Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky Thriller
I was pleasantly surprised with this film. I've seen many horror/suspense films loaded with cheap scares and boring dialogue. This is NOT the case with Conjurer. This film delivers excellent dialogue and achieves scares that other films try but fail to do. This film sets a psychologically thrilling tone throughout the movie which ultimately creates the eerie suspense. It...
Published on November 24, 2008 by Patrice Jackson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Different Genre for John Schneider
I bought this DVD only because it had John Schneider it. John is normally in Hallmark type movies and movies that are family friendly. Conjurer is pretty predictable if you watch these types of horror or paranormal films. But if not for anything else, catch John Schneider's performance in this one.
Published 12 months ago by C. A. Mann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spooky Thriller, November 24, 2008
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
I was pleasantly surprised with this film. I've seen many horror/suspense films loaded with cheap scares and boring dialogue. This is NOT the case with Conjurer. This film delivers excellent dialogue and achieves scares that other films try but fail to do. This film sets a psychologically thrilling tone throughout the movie which ultimately creates the eerie suspense. It was artistically done, not the slashing or blood & guts. Conjurer succeeds with an actual storyline, great direction, actors and the LOCATION IS SPOOKY : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good twist-dominated horror, September 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
Not quite just another horror movie. The Conjurer is about a man who keeps seeing images of a witch appar in his back yard shed. The people all around him including neighbors, the previous owners, and even his wifes brother all tell him "those are just myths and stories people say to spark interest". But the man continues going through strange occurrences and unexplainable events despite all this.

The story in the beginning is about the mans wife who lost her baby, and what happens when they move to a farm house in the country to start over.

What makes this movie 5 stars is quite simple- there's two major twists at the very end that will probably catch you by surprise, and the eerie build-up in the first half of the movie is quite fantastic when the man continues to see and hear things in the woods and in his shed that he can't explain. The plot builds slowly, but not TOO slow that you become bored with it. It requires a fair amount of your attention span, but it's totally worth it because of the ending. Without spoiling too much, what you probably think is going to happen to the wife is actually going to be something much different.

The writers of the film were also aware what's been done a million times in other horror stories and disregarded them, such as the scenes involving a little boy who kept spying on his new neighbors. There's an explaination for his appearance and it's good writing because he doesn't play the typical "scary kid hiding in woods planning to kill people" that it appears he's going to play when you first see him.

The acting is great all around, especially the wife who's very underrated in her performance.

I wish there were more horror movies like this out there. Ones that deliver on suspense, storytelling, and fantastic endings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EFFECTIVE HORROR OUTING WITH ATMOSPHERE!, December 23, 2009
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
With so many terrible horror films coming out, it's always surprising to see one that actually understands the genre. 'Conjurer' won't win any points for originality, but at least the makers of this film have learned a little about atmosphere and that less is more in some cases. The story of an couple who move to a remote farmhouse to heal after losing their unborn child is both chilling and pretty smart. The acting is above average, but that doesn't mean it is without its flaws. The usual "get the H E L L out of here" thoughts will scream through your head, but the doesn't make this film any less effective.

What I thought was really impressive is how the director could evoke chills in broad daylight! Clocking in at under an hour and a half, 'Conjurer' has enough chills to keep true horror fans happy and considering its short length doesn't fail to tell a complete story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent creepy horror flik, December 21, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
excellent movie !!!...very moody and creepy . the acting was good, and the story line was predictable, but none the less very entertaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un-Real Estate..., May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
A young couple moves into an old farmhouse, a year after losing their unborn child. Strange, unexplained events take place, seemingly having to do w/ an abandoned cabin on the property. CONJURER is an excellent supernatural thriller... I think. Its the sort of movie that could be about a curse / paranormal conspiracy, or a man driven by schizophrenic delusions. After watching it twice, I'm still split evenly on which type of film it is! The makers of CONJURER have done an expert job of balancing dark, magical images w/ paranoid thinking, and less-than-sane reactions on the part of the protagonist (Andrew Bowen). I was never quite sure whether he was being tormented by a sinister entity, or simply breaking away from reality. Though the epilogue hints at a possible answer, it could just be my own misinterpretation. I love movies that keep me guessing, and this one certainly fits the bill...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Conjurer, August 25, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
I give this a thumbs up ! I thought all the acting was great with a great cast. The cover gave me a feeling that I would not be disappointed. I love John Schneider and the fact that he was cast was another reason I decided to purchase this movie. I love horror, suspense and an all around thriller, I felt this one fit all of these categories. I would reccomend it to anyone that likes a good scary flick, not too much gore and with a good ending. Too many of today's movies are good until you get to the ending and you wonder what just happened !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy witch movie, September 14, 2009
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
This film is what I was hoping "An American Haunting" would be more like, which I found to be disappointing after the hype. "Conjurer" is a lot creepier due to it's slow pace build-up in telling a quality witch story, and not so much reliance on special effects like "American Haunting". This is definitely worth at least a rental and a good little fright film to watch on Halloween. Not the last word in scary films but not bad, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for the DVD movie "Conjuror", April 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
My DVD movie arrived in excellent condition. The price I paid at Amazon.com was extremely economical
considering the economic conditions we have now in the United States. I would shop with Amazon.com
before paying higher prices at other locations. The movie "Conjuror" kept you in suspense for the
entire movie. The ending was slightly different from what I expected but overall I would recommend
this movie to all movie buffs. ..............Sylvia Reid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 3, 2014
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Different Genre for John Schneider, December 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conjurer (DVD)
I bought this DVD only because it had John Schneider it. John is normally in Hallmark type movies and movies that are family friendly. Conjurer is pretty predictable if you watch these types of horror or paranormal films. But if not for anything else, catch John Schneider's performance in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Conjurer
Conjurer by Clint Hutchison (DVD - 2008)
$24.95 $21.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.