Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, very easy
This is a really nice book that our prof used for my psych methodology course at college; I found it really easy to read and understand but at the same time it makes all the important principles very clear, If you use it in conjunction with the appendices at the end, you'll have a pretty good understanding of what to look out for when designing experiments and writing...
Published on December 20, 2012 by Moulshri Mohan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way too much extraneous text
I think it's important that I reveal myself as a student currently reading this text and not as someone who has read comparable alternatives to this book. This book may be the best in the field, though I certainly hope that isn't the case.

There is valuable information in this text, it's just hidden throughout a staggering volume of garbage. Of the 470ish pages...
Published 22 months ago by B. Harris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, very easy, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke (Paperback)
This is a really nice book that our prof used for my psych methodology course at college; I found it really easy to read and understand but at the same time it makes all the important principles very clear, If you use it in conjunction with the appendices at the end, you'll have a pretty good understanding of what to look out for when designing experiments and writing papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way too much extraneous text, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke (Paperback)
I think it's important that I reveal myself as a student currently reading this text and not as someone who has read comparable alternatives to this book. This book may be the best in the field, though I certainly hope that isn't the case.

There is valuable information in this text, it's just hidden throughout a staggering volume of garbage. Of the 470ish pages in this book, only about 50 are really useful and a carefully written 100 more could be used to contextualize it in such a way that I didn't feel as though my time was being completely wasted every time I picked this book up, let alone open it for assigned reading. Context is, after all, useful, but it should be concise. I have one (only one!) semester's worth of statistics under my belt and perhaps it is that class that makes this book so painful to read. But even if I hadn't taken that class, I'd still be infuriated by the authors' blatant lack of brevity *except for the useful information*. The important parts actually worth remembering are the only short sentences in the book! It's good that they're concise and easy to understand, but unnecessarily frustrating to dredge through all the frivolous, seemingly unedited examples in order to actually feel like I'm doing something worthwhile when I happen to come across one useful sentence. Given that this book is actually used (and in it's 4th edition, no less), it may just be that this book is best used by students with no statistical experience. Or it may be that the other textbooks in the field are even worse than this one. Either way, if you've taken introductory psychology and know a thing or two about stats, save yourself the money and don't buy this book. You can better use all the time you would have wasted doing just about anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, September 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke (Paperback)
I really appreciated the post it. :) it was minor but very thoughtful. Keeps me in a good mood when I have books piled up and am studying. Good reminder to keep at it. Shipped within time. Really appreciated working with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, October 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke (Paperback)
The book came a little late, but the quality was pretty good. It looks like the nicer books that you'll find in a library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast shipping. As described. Would purchase again., January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke (Paperback)
Fast shipping. As described. Would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke (Paperback)
got here on time and was a great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, November 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke (Paperback)
informative for the research class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke
Conducting Research in Psychology: Measuring the Weight of Smoke by Brett W. Pelham (Paperback - January 1, 2012)
$190.95 $147.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.