Start reading Conjuring Raine on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Conjuring Raine [Kindle Edition]

Maya Lassiter
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99
Borrow this book for free on a Kindle device with Amazon Prime. Learn more about Kindle Owners' Lending Library.
Join Prime to borrow this book at no cost.
The Kindle Owners' Lending Library gives you access to thousands of books, including New York Times bestsellers, to borrow and read for free.
  • Borrow a book as frequently as once per month
  • No due dates — keep books as long as you like and return them when it's time for something new
  • Read on any Amazon Kindle device

Amazon Prime members also enjoy:
  • Unlimited streaming of thousands of popular movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video
  • FREE Two-Day Shipping on millions of items, with no minimum order size

For more information about the Kindle Owners' Lending Library visit our help page.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

A girl, her vampire, his demon….
Raine Black is a struggling comics artist with a gift–her comics come true. Joshua is Raine’s secret childhood friend, an abolitionist and a vampire who is possessed by a revenge demon his vampire religion can’t contain. Joshua wants Raine safe from the demon, and from the other vampires, so he can kill himself in peace before the demon takes him over. Raine thinks she can draw Joshua a comic with a happy ending, if he would just give her a little more time. And the demon? It wants to strike a bargain–with Raine. From San Francisco’s Tenderloin to the Dismal Swamp of North Carolina, this spooky, funny, sexy story deals with human trafficking, vampires, and conjure magic, not to mention the painful territory of how far we’ll go in the name of love.


Product Details

  • File Size: 584 KB
  • Print Length: 342 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Waking Dreams Press (May 21, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00522T0OS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #586,563 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
(7)
3.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great characters and dialogue March 2, 2012
By Deanna
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I'm an avid reader and I get tired of reading the same old stuff. This book was not the same old stuff. It had quirky characters that I really cared about, and the dialogue between the characters was always engaging and is this author's strong suit. It explored themes of human nature, goodness, and the purpose of life by putting characters that are very believable and realistic in many ways into a situation that has one aspect of fantasy but is otherwise realistic and allowing the characters to react as real people might if faced with this very unusual situation. Very enjoyable to read, and it was hard to put down as the plot progressed.

My only complaint is that the whole vampire romance theme has kind of been done to death (even if not quite like this) and for that reason I liked her other book "Toby Streams the Universe" better. However, this was still excellent and well worth the read. I'm looking forward to the next book from this author.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! August 28, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I loved this vampire story! In the tradition of Barnabas Collins and Edward, this vamp is tortured by what he is. However, Joshua tries to atone for it by freeing humans from bondage of one kind or another. But he is possessed by a violent and unpredictable revenge demon. This helps elevate the story above so many of the vampire stories coming out in the last few years. Of course, without the author's talent with words, that would be meaningless. She does a great job with the characters, the atmosphere, the plot, the quality of the writing. There were a few times when I was reminded of Twilight and of Robin McKinley's Sunshine (a book I highly recommend btw), but everything that happened and everything that was said served the story. It rang true. A great vampire book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Story September 6, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
I don't usually read vampire novels. Don't have anything in particular against them, just have other things that demand my attention more. (So why did I read this? Long story . . .)

Despite that bias, I found "Conjuring Raine" to be a gripping book, full of interesting characters, plenty of suspense, humor, romance, the works. It's a wonderful story. I gave it to my son when I was finished (he's eighteen; there's enough adult language in here that I wouldn't give it to a middle-schooler--even though I know that most of them know, and use, more "adult words" than I do), and he loved it as well.

Raine Black has been in love with Joshua since she was five years old, even though she's only seen him for short periods of time since they first met--usually when he arrives to get her out of some kind of trouble. But now she's twenty-three, and it's been five years she's last seen him. When he shows up this time, she isn't in trouble--yet--but Joshua brings it.

And she begins to wonder, for the first time, why he still looks just about her own age--exactly the way he looked back when she was five. . . .

Except, that is, for the black scar on his hand, which now reaches all the way up his arm and is spreading over half his face.

Good book. Read it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Story of a love that transcends generations June 21, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
If you are a fan of fiction, and an avid reader then this book is for you. It's one of those that you don't want to put down, and when you do have to put it down you continue to think about the characters and plot until you can get back to it.
This isn't your typical vampire book either. This story is of a love that transcends generations and a vampire that protects the daughter (and daughters' daughter from generation to generation) of the woman he loved when he was first "turned" years ago while attempting to help a slave escape her master. It has intrigue, drama, a man's demon and a woman's ability to love despite it.
Now doesn't that make you want to delve further into the audio drama? There aren't a lot of sound effects just the steady voice of the author as she shares her work in a way that makes you feel as if you're right there in the room with the characters viewing it from the point of view of either Raine (the female descendant of the slave), or Joshua (the vampire). There are characters you'll love and those you're sure to hate. Truly the makings of a good book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Maya Lassiter is a fantasy novelist, living in a yurt in the rural South with her husband and two fabulous children. She has been published in Realms of Fantasy, and has an MFA from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. For more on her crazy, gonzo, domestic life, visit her blog at mayalassiter.com.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category


ARRAY(0xa15f99a8)