Professional restaurant supplies BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 15, 2006
Iam actually surprise at the lack of reviews on this another masterpiece from the one and only Monty Alexander.The music is conservative and stays true to the original spirit but with a new flavour and style.Great artist,great musicians,excellent song selections and we have another masterpiece...highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2007
I never knew a whole lot about Monty Alexander other than he's played with Sinatra and Dizzy and the bunch. But this album....well, after hearing it on HD TV, I was actually late for work because I had to go order it immediately. Great versions of Marley songs which are always simple and pleasant to the ears. Especially the version of "forever lovin' Jah." Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2008
I heard this compilation at a friend's house a few weeks before and decided that I had to have it. This is not my first Monty Alexander compilation, so again I'm not disappointed. A collector's item indeed!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2006
If anyone is entitled to reinterpret Bob Marley's music, it's fellow Kingstonian Monty Alexander. For this, his second outright tribute to the reggae king (the first being 1999's Stir It Up), Alexander went down to the studio where he himself first recorded at the age of fifteen, the same studio that Marley bought near the end of his own life and rechristened Tuff Gong, and with the help of a batch of locals and N'Orleans trombonist Delfeayo Marsalis, locked into a steady pulse on this set of Marley compositions. It's an attractive undertaking, smoothing out the rough edges of the composer's rebel spirit while deconstructing the simple but irresistible melodies. Marsalis marches "Simmer Down" through the French Quarter and the Rod Dennis Mento Band takes it loosely to the streetcorner on "Three Little Birds," but most of this CD is firmly rooted in mellow, groove-happy Trenchtown rock.

---Originally published in Port Folio Weekly - March 28, 2006

copyright © 2006 Port Folio Weekly. Used by Permission.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
This CD brings to mind the unforgettable melodies that uplift some truly great Marley songs. I am totally buzzed by this awesome group of compositions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
Really great, classic Bob Marley music. Love this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2006
Monty Alexander has done it again,a must have album for every

fan.One of my favourite is track five "Babylon System"Monty shows why he is so pivotal to Jamaican music.

Keith. Florida
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2007
excellent CD; love it play it at least twice a week; its on my ipod! great beat and rhythm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
Great Album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2014
I pick a new favorite every time I listen to the cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.