions on grammar and writing style as well as table headings and more. So from that aspect, I'm very satisfied. I would have rated this 5 stars, but I just didn't realize what I was buying. It is a good quick reference tool though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars APA Manual, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
This was a required book for one of my college classes. I have used several older versions of this manual, but this is the most recent version. In my opinion, this version is less clearly organized than older versions. While the information you need can be found, it can take more time than I think it should because of the way the book is put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More manageable, October 26, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
Concise rules of APA style is more manageable in a physical sense, than the entire APA Publication Manual. It is also probably just as useful for most people, as the bigger more expensive Publication Manual. Speedy service from Amazon and good value - for all the Australian online shoppers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright., September 11, 2014
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
This is just okay! I would just fork over the money for the regular edition. There's a lot of stuff that is left out that I felt like I needed for my papers. I wish they had put a miniature picture of how the title page is supposed to look. Some of the frustration I had was with my professors themselves because they all seem to interpret the APA rules differently or like to put their own spin on them. In a pinch and for financial reasons, the concise version is fine. It has still been helpful. Good Luck with your papers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I's love to get one paper with a 100% on this ..., November 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) (Spiral-bound)
It's helpful, but, I'm having to keep it open to the page for setting up for my paragraphs, Step 1, Step 2, and so on. I'm also having a little trouble with the new system for References. I can't seem to get it right. And, of course it lowers my grades. I hope I can get things straight by the end of my semester. I's love to get one paper with a 100% on this part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style)
Concise Rules of APA Style (Concise Rules of the American Psychological Association (APA) Style) by American Psychological Association (Spiral-bound - July 15, 2009)
$29.95 $22.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.