Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking translation
This is a fresh and wonderful translation of this Christian classic. Sr Boulding is herself a fine poet capable of touching turns of phrase such as, [Book I,5]

"Who will grant me to find peace in you? Who will grant me this grace, that you would come into my heart and inebriate it, enabling me to forget the evils that beset me and embrace me my only...
Published on May 18, 2008 by J. Gorman

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not the correct book - it is a different edition
THIS IS NOT THE STUDY EDITION THAT IS ADVERTISED BUT INSTEAD HAS BEEN STRIPPED OF ALL CRITICAL NOTES. There are two editions of this book. This edition is a trade paperback with no notes. The critical edition is much larger (due to notes and a much larger font) and is much, much better. I highly recommend this translation but the notes are important also. To get the...
Published 18 months ago by WEC


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking translation, May 18, 2008
By 
J. Gorman (Waukesha, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fresh and wonderful translation of this Christian classic. Sr Boulding is herself a fine poet capable of touching turns of phrase such as, [Book I,5]

"Who will grant me to find peace in you? Who will grant me this grace, that you would come into my heart and inebriate it, enabling me to forget the evils that beset me and embrace me my only good?"

Albert Outler (no mean wroughter of words himself) translates this passage in this way,

"Who shall bring me to rest in thee? Who will send thee into my heart so to overwhelm it that my sins shall be blotted out and I may embrace thee, my only good?"

The loss of the "thees" are of course helpful to the modern reader, but the use of "that you would come into my heart and inebriate it," is just, well, stunning.

One final comparison with Outler in the well-known passage in book ten:

Outler: "Belatedly I loved thee, O Beauty so ancient and so new, belatedly I loved thee. For see, thou wast within and I was without, and I sought thee out there. Unlovely, I rushed heedlessly among the lovely things thou hast made. Thou wast with me, but I was not with thee."

Boulding: "Late have I loved you, Beauty so ancient and so new. Late have I loved you! Lo, you were within, but I outside, seeking there for you, and upon the shapely things you have made, I rushed headlong. I, mishappen."

Both use Augustine's marvelous play on the words "formosa" and "deformis" But Sr. Boulding's choice of shapely and misshapen retains Augustine's intentions and poetic voice, it seems to me.

This is a lovely work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best translation I've found, February 7, 2007
By 
booktapester (Bethesda, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This Christian classic has touched me deeply. I read it the first time right after college, but recently picked it up again (thirty years later). I didn't remember a thing from the first reading.... I've been a Christian for many years, but find that this book is so fresh, with insights that are truly amazing. For this new read, I bought two different translations so that I could read both and compare when the meaning seemed obscure. I highly recommend the translation by Maria Boulding. It does a great job of staying true to his meaning, while expressing things in a way that speaks to the modern mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confessions-St. Augustine, August 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Confessions, Revised (The Works of Saint Augustine: A Translation for the 21st Century, Vol. 1) (Paperback)
This translation is used as the basis for the excellent teaching company course on St Augustine. I first read the confessions from my Harvard Classics. The reviewed translation was far better and every page has footnote references to scriptures quoted by St. Augustine. I was very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not the correct book - it is a different edition, July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Confessions, Revised (The Works of Saint Augustine: A Translation for the 21st Century, Vol. 1) (Paperback)
THIS IS NOT THE STUDY EDITION THAT IS ADVERTISED BUT INSTEAD HAS BEEN STRIPPED OF ALL CRITICAL NOTES. There are two editions of this book. This edition is a trade paperback with no notes. The critical edition is much larger (due to notes and a much larger font) and is much, much better. I highly recommend this translation but the notes are important also. To get the critical edition search the following - ISBN-13: 978-1565480841. It costs about 2x as much but is worth every penny. The Confessions are great and the critical edition of this book makes it much more accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, November 11, 2011
This review is from: The Confessions, Revised (The Works of Saint Augustine: A Translation for the 21st Century, Vol. 1) (Paperback)
I first came across St. Augustine's "Confessions" when I was a freshman in college. It was a monumental experience in terms of both the content of his writing and the freshness and relevance of his writing style. After re-reading them again recently, I am still struck with how contemporary the book feels. Aside from many of its 4th century particularities, the concerns that St. Augustine had and the way he frankly and honestly dealt with them could be lifted from almost any contemporary tell-all autobiography. The biggest exception is the fact that "Confessions" is a quintessentially and irreducibly a religious text, and in an age when religious considerations are largely pushed towards the margins of their life stories, it is refreshing and uplifting to see what would a life look like for someone who took them very seriously and committed himself to reorganizing one's whole life around the idea of serving God wholly and uncompromisingly. "Confessions" is a very accessible text, and for the most part it does not deal with theological and philosophical issues. The exception is the latter part of the book, which are almost exclusively dedicated to those topics. You may want to skip those at the first reading, but I would encourage you to read them nevertheless. Maybe the very inspiring and uplifting story of St. Augustine's conversion to Christianity can lead you into deeper considerations about your faith or the meaning of life in general. I cannot think of a better introduction to those topics than "Confessions," nor of a better guide than St. Augustine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best translation I found, January 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Confessions, Revised (The Works of Saint Augustine: A Translation for the 21st Century, Vol. 1) (Paperback)
Five stars for this translation. The languague is still stately but not pointlessly so, and generally it is pretty smooth and readable. I couldn't get more than ten pages in with the other translations I looked at.

The book itself is also five stars. Humility is probably the most notable quality I get from Augustine, and in most traditions that seems to be the highest of virtues. Sometimes his abstractions are a chore to get through, but rather than attempting to understand them, simply looking into his deeply inquiring mind I believe gives the reader the most value, and I hope it would encourage readers to deeply inquire as did the great saint himself.

This is indeed one of the more important books to read, and we are given a great account of how Augustine observed and revealed his human nature and his own wretchedness. The honesty of the account is remarkable, and should hopefully inspire his readers to be just as sincere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, nuff said, November 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Okay, all fun aside, this literally is one of the best translations of Augustine's Confessions available to the modern english reader. This was the first translation I read years ago, and profited immensely, that I have downloaded it on kindle as well.
Aside from the fact, that Augustine's Confessions is one of the most revolutionary works of Western Literature, and one of the first psychological-autobriographies we have seen.
It is beautifully written, almost lyrical, and this translation captures it.
You can easily download another edition of the Confessions, with a weaker, and older translation for a tenth the price. I think it is definitely worth paying more for a quality translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great translation!, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is well laid out in the kindle version, and the translation is very clear in presentation and understanding. It is enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than one reading here, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Extremely thorough work by a translator, Sister Maria Boulding, with a rich feeling for words. The textual notes amaze the reader with the extent of Augustine's familiarity with biblical and classical Latin literature. Of course, the translator had to match this in order to provide the notes, which are very easy to reference as one reads the Kindle edition.
The first nine books give an account of Augustine's life. It is important however to read as well his philosophical thoughts on Memory, Time and Eternity, Heaven and Earth and Days of Creation. These make it very clear that he was not afraid of asking difficult questions. They show his ability to move between literal and allegorical modes. They also reveal how he faces his critics without attacking their dignity even though they may have attacked his.
Augustine's legendary wrestling with his sexual urges looks like small beer in this age of internet porn, but it is testimony to the effect of persistent mindfulness and reaching out which eventually place repetitively troubling and possibly compulsive behavior at a remove that allows for increasing freedom to choose.
This is a translation that merits more than one reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, June 27, 2013
By 
Mrs.Robin (Upstate New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Confessions, Revised (The Works of Saint Augustine: A Translation for the 21st Century, Vol. 1) (Paperback)
Beware of those who recommend an item as being "one of the best." Keep looking till you find "the best." I was already reading the 1963 Rex Warner translation and ordered this version, hoping for something clearer and more succinct. I also wanted to have the scriptures Augustine used referenced by Bible book, chapter and verse.

This translation, however, is much more confusing, muddy even. Where Warner's prose flows clearly but almost poetically, and is generally easy to grasp with one reading, Boulding's forces you to labor through each sentence and then to reread a second or even third time in order to comprehend. I am not a scholar, but a reader. This translation is not user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Confessions, Revised (The Works of Saint Augustine: A Translation for the 21st Century, Vol. 1)
The Confessions, Revised (The Works of Saint Augustine: A Translation for the 21st Century, Vol. 1) by Saint Augustine, Bishop of Hippo (Paperback - February 1, 2001)
$9.95 $9.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.