Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Connected Health" paints a detailed panorama
I recently downloaded an iPhone app that measures your heart rate by viewing your face through the FaceTime camera and detecting micro-changes in the color of your cheeks as the blood pulses through them. Clever idea. Not even close to reliable, of course, but what else to expect from a free download? The best use I've found for it is meeting women after yoga class by...
Published 20 months ago by Swords & Pens (Randy Lyman)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Update on Possibilities
Took me some time to get through it but it did provide insight to the possibilities of connected health in the future. Not an easy read, some redundancy. Great bibliography for pursuing independent knowledge.
Published 2 months ago by Pat C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Connected Health" paints a detailed panorama, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
I recently downloaded an iPhone app that measures your heart rate by viewing your face through the FaceTime camera and detecting micro-changes in the color of your cheeks as the blood pulses through them. Clever idea. Not even close to reliable, of course, but what else to expect from a free download? The best use I've found for it is meeting women after yoga class by offering to check their heartbeat with this cool iPhone app.

Such applications, spanning a wide range of quality, abound for mobile phones and tablets, and look out for more. MobiHealthNews estimated in September 2011 that within a year, Apple's AppStore would carry more than 13,000 consumer health apps for things like tracking diet and exercise, up from 9,000 at the time of writing. That's not counting medical apps for professionals; iPads have become standard issue for doctors and nurses at many hospitals. The numbers will only continue to grow.

For all this, mobile apps are but one tiny piece of a much, much larger phenomenon: the disruptive incursion of personal digital technology into the world of health and medicine. "Disruptive" is a positive word in Dr. Jody Ranck's "Connected Health." It means that the ossified, hospital-centric health care system we know and love--appropriate enough for its 19th century origins, when infectious diseases were the great challenge of the day--is giving way to a distributed, patient-centered, even social and environmental paradigm of health and wellness. This shift will have enormous consequences for the way health care is delivered, documented and paid for, and that in turn will change the way we live in more than one sense.

With great clarity of vision, "Connected Health" paints a detailed panorama of the coming changes and lays out concisely what it all means for us, as individuals and as members of society. In separate sections Dr. Ranck describes how mobile devices (mHealth), the interactive internet (Health 2.0), social media, cloud computing and massive banks of health and medical data are becoming a "connected health ecosystem" with a huge impact on our economy and lifestyle. The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects health care to create more new jobs in the next decade than any other industry, and eHealth is part of the reason. "Connected Health" lists many of today's key players in each sector, making the book a rich resource for further reading.

It won't be only technology that changes, however. We will need to learn to live with the vast new array of mobile phone sensors, medical databanks and social networks to which we'll find ourselves attached--and monitored, providing data on ourselves and our environs that can detect larger patterns and needs. If a health data monitor in real time catches a lot of people in a neighborhood suddenly reporting coughing, it may signal an air contamination emergency that needs immediate response. This is modern science, not science fiction. Affected people could be treated anywhere because their medical records are in "the cloud," accessible by any doctor with an iPad.

Sounds great, but this in turn will challenge any notions we may have today about privacy rights, the availability, ownership and regulation of health data and medical records, and the sudden new social role of our most intimate possession: our own bodies.

There is "an urgent need to develop new vocabularies and to take the politics of technology, health, and culture seriously," Ranck warns. "For too long the content of health reform has been co-opted by an anachronistic discourse deeply indebted to Cold War ideological framings (socialized medicine versus the market) that have little relevance to today's health challenges. This outdated discourse is harmful to democracy, the public's health, and the business of health...."

Health care professionals and consumers alike will find much to inform them in this book. Dr. Ranck manages to take the complex puzzle of "connected health" apart and show the whole picture at the same time. The picture may soon become a familiar one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent treatment of the subject, July 27, 2012
By 
Gaudi (Bethesda, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
I read this as an IT professional with interest in the potential of technology and big-data analytics behind health care. I found this to be an excellent book, in part because the author doesn't succumb to the usual "technology worship" so common these days, but rather takes a measured (but optimistic) stance when discussing the impacts and potential of these technologies to affect health care. He also has seemed to create something of value to a variety of audiences simultaneously: investors; practitioners; professional peers; lay people. It's not very often that someone with such strong academic credentials can "keep it real" and accessible to people like me who come at the subject with no significant prior knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The "Lonely Planet" for Health 2.0 and eHealth., June 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
"Connected Health" feels like a Lonely Planet guide for the Health 2.0 landscape. Thoroughly researched, but concise and clearly layed out, it maps the eHealth trend without getting lost in the details but also without missing any important points. It makes you want to carry around it with you to make sense of all the new stuff you'll run into your trip through the eHealth world.

This is the first time I'm moved to write an Amazon book review. Good job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Update on Possibilities, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
Took me some time to get through it but it did provide insight to the possibilities of connected health in the future. Not an easy read, some redundancy. Great bibliography for pursuing independent knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Telemetry for ALL earth bound mortals ?, March 2, 2014
By 
Dr. Robert F. Tynan (Beijing, Guangzhou, Siem Reap) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
An insightful look at the main technology drivers shaping (primarily) USA health and how these will impact both health costs and effectiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vision, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
I believe that Jody sees the future. I hope that the authorities worldwide will be smart enough to adopt it soon even if they don't see the immediate political benefits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Review with Great Links to Supportive Material, July 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
This book is well organized and provides a thorough review of various mHealth, dHealth and Big Data developments, opportunities and consequences.

Though not delving extensively deep into the implications of any single issue (e.g. privacy concerns with big data, sensors, etc.), the author covers each issue sufficiently to build a base for further study as desired.

The best feature of the book is the diligent use of hyperlinks to source material (Kindle Edition). It provides a great amount of primary source reading material and supports deeper study into each section described in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little boring, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
I'm passionate about the subject but wasn't impressed by the book. It gives a couple figures that are good to know, but doesn't captivate you. It also lacks a bit of the "big vision" you expect from its title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed, Repetitive Catalog of Healthcare Related IT Trends & Companies, August 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Connected Health: How Mobile Phones, Cloud and Big Data Will Reinvent Healthcare (Kindle Edition)
The Good:
If you are completely new to healthcare information technology and have not been paying attention to recent trends, this book can help get you caught up.

The Bad:
(1) Editing errors (e.g., poor grammar, repeated words and phrases in the same sentence or paragraph)

(2) Disjointed narrative (e.g., lacks a thesis, theory or discernible framework)

(3) Entire sections and talking points are repeated. For example, basic information on PatientsLikeMe appears more than 5 times --- each time introduced as if we haven't heard about it before --- even though we read about it earlier.

The Ugly:
An undergraduate thesis paper on trends in HIT. Worthwhile only if you're completely new to the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.