Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very strong follow-up to METAL HEALTH
Condition Critical was Quiet Riot's follow-up to their multi million selling METAL HEALTH record. This record sold decent, about 1.5 million in the states, but not nearly as much as its precedor. I do feel, however, that this album is superior to METAL HEALTH. I still dont' have the CD, only the vinyl, but it is great. the first side is great. Sign of the Times,...
Published on June 1, 1999 by Jon Harlson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ironic title
Somewhere underneath the mountain of cocaine there is a good album in here. I like the title track quite a bit, the rest have good ideas that were simply rushed to finish, and over engineered at the sound board. "Stomp Your Hands, Clap Your Feet," big band jazz songs had these goofy titles, so this is just another rollicking good time. Slade cover #2: this is such a...
Published 9 months ago by S. Mehaffey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very strong follow-up to METAL HEALTH, June 1, 1999
By 
Jon Harlson (Naperville, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
Condition Critical was Quiet Riot's follow-up to their multi million selling METAL HEALTH record. This record sold decent, about 1.5 million in the states, but not nearly as much as its precedor. I do feel, however, that this album is superior to METAL HEALTH. I still dont' have the CD, only the vinyl, but it is great. the first side is great. Sign of the Times, Party All Night, and Winners Take All are among the highlights. The second side has 2 great catchy songs: Red Alert and We were born to Rock. However, you can't forget the "hidden gem" on this record, which is the title track. If you are a fan of early 80s commercial metal, and you liked the songs on METAL HEALTH, pick this one up. You are in for a real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, November 29, 1999
By 
Bryan S. Sampsel (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
This was the album that got me into heavy metal.
I have yet to hear its equal in the area it was intended to fill...having fun and rocking out. No power-ballads. No posturing. Just fun.
This is one of the heaviest Metal albums ever done...it's showing its age now, the mixes weren't has bass-heavy as their newer stuff (or the rest of rock-n-roll)...but it's held up well.
Their live performance this summer was good too. This album rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metal Health Pt.2, December 4, 2007
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
Quiet Riot's 4th album albeit uninspired and rushed is actually fairly decent 80's metal and it's ashame that it takes so much crap from critics. While basically nothing more then an almost direct copy of Metal Health, they even went so far as to include another Slade cover, but honestly let's face it, Quiet Riot were never that strong writing songs anyway, they had maybe 4 good songs on each album, and the rest is filler (yes even Metal Health and their RR era albums). However, it's still some great party rock with some pretty memorable tracks.

As many know, this was written and recorded fast to capitalize on the overnight success of their previous album. Despite being rushed, the production is actually alright and the album sounds quite good. While the cover of "Mama Weer All Crazee Now" is ok to listen to, it's overall pretty irritating and I could do without it on this album. The more competent well written songs on here would have to be the excellent title track, "Sign Of The Times", "Party All Night", and even though it's a ballad, "Winners Take All" comes off quite nicely. The band appears to be pretty top notch on these songs, and it makes it an enjoyable album. The remaining 6 tracks are more or less filler, with the exception of "Stomp Your Hands, Clap Your Feet" despite having one of the worst titles I've ever heard in my life, and a stupid chorus is actually musically pretty well written with some nice riffs. "Scream And Shout" is also pretty upbeat and still slightly musically competent, but "Red Alert", "Bad Boy", and "(We Were) Born To Rock" are just there, they don't contain many memorable parts, and easily get boring, they have potential, but suffer from the rushing and lack of involvement from all band members. Essentially, this is the LAST good Quiet Riot album of the 80's, if your a fan of Metal Health I suggest getting it, but don't expect anything to knock you over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic metal from '84, October 7, 2002
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
I was playing some metal albums with a friend of mine one afternoon. We played some classic stuff: Zeppelin, Scorpions, Aerosmith, Judas Priest. Then I pulled out this record. My friend was laughing when I put it on. He shut up after it started playing. Quiet Riot has taken a bad rap for years. The truth is, they were great. This album is better then "Metal Health". It sounds like Quiet Riot had become a better band. They were a good unit. Kevin Dubrow could be an ..., but he does have a set of pipes. Frankie Banali and Rudy Sarzo are pretty good. Quiet Riot was a good party band, and holds up better then anything the late 80's produced. If you like Scorpions and Judas Priest, You will love Quiet Riot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 80's metal from Quiet Riot, November 11, 2003
By 
"kaluahjeff" (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
Quite possibly one of their best albums, Condition Critical is a great album that preaches a party atmosphere and good times. As one of the reviewers here stated, there are songs on this album that are uplifting and make you wanna sing along and jump around like "Party All Night" and then songs that are darker. This is a great album to listen to while you drive, i'd suggest you get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a definite classic., June 28, 2005
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
Quiet Riot's 84 release is a combination of metal and good times. standout tracks are "Sign Of The Times" a cover of Slade's "Mama Weer All Crazee Now", "Stomp Your Hands, Clap Your Feet", and the title track. the burning question is, where are you guys?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy 80s Metal At It's Best, June 25, 2002
By 
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
Let me start this out with a warning. I LOVE cheesey 80s metal. If you do not, then this album probaby isn't for you. The lyrics are rather vacant, but fun. The guitar and bass playing are indicative of the vituosity prevalent throughout this period of music. Quiot Riot's breakout album was Metal Health and while that ablum has all of the radio hits everyone knows, Condition Critical is QR's crowing acheivement.
I bought this cd when I'd finally worn out the tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE METAL 80'S ALBUM!!!, September 14, 2001
By 
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
This album was, with "1984" by Van Halen, the most important hard rock albums of that year. DuBrow's vocals, Cavazo's riffs, Banali's and Sarzo's works are great. "Mama weer all crazee now" it's one of the best covers, "Stomp your hands..... and "Scream and shout" have a powerfull drum work by Frankie Banali and Carlos Cavazo, for me, the best riffs in all Quiet Riot albums. If you like the 80's hard rock and metal, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite riot rocks!!!, October 24, 2005
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
Man this group is way before my time but all you people that can't dig really good metal are missing out. I first heard this stuff in my uncle's trans-am with the windows down and his girlfriend yelling at him: turn that down! And the more she yelled at him to turn it down the more he turned the volume nob to the right!

"Cum on feel the noize" is eaisly the greatest rock song ever wrote in history! Period.

This is like rock n roll- totally. Don't miss out and dig it at loud volume and make your life a party 365 day of the year!! Metal forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ironic title, November 17, 2013
This review is from: Condition Critical (Audio CD)
Somewhere underneath the mountain of cocaine there is a good album in here. I like the title track quite a bit, the rest have good ideas that were simply rushed to finish, and over engineered at the sound board. "Stomp Your Hands, Clap Your Feet," big band jazz songs had these goofy titles, so this is just another rollicking good time. Slade cover #2: this is such a conscious attempt at duplicating their debut, even down to the almost identical ballad. After selling six million copies of "Metal Health" they should have taken their time for the follow up, like maybe two years. Def Leppard took what, five to follow up "Pyromania?" Putting this out when it so obviously wasn't ready ended up being a disaster; it's too bad, because "Metal Health" was a new sound. Believe it, DuBrow's abrasive vocal style was just what adolescent teens were feeling in 1983; when I first heard DuBrow and Blackie I wasn't sure they could even sing, which was the whole point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Condition Critical
Condition Critical by Quiet Riot
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.