Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel The Power, Accept The Challenge Of.......CONQUEST!
Ever wonder what a sword and sorcery flick by Lucio Fulci would be like? Look no further than Blue Underground's recent release of Conquest. Ya know, I'd been looking for this movie since I was 12 years old for crying out loud! Thanks again to Blue Underground.
CONQUEST: We got our first hero who I'll call "Idiot", mainly because he is. Idiot is given a magical bow...
Published on August 1, 2004 by Stanley Runk

versus
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My 'Temple of Secrets' still aches after this one...
Lucio Fulci...while many may not be familiar with the name or his work, he has developed a dedicated and even hardcore audience, mostly due to the extremely graphic nature of the horror films he made from the late 70's into the 80's. What some may not know are those films only made up part of his repertoire, as he also was involved in thrillers, musicals, comedies,...
Published on October 21, 2004 by cookieman108


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel The Power, Accept The Challenge Of.......CONQUEST!, August 1, 2004
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
Ever wonder what a sword and sorcery flick by Lucio Fulci would be like? Look no further than Blue Underground's recent release of Conquest. Ya know, I'd been looking for this movie since I was 12 years old for crying out loud! Thanks again to Blue Underground.
CONQUEST: We got our first hero who I'll call "Idiot", mainly because he is. Idiot is given a magical bow by some old mystic guy. He's not given any particular quest or anything, some claptrap about reaching his manhood. I guess he's just supposed to be an all around do-gooder. The bow is magical because once it runs out of arrows it's able to pull the sun from the sky and shoot really cool blue sun-power arrows. To me this is kind of a lame contraption coz personally, I'd just throw away all the regular arrows and just use the sun powered ones. Our hero doesn't do this coz he's not too bright. Our villian is a topless, masked sorceress who's job is basically to send out her army of men in cheap werewolf costumes to make life miserable for everyone in the land. After a successful raid and a shot of a fantasyland equivalent of LSD/cocaine(administered in the same fashion as launching a spitball), she sees a vision of Idiot coming to kill her, so she sends out her silly Chewbacca/werewolf things to kill him. Around this time we meet our second hero who I call Manowar-basically coz he looks like he may have tried out for the band once, but got the boot. Manowar's job for the rest of the film is to save Idiot's butt when ever he gets captured or in trouble. Manowar is the true hero of the film. This is the basis of our movie. Idiot and Manowar meet lots of perils and dangers while on the run and in pursuit of the masked naked woman until the final showdown. Who wins? You'll have to watch. This film is 100% heckle material. It's very entertaining if you like this kind of thing. Fulci brings his trademark gore to the film(which you kind of wish Peter Jackson would have done when he made a fantasy film), and a funky soundtrack! He also must have attached a fog machine to the camera coz this film looks like it was shot in a cloud. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My 'Temple of Secrets' still aches after this one..., October 21, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
Lucio Fulci...while many may not be familiar with the name or his work, he has developed a dedicated and even hardcore audience, mostly due to the extremely graphic nature of the horror films he made from the late 70's into the 80's. What some may not know are those films only made up part of his repertoire, as he also was involved in thrillers, musicals, comedies, westerns, and even a sword and sorcery picture, titled Conquest (1983). This Italian/Spanish/Mexican production (it states this in the beginning during the credits, and, for some reason, it didn't inspire a sense confidence in this viewer), directed by Fulci, stars individuals I've never heard of, including a fairly well muscled Jorge Rivero (Rio Lobo), the very effeminate Andrea Occhipinti (Bolero), and the very naked Sabrina Siani (sounds like a western...The Muscled, the Effeminate, and the Naked).

So what is the film about? I really wish I could say with a degree of certainty, but the plot, what there was, was pretty convoluted. There's a young warrior named Ilias (Occhipinti) who, prior to leaving his village (I guess to go off to become more manly), is presented with a magical bow, one that shoots arrows made of pure light, that is once the user figure out how to activate that feature. Until that happens, it can be used to shoot regular arrows. Anyway, Ilias goes off, and meets up with a nomadic wanderer named Mace (Rivero), whose main choice of weapon is a very poorly made pair of nunchucks, or, two harden pieces of wood attached by a length of rope. While they're running around bonding and stuff (ew), a local evil sorceress named Ocron (Siani), I thought it was Okra, as that what it kept sounding like throughout the film, learns of a man with a strange and powerful weapon (the bow...I find it difficult to believe few people in this world had not heard of a bow and arrow, probably one of the earliest forms of ranged weapons) and knows she must possess it for her own. Also, she's been having dreams regarding her own demise at the hands of a faceless warrior, one who shoots her with an arrow. In an effort to prevent these premonitions from becoming a reality, she sends her various minions to retrieve Ilias and his weapon, which leads up to a some what climatic final battle between good and evil...a common theme in the genre, a hero, or a group of heroes, suffers adversity to rid the land of a powerful enemy blah, blah, blah...

I've seen a lot of films, and I've seen a number of films within the sword and sorcery genre, and I have to say Conquest falls a bit short in comparison. It does meet a number of requirements within the genre (heroes, magic, good, evil), but lacks in the execution. First thing you'll notice is nearly the entire film is shot with a sense that someone smeared Vaseline on the camera lens, giving everything a hazy quality sure to induce headaches early on (the film runs 92 minutes). Also, Fulci must own stock in a company that sells fog producing machines, as nearly every scene also was inundated with a heaping helping of smoke, further obscuring the viewer's ability to see what's going on...the acting isn't horrible, but the dialog is...an example...Ilias and Mace are trapped in a cave and Ilias spots a snake, to which Mace responds, "He's harmless if he doesn't bite you." Well duh...if a ten-ton boulder was suspended over my head with a piece of twine, it would harmless unless the string broke...the characters themselves are goofy and lacking any sense of likeability. An example of this is Mace and Ilias (our two heroes) are traveling together, and Mace is learning how to use the bow. They come across a lowly, completely non-threatening hunter, carrying a dead animal, and Mace shoots and kills him and they take the dead animal so that they may eat it...how very heroic...oh yeah, Mace seems to have a psychic link with animals, and doesn't kill them, but has no problems killing others who've killed animals and taking their food to eat for himself. Ocron (the evil sorceress) sports a metal, horned bikini bottom and no top, and spends a lot of time having intimate relations with snakes (ew) and eating the brains of her recently killed victims (you see, the head is the `temple of secrets' and it's also quite tasty, or so I've heard). She commands odd group of henchmen, including wolfmen, regular men, and various animated zombie-like characters, all enabling her to lord over a relatively small group of savages. Most all the women in the film are topless, which helps, but is entirely gratuitous, serving no real purpose other than to take your mind off the fact the film is so weak in general. The directing ranges from passable to poor, including pointless POV shots, stupid slow motion that only serves to drag the run time out much further than needed, and ineptly choreographed fight scenes. I found the mostly electronic musical score to be highly annoying, monotonous, and inappropriate. Fans of Fulci's stylistic approach to visceral gore will enjoy the inclusion of a smattering of graphic scenes here (brains, puss leaking sores, gore spurting wounds), but it's nowhere near the levels in his horror films, so they may be ultimately dissatisfied. People not familiar with his penchant for splattery will probably be put off and find it hard to watch.

Blue Underground presents an exceptional widescreen print transfer on this DVD, despite all the funky cinematography. Special features include two theatrical trailers (U.S. and international), poster and still galleries with lots of good-looking pictures, and a fairly comprehensive and informative biography on Lucio Fulci. All in all, unless you're a Fulci completist, you might want to skip Conquest, as its' appeal is extremely limited, in my opinion.

Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The craziest of the Conan rip-offs...., September 21, 2004
By 
W. Black (East Prairie, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
True, sword-and-sorcery is a particularly stupid genre. It was only done once well, and of course I'm talking about Robert E Howard, and then a few writers like Moorcock, Leiber, and Karl Edgar Wagner came along and created characters that transcended the genre. We had one truly good movie--the original Conan--and lots of imitations. And we also had sword-and-sorcery exploitaion flicks, movies that actually ADDED to the amount of gore and sex already in Conan. This, of course, is a good thing, and Conquest is the whackiest of the whole bunch. Hell, Fulci even throws in zombies. The evil wizard chick wears nothing but a gold mask--that's right, she's NEKKID the entire movie. And for Fulci fans, the main character has an inverted mark of Eibon on his forehead, from Fulci's horror flick The Beyond. This movie rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONQUEST IS A TRIUMPH!, January 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
I have to jump right into this with both feet and state here and now, that CONQUEST is a sword & sorcery triumph. To those who would measure this film on its music or 'special effects' to the yardstick of today's Hollywood industry, I say 'Foul!' To appreciate this film, and I do mean this, one must allow for me to put my case.

Fulci was a master of creating worlds where the viewer accepted all that was seen solely because Fulci placed it before them. His artistic eye for delivering bizarre horizons, multi-cloured skies, and all manner of life forms while backed up by the pop synthesizer that made the 80s music what it was, had audiences believing what they saw on screen was the norm, and never looked back.

Now, the general consensus of CONQUEST by its detractors seems to be that "Conquest" marked the beginning of Fulci's descent into both commercial and artistic mediocrity, and while the former may be true, I'm not understanding the latter. In light of what Fulci's work aspires to be; "Conquest" can in many ways be seen as a culmination of his style, and if your best criticisms of the movie are that it's "plotless and cheap," I wonder why you're watching a Fulci movie in the first place.

Yes, the plot is rudimentary hodgepodge that in the end amounts mostly to characters wandering back and forth as an excuse to get them into perilous situations involving traps and monsters, but Fulci's visual sensibilities are positively amazing here, so much so that the limitations of the story become pretty much moot as you take in the fog covered lands and the weird denizens that live there. They make the other-wordly mythic fantasy environment that Fulci attempting to create with what appears to be a shoe string budget and a deserted piece of island property. BUT - It is the foreboding fog-shrouded swamps, ancient stone temples, grotesque creatures and lurid-colored alien skies that will linger in the mind as the work of an artist who clearly has an eye for distinctive visuals. You could only accuse this of being a movie derivative of "Conan the Barbarian" if you completely ignored this aspect of it, because I can't think of another film that looks anything like this.

Other aspects of "Conquest" work to its advantage in subtle ways. The spare, monosyllabic dialogue helps to create the sense of a primitive and brutish world and the minimalist pulses of Claudio Simonetti's electronic score mesh well with the stunning visuals. Bizarre details - the villainess' gold mask and fascination with snakes, the enchanted bow that glows blue, the dolphin rescue - border on the surrealistic. The effect achieved, at least to this viewer, is hypnotic. I find myself wondering how so many filmmakers today, when they are given all the resources in the world and can't give us one interesting thing to look at, can be treated so leniently by critics who would jump on the bandwagon to slam Fulci without a second thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This ain't Lord of the Rings, but a great Cult Classic!, September 27, 2004
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
Oh Fulci! What a confusing movie you made. The acting is bad! the characters are terrible! the plot.......what plot? Nothing made sense! If you're a long time Fulci fan you gotta see this one. If you're new to Fulci's film...wait for awhile and watch these titles:

The black cat

Zombie

The Beyond

4 for the apocalypse

Contraband

New York Ripper

Don't Torture a Duckling

City of the Living Dead

Just to name a few of the classics. Conquest may not be a consider a Fulci Classic, but it sure become a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use you imagination . . ., January 31, 2009
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
If you can recall when "Video Tapes" first arrived (VHS), then you probably remember that there were roughly a dozen of these type films on the shelf in just about every store. Lets face it, there weren't many to choose from in the beginning.
I like this film and I really can't add anything that hasn't been said in previous reviews. I would add that, if you like Sabrina Siani, you might look for a copy of "Throne of Fire" (Also early 1980's). I think it is probably her best film.
This film, "Conquest," can really leave you with a vague sense of loss.
It's nice to look at but, the plot (?) is rather thin.
You've really got to use your imagination here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fulci Guilty Pleasure, May 24, 2010
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
Made at the height of the Sword and Sorcery craze in the early eighties thanks to John Milius's 'CONAN THE BARBARIAN',this is one of my favorite guilty pleasures because so many people that have seen this film with me think I'm absolutely crazy at giving it repeated viewings . Sorry, Blue Underground has restored all of the soft focus and gritty feel into a wonderful viewing experience. This is the closest I've ever seen the paintings of Frank Frazetta come to life right up to the beautiful SABRINA SIANI as the stark naked femme fatale wearing nothing but a bronze mask. Yeah, the makeup is shoddy and it has a unique electronic music score that 'FORBIDDEN PLANET' fans may shudder at but these elements give the film its charm. Fulci's vision is fabulous and I love every minute of this film. It's great to be crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fulci does fantasy...I never thought I'd say it, but Deathstalker was much better than this. LOL., October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
Directed by Lucio Fulci (Zombi, City of the Living Dead, The Beyond), this film features loads of lame wookie-werewolf fights, some healthy of gore, a good bit of nudity and almost no discernible plot whatsoever. This actually has less of a plot than a movie that dares to call itself Deathstalker. I'm willing to call this Fulci's biggest (and nearly only) failure. But whatever, I laughed at it a bit.

So, this topless sorceress lady Ocran (Sabrina Siani; Aenigma, White Cannibal Queen) in a metal mask and her monkey-mask-wearing amazons summon a platoon of werewolf-monkey-wookie men to ravage a small tribe of aborigines. To show that they mean business, these furry mongoloids rip a naked woman in half from the legs up and present her severed head to their naked leader, who then unceremoniously eats the brains right out of it before fornicating with a python...I think...it's not very clear. Within just 10 minutes of running time it's apparent that the gore, completely pointless nudity and nonsense are set to an "11" in this exploitative gorefest.

Armed with his magical bow that shoots six magical arrows at once and penetrates stone, our hero Ilias is charged with ridding the land of evil...I think...it's not very clear. That's about all the plot we're handed. Like any adventure movie, he finds an ally during his "quest." Along the way, he meets Mace (Jorge Rivero; Werewolf). Mace fights some wookie-werewolves with stone nunchucks and some mean WWE moves. Mace always seems to save Ilias' ass during their frequent and regrettably lame confrontations with Ocran's forces. In fact, Ilias always seems to get his ass kicked unless he's firing arrows at a distance. Wuss!

Throughout the film Ocran continues to sick her wookie-werewolves on Ilias and Mace, she periodically rubs snakes all over her body while dreaming about a weirdly faceless Ilias killing her, and she promises her body to some powerful warrior (Zora) if he can kill Ilias. I have no clue why Zora and Ocran are in cahoots...or even where, who or what Zora is...it's really not very clear! We also encounter Mace's evil doppelganger, some weird web-covered stone people, acrobatic troglodytes and some random swamp zombies--being that this is a Lucio Fulci movie, I guess that had to happen. For whatever reason, it seems that Mace does just about all the fighting as if this was his quest...or is it...it's really not clear!

What's really random about this movie is that Ilias is killed, beheaded, and his body burned..but "his soul lives"...W T F? We only know because Ocran tells us. So Ilias, speaking from the spirit world, tells Mace to smear his ashes all over his face to anoint himself with Ilias' power. But Ilias was a wuss, remember. He really just should have said "Yo, Mace, enjoy the magical bow, bro." Mace was always fighting his battles for him and saving his hide anyway. So he's really absorbing Ilias' worthlessness as a warrior. Right? That's how I see it anyway.

Oh, right, and for whatever W T F reason everyone has the ability to teleport when it suits them. Oh, and Mace shoots an arrow through a mountain to hit Ocran in the face. Oh, and Ocran has a face like a zombie from Planet of the Apes under that mask. Oh, and...well, it's official. Everything about this movie is stupid.

They really went for it with the combat choreography, even though the fights were destitute. A lot of difficult moves are hilariously executed with God-awful technique in slow-motion. The gore was fun, though presented inconsistently. My favorite gore was when Ilias was poisoned and covered in pus-looking abscesses.

If you're in the mood to be cynical and tear something apart to make yourself feel better, then this is the film for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A half nude mystical and magical sorceress doesn't know how to make a bow and arrow, February 24, 2012
By 
Grindhouse and Horror (I wish in the grindhouse era) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
This truly odd film is one of my favorite Italian horror films. I would describe it as a horror version of one of those sword and sorcery barbarian films. It begins with a warrior being sent off from some unknown place to rid the world of the unknown evil forces that are ravaging the world. It seems that a half nude masked sorceress is fooling her followers into believing that she can control the sun, and she controls a army of wolf type men that seem to enjoy splattering the civilians. One of the wolf creatures whips up some strange drug and shoots it through her nose; this makes her hallucinate and see her own death by the warrior in the beginning. That guy pumps a bunch of arrows into a bunch of her human soldiers when they jump him; and after Oscron (the sorceress) hears about this, she is fascinated by his bow and arrow and needs the weapon. Yes, it doesn't make any sense that a magical sorceress is so stupid that neither she nor her entire army can't even make a bow and arrow, but I thought this part of the plot was so absurd that it helped make this weird film even better. I won't spoil the film, but his bow and arrow gets a big upgrade later on. The entire film is very fast paced and is heavy on misty atmosphere and gore, and I also thought that the film had great soundtracks. However, it isn't for everyone. The film is low budget and it looks low budget. You might need to have a taste for strange 80s Italian exploitation cinema to enjoy it. Even if you liked a lot of Fulci's other films like ZOMBIE and THE BEYOND, you still might not like it because it's really strange and it looks cheaper. The films fast pace accompanied by the pounding Simonetti soundtracks give the film a lot of energy, but a lot of horror fans won't like it.

The DVD quality quality is very good, but the film is so heavy on misty atmosphere at times that it may annoy some people because some may think it interferes with the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Swing and a Miss for Fulci., November 14, 2011
This review is from: Conquest (DVD)
Lucio Fulci films go from sub-par to above-par. I suppose it could be budget or the cinematographer that can hinder his vision, at times. With Fulci's above par films such as Don't Torture a Duckling, The Beyond, Zombie or even City of the Living Dead, he can hit the nail on the head. However with Conquest, as cool as the concept sounds, it is a sub-par Fulci film.

Other reviewers give a basic breakdown of typical Sword and Sorcery premise, so the short and sweet version is this... there are no castles or large sets, it takes place in caves and plains, nothing to wow you about the time period, which gives it a real cheap feel to the film. The fight scenes are fair and the gore, well the gore is Fulci, which is good because there is nothing like it in any sword and sorcery film that I have seen.

The only worthy special effect of the film is the Magic bow and the translucent blue arrows that it shoots. However, this to is flawed. When the user of the Magic Bow pulls back and fires, it splinters into multiple arrows and finds its target like a heat seeking rocket, recycled footage included and very anti-climactic.

If you are looking for Conan, you won't find it, If you are looking for the Beastmaster, that's not here either. I suppose about a half-hour of this film is entertaining but it made me want to watch a good sword and sorcery film instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Conquest
Conquest by Lucio Fulci (DVD - 2004)
$14.98 $8.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.