Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 157 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Perfect, but Awfully Good
I've never read Wallace, mostly because his best known work ("Infinite Jest") is so long. But I tend to like writers that digress and use footnotes for asides, so I thought maybe this collection of ten essays would give me enough of a taste to know if I should check out his other stuff. Ranging in length from 7 to 80 pages, the essays all appeared previously (albeit often...
Published on November 3, 2006 by A. Ross

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, poor Kindle version
The book description ought to note that the final essay in the book, "Host", is omitted entirely with no mention in the electronic version of this book.

Otherwise, enjoyable read.
Published on February 24, 2011 by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brief comment, December 26, 2005
Wallace's collection of essays is intelligently and engagingly written and well researched too. The subjects range from pornography to politics, and the first essay has an opening line that's hard to beat (I'm recalling it from memory but I think I have it mostly correct): "The American College of Emergency Medicine confirms it: every year between one and two dozen men are hospitalized after attempting to castrate themselves. Usually with kitchen utensils."

The expository essay was considered something of a lost art when I was a boy, and I had read the "classical essayists" such as Montaigne, Addison and Steele, Charles Lamb, William Hazlitt, De Quincey, and others. Some of Jorge Luis Borges Ficciones are actually essays rather than stories in the traditional sense. Interestingly, there was a tradition of nature oriented essay writing even in America that didn't become moribund, with writers such as John Muir, Donald Culross Peattie, Edward Abbey, etc.

I think Wallace is a worthy successor to this distinguished pantheon of earlier essayists in his ability to wittily and trenchantly explore different aspects of a subject. He is considered one of the most intelligent writers of recent decades and the topics range from the low brow to such ethereal and abstruse realms as modern lexicography and structural linguistics. If you like the essay as a literary form you'll probably enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some comments, and a question, February 9, 2006
I bought and read DFW's "Consider the Lobster" unseen and essentially unknown, on the strength of a review in the Chicago Tribune Sunday book section. It was an excerpt from the essay "Authority and American Usage" which grabbed me. The author asked, "Did you know American lexicography even HAD a seamy underbelly?" Well sir, when I read a sentence like that, something in my brain, maybe prostaglandins or endorphins or some other exotic brain chemicals discussed in the title essay take over, and I am left with a compelling, almost compulsive need to hear what this writer has to say. Full disclosure: I am not all that well read, and I had never heard of DFW before this, let alone read him.

OK. That's enough of that. Now, pleasantly enough, after puzzling my way through the essays on pornography, Kafka and Updike (1 outta 3 ain't bad, and more on the puzzlement below), I arrived at the essay which originally piqued (not "peaked", dear other reviewer) my interest. As it happens, I discovered Garner's dictionary quite by accident and quite by myself some 5 years ago, and was immediately -- and I do mean immediately, I am not the kind of person who sits down and reads dictionaries cover to cover -- struck by the clarity, moderation, and sheer common sense of Mr. Garner. I knew I was in possession of a classic treatise on the American language in the late stages of the 20th century, although I did not know exactly why. It just FELT right. I am forever indebted to Mr. Wallace for giving me the words to express what I felt way back in 1999 when I read Garner's preface, and felt like I had just made a new friend.

I should, perhaps, briefly explain how a person like myself, with little formal education (2 years of college), should come to be in possession of a usage dictionary -- ANY usage dictionary, let alone one as brilliant as this one -- and the answer is as simple as the media you, dear reader, are using to read these words: the internet. One of my first actions upon being released online was to head directly to the many chat rooms online, where I rapidly made the acquaintance of a pleasant young Ukranian woman who was trying to supplement her meager income by teaching English to other Ukranians, and who asked me for source materials. The relationship did not pan out, and I was left with several grammar and usage books which I find relatively worthless to me, but Garner's ADMAU made it all worthwhile.

And I feel I must take issue with the above reviewer who likened this particular work with Lynn Truss' "Eats, Shoots, and Leaves". I've read this book, I've belly-laughed my way through it, but, dear Sir or Madam, it's a book about punctuation, and Garner's dictionary is about usage, and if you need to have the difference explained, I can do so, but I'd gently advise you in the interim to refrain from posting any essays on Montaigne -- you gotta learn to crawl before you can run.

OK then -- now, onto the rest of the Lobster book, and my big question: Mr. Wallace, loyal readers of Mr. Wallace, blind fans of Mr. Wallace, Mr. Wallace's editors and publishers -- the footnotes -- and asides -- and the asides within footnotes -- Good GOD, people! Isn't there a better way? I've read some right good writers in my time, I think, Mencken, Hunter Thompson, Tom Wolfe, Victor Klemperer (shameless plug for a deceased author, but his 2 volume diary of life under Nazi rule is fascinating and compelling), and never, NEVER, have I encountered so many distractions from the main text. Mr. Wallace, you're an excellent writer, far better, and far more learned than me, can't you find some way to incorporate all that stuff in the text? Most other writers do.

Just for laughs, I'm going to google some of your stuff, if it's still online, and see how many (if any) of the footnotes made it into print. Bottom line: this is a great read, Mr. Wallace has an excellent command of the language, the insatiable curiosity of a true journalist, the self-deprecating humor of a philosopher who's had it thrust upon him (nobody wears that mantle voluntarily in this century, do they?), and the down-home common sense of a midwestern boy from the baby-boom generation ( I got your back, Dave ).

[footnote: I've just re-read this review before posting it, and it's pretty awful, grammatically, I see I've switched tenses in the middle of paragraphs several times, and spent way too much time on Garner's dictionary without fully explaining that it's an integral chapter in the book, but you know what? It's 4:30 in the morning here, and I'm going to bed. "Consider the Lobster" is great, but it has too many footnotes] (end footnote)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A true Talent, January 4, 2010
By 
Steiner (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Consider the Lobster and Other Essays (Paperback)
Consider the Lobster is a collection of muscular essays from the late David Foster Wallace on an absurdly wide range of topics. Each of them was commissioned by a particular magazine with a particular topic, hence Wallace's tendency to direct his voice at his readers like a canon. However, Wallace can never be contained by the banalities of his topic here. His work on the AVA's is a particularly damning portrait of the pornography industry, in all its unimaginable insanity and sadness. I particularly like the piece on the American Usage Wars, which involves an impressive demonstration of Wallace's knowledge regarding the history of English grammar debates over the course of the last several decades. Not all of the pieces here are great-the one on McCain in particular is repetitive and mundane. And DFW's tendency to use lengthy footnotes to 'fragment the linearity' of his text is a mere affectation. Still, this represents the work of a great mind, whose creativity and intellect will sorely be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consider the Author, June 9, 2006
By 
I read so many books that I rarely read one that I would consider the "page turner." CONSIDER THE LOBSTER not only fits into that rare catagory, but it is a work of non-fiction, the half of the bookstore I barely read.

David Foster Wallace's essays cover a large range of topics with a sort of disbelief; his irony and rhetoric monitors are turned on high. The most interesting aspect of this collection is not that the topics are thoroughly explored and grippig, but that the reader can start to sense what kind of person David Foster Wallace is.

This collection has commissioned pieces from "Premiere", "Rolling Stone", and "Gourmet" and all three essays prove that DFW does not enjoy social gatherings, has no use for topics like porn, politics, and food (how much of a difference is there between these three?) but has the capabilty to find enough things to write about that the printed article has to be cut to fit the magazine's space (in the case of "Rolling Stone", the piece DFW turns in is so large that it would take the entire print portion of the magazine and some of the ads.) Even still his relative boredom and disgust does not get hidden by any means. The best example of this is "Big Red Son", the essay written for "Premiere", which is him attending the 1998 Adult Video News Awards. Throughout the essay, you can tell that DFW is not amused or entertained by the movies or adult film stars but feels rather lonely in this setting.

His lack of enthusiasm in his commissioned pieces drive them the same way his enthusiasm drives his more literary explorations.

The best essay in the collection "Authority and American Usage" works because DFW is so engrossed in the material (the language battles) and his final assessment that the long essay (over sixty pages) is engaging enough to read in one setting. The idea that he is more interested in literary thought than worldly thought carries over into "Joseph Frank's Dostoevsky" and "Some Remarks on Kafka's Funniness From Which Probably Not Enough Has Been Removed", both of which display more thought and interest by DFW than his more regular subjects.

As a whole this collection represents David Foster Walace as a more interesting and talented writer than many others, and CONSIDER THE LOBSTER is further proof of his genius. (He did win the grant.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Consider the Reader, November 9, 2007
This review is from: Consider the Lobster and Other Essays (Paperback)
Consider the Lobster: And Other Essays

David Foster Wallace wields a mighty literary voice. Although not easily accessible, this book's collection of essays is not to be missed. From an insider's view of McCain's campaign trail, to an eldritch perspective of the Boston Lobster Festival, Wallace presents the modern essay as high art.

I say it's not easily accessible because his range and precision with the English language is nearly unmatched in modern literature. You might as well purchase a pack of index cards when you buy this one because you'll either have to pause every other page to look up a word, or use the cards to write them down to look up later.

If you want to experience the highest tier of modern wordsmithing and essay crafting buy this one today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm learnding!, April 4, 2006
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
(Note before beginning this doubtless overlong review: My five-star rating applies to every essay in this book except for Authority and American Usage, which I do intend to read eventually but haven't yet. All apologies for the exclusion.)

Love him or hate him, there's no denything that David Foster Wallace is a distinctive voice in the American literary world right now. And while I've greatly enjoyed pretty much all the fiction of his that I've read (especially the gargantuan novel Infinite Jest), Wallace has proven in his two essay collections that he might be even better at nonfiction. And Consider the Lobster and Other Essays, which pulls writings of Wallace's from the past decade, easily contains some of his best work. The frequently bizarre fetishism that accompanies Wallace's fiction is generally absent or at least restrained here, so if you're one of the many people who found Infinite Jest or Wallace's extensive catalogue of stories to be excessively dense or pretentious, that shouldn't scare you from this collection.

As he already proved with his previous collection A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again (especially the title essay), at his best Wallace is almost impossibly original and comprehensive essayist, always managing to cover his subject from every angle, including a few you wouldn't be likely to think of on your own. While all his essays have nominal subjects, Wallace is a master of tangents, freely ranging from his initial discussions to ruminate on, well, whatever comes to his mind. And since Wallace seems to know everything, he's free to write about anything, and I for one always find myself indulging his frequent asides and extended footnotes. He's also an extremely funny writer, both in his essays and otherwise, but not in a conventional sense. He doesn't make jokes per se; he mostly just addresses his subject matter in a deadpan, matter-of-fact way that sort of makes the comedy come out on its own.

Never is this skill more apparent than in the book's powerhouse opener Big Red Son, an account of Wallace's visit to Las Vegas for the 1998 Adult Video News Awards (Sort of a much less pretentious pretentious version of the Oscars, except involving porno movies). Wallace's rattling off the names of some of the industry's more promiment performers and titles (most of which probably aren't safe to reproduce here) is funny enough, but the humor goes into overdrive when he discusses the sights on display at the Adult Software exhibition("Imagine that the apocalypse took the form of a cocktail party") or pornography's recent "bizarro sleaze" movement, both of which had me laughing to the point of physical pain. Of course, the adult-film industry is an easy target for potshots, but Big Red Son is far more than just an extended mockery; it's a comprehensive treatment of the AVN awards in particular and the porno industry in general, complete with plenty of amusing anecdotes, eye-popping statistics, and thoughtful reflections on just what provides adult movies with such wide-ranging and enduring appeal.

While Big Red Son is definitely my favorite here, every essay I read was at the very least interesting, especially the longer ones that allow Wallace plenty of room for in-depth examination and discussion of complex topics. While Wallace isn't really an ideological writer, at least not in the left vs. right sense (although he is pretty clearly what you'd generally call a liberal), two of the book's extended essays deal directly with politics. Host is superficially a profile of right-wing LA radio host John Zeigler, but it quickly branches out into a look at the several of the dominant aspects of our cultural landscape: the rising prominence of the talk-radio industry and the business considerations behind it, the current state of political debate and why right-wing sentiments are becoming increasingly appealing, and the very evolution of media itself as more and more information options become available. The all-encompassing breadth of Wallace's treatment of Zeigler's show is hard to believe, as there are all sorts of prolonged asides and footnotes-within-footnotes arrayed all over the pages, addressing seemingly arcane material like just how a radio show broadcast gets on the airwaves and painstaking process of properly fitting the right amount of advertising into a show comprised of incendiary political rants.

Wallace's other foray into politics, Up, Simba, provides a first-person account of Wallace's trip to South Carolina with John McCain's improbably near-successful campaign for the 2000 Republican presidential nomination. Once again, Wallace goes into exhausive detail on pretty much everything you could want to know about, from biographical details on McCain; to the incredibly taxing existence of the correspondents and technicians on the campain trails; to the widespread disillusionment with modern politics and how it both helps and hurts McCain's chances; to the agonizing decisions that go into avoiding the negative-campaigning trap and crafting the image of a candidate who's not supposed to have an image. Wallace makes the ideal writer for a piece on the whole McCain "anti-candidate" phenomenon, as the manages to place everything in perspective and make some salient points without ever resorting to the opposing pitfalls of excessive preachiness or excessive cynicism. His relative outsider status and lack of a vested interest in the outcome actually make Wallace's insights feel even more convincing, as he has no axes to grind: while he obviously possesses a great deal of admiration for McCain as a man, Wallace makes it clear that he (like me) finds many of McCain's policy ideas extremely frightening. Wallace even manages to throw in a screed against non-voters (his logic being that not casting a ballot merely doubles the importance of the vote for an establishment candidate) without resorting to the same tired old pieties. At any rate, while they obviously deal with a decidedly different subject than Big Red Son, Host and Up, Simba provide two more examples of what makes Wallace's essay style unique and thought-provoking. Whether talking about pornogrpahy or politics, he doesn't take a position and argue it; he tries instead to provide the reader with a deeper understanding of the forces and ideas at work.

Of the book's shorter essays, two are worth a special mention. The first, How Tracy Austin broke my heart, sees Wallace taking on the subject of sports memoirs in the wake of his crushing disappointment at the sheer banality of Tracy Austin's autobiography. It may not sound like much of an essay premise, but Wallace eventually launches into a discussion of the painful irony that the exploits of our greatest athletes are so transcendent that they simply can't survive the transition to the page. It's actually sort of poignant watching Wallace struggle with this realization, as his initial excitment at reading about the life of one of his favorite tennis players dissolves into a realization that no autobiography can ever really provide a window into what separates the likes of Larry Bird and Michael Jordan from the rest of us.

My other favorite among the shorter essays here, the titular Consider the Lobster, starts out similarly to the much longer A Supposedly Fun Thing I'll Never Do Again. Much as that piece chronicled Wallace's dystopian experiences aboard a cruise ship, Consider the Lobster sees him visiting the annual Maine Lobster Festival, which he basically describes as a nightmarish tourist trap whose democratization of lobster-eating pretty much sucks all the fun out of it (if you've spent anywhere near a significant amount of time on Cape Cod, as I have, Wallace's observations on the self-contradictory nature of mass tourism will definitely ring true). Much as with How Tracy Austin Broke My Heart, though, Wallace's dissatisfaction with his experience is just a springboard for a broader, if in this case somewhat unrelated, discussion surrounding the moral issues that come with boiling lobsters alive for the sole purpose of eating them. Far from an angry, PETA-style manifesto, though, Consider the Lobster is really a meditation on ethics and the moral compromises we all make for the sake of convenience. After all, Wallace notes, we could easily make it through life without eating slaughtered animals, but most of us don't, and more to the point, we don't even generally acknowledge the possibility that rampant animal-eating may undermine our cherished moral pretensions. Why, Wallace asks? Well, he doesn't provide any answers, but it's still an interesting question, and one of many you may find yourself asking after reading Wallace's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Layout matters!, January 18, 2006
By 
P. Couture (Santa Cruz, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I completely enjoyed this collection for all of the reasons that other reviewers have given. I'd just like to add that the final essay, "Host", with its endless asides within asides, was much easier to read when it appeared in The Atlantic magazine. The notes and sub-notes ran in colored boxes. It was beautifully done and made the piece quite easy to follow. Too bad the version in this book is so unpleasant to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for the right reader, March 3, 2011
This review is from: Consider the Lobster and Other Essays (Paperback)
I loved this book. I found it funny, sad, fascinating and intriguing. The topics varied, but what I saw as Wallace's desire for meaning, sincerity, and something real showed up again and again. This is one of my favorite books.

I must warn you, however, that this book was my selection when it was my turn to choose the book for my book club, and no one else in the club felt even remotely the same way I did about the book. In fact, many of them didn't read most of the essays, saying that they found Wallace to be arrogant and that they couldn't figure out for whom he was writing. A couple of the members were upset because they didn't know all the words Wallace used and they considered themselves to be highly educated.

What I learned from that book club meeting is that this book in particular and Wallace's work in general tends to be well-received by certain types of readers.

The question is whether you're the type of reader who is likely to enjoy his work.

My best guess at the criteria for enjoying Consider the Lobster is

You like to think about things that are out of the ordinary or unusual
You like to read about other people thinking about things that are out of the ordinary or unusual
You are willing to think about things like the fact that lobsters are boiled alive when they're prepared for human consumption
You are highly interested in language usage and either have a large vocabulary or are willing to look up words you don't know
You like to read essays that include a great deal of thought about all sides of the issue at hand. If you want something simple or easy or something you might read in the mass-market consumer magazines, I would not recommend this book, because, in Consider the Lobster, Wallace goes into great detail and depth about all sides of the issues he explores.
You are not daunted by an author using a lot of footnotes.

One of the reasons I love this book is that I found it satisfying. Yes, it required a good deal of work on my part, but I felt that work was rewarded. If you are the type of reader who prefers to read for pure pleasure or escape, you may not enjoy this book.

If you do think this is the sort of book you would enjoy and you put in the effort, I think you will end up really liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another stellar essay collection from one of America's finest writers, September 26, 2007
By 
Sirin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Consider the Lobster and Other Essays (Paperback)
Consider the Lobster is very much in the vein of DFW's 90s essay collection 'A supposedly fun thing I'll never do again'. The style is perhaps a little tighter, a little more mature, a little wiser. The effect just as pyrotechnic. Once again DFW turns his vast and wide 'ranging intelligence to tackle the gauntlet Philip Roth laid down a few years ago, namely, the 'American Beserk', and how to tackle it. Many older writers have given up, the sheer hubris and purposeless of so much modern US activity way beyond their comprehension and radar. DFW, having grown up with the twin saturating forces of TV and marketing, probably goes further than any other contemporary writer (well, maybe along with Delillo), in attempting to grapple with this mightiest of themes.

So, we have in this collection 'Big Red Son', an essay on the porn industry which adopts a similar tack to an essay I recently read by English writer Martin Amis which uses irony to undermine the whole industry - i.e., don't adopt the feminist approach of saying how disgusting and degrading it is, just point out how ridiculous it is i.e. 'Ms Jasmin St Claire's cult celebrity status stems from her having broken the "World Gang Bang Record" by taking on 300 men in a row in Amazing Pictures' 1996 World's Biggest Gang Bang 2.' DFW may criticize what he considers to be the prevailing form of commentary in savvy American life, but boy does he use that device. This book positively drips with irony.
Certainly the End of Something or Other is a short piece, a book review on John Updike's recent novel 'Toward the End of Time' which both acknowledges what a great stylist Updike is, and just how much of a GMN (great male narcissist) he is. DFW and Updike are very different beasts in the American literary firmament.

What else?: a short, fairly uncompelling piece on humour in Kafka; an essay on Authority and American usage - a 20,000 word dictionary review which is way funnier and more interesting than you would expect (with a cracking riff on DFW's own attempts to teach standard white English to his black students).

The View from Mrs Thompson's is DFW's September 11 piece, an original take on those morbid events from his original observation point in the Midwest (as an antidote to all those East Coast literary views). It is one of those pieces that spends its whole time setting up the pieces, like the game Mousetrap, before delivering a thudding whoompf in the final sentence.

How Tracy Austin Broke My Heart is a piece that takes in tennis and celebrity sports biographies - two passions of DFW. He comes to the conclusion that the banality and cliche ridden personality of elite sports stars is not only accessory but fundamentally necessary to their talent.

Up, Simba is a long political piece covering the vicious 2000 Bush v McCain Republican primaries. This is competent, and revealing to those not familiar with US political campaigns, but I felt it was too jaded and never quite took off. Far better is the political content of 'Host', the final essay, with its original sub folders for footnotes, which pins down the right wing paradigms of John Ziegler and his WHAS radio station.

If this isn't enough, a couple of thought provokers on whether lobsters feel pain when steamed alive in the eponymous title essay, and a foray into 19th Century Russian classics with a review of Joseph Frank's Dostoevsky biographies.

All in all a witty, brain fuelled tour round modern America, and some of its more interesting and original sideshows. More essays soon please DFW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid collection of essays by DFW, February 8, 2006
By 
I have to admit, I was excited when I first heard that this was coming out. DFW's previous essay collection, A Supposedly Fun Thing..., was so completely engrossing and entertaining that it changed my expectations of just how good essays and essay writing can be. Reading that book made it clear that, much like with Joan Didion, the essay format just seems to suit DFW (albeit for difference reasons).

It practically goes without saying, then, that I had high expectations for this book. And for the most part, they were met. Except for the handful of essays I'd read previously in various publications, they were all new to me. I'd most anticipated reading the one on John Updike, however, since I've seen it referenced repeatedly, by various authors and for various reasons (not all of them good). I was somewhat surprised, then, when it turned out to be more reverential and less of a hatchet job than I expected. Although it was critical, it was also very funny, and really hit the mark.

The essay on American usage, which I'd read before, again failed to draw me in, while the essay from which this book gets its title is a classic DFW story-within-a-story. In it, DFW takes a trip to Maine to cover its lobster festival, only to use that as a starting point to discuss the very relevant and very complex issues of bioethics and animal rights. He expertly lays out the issues and arguments, but smartly stops short of answering any of his own questions. The essay on September 11 is a detailed and personal account of the events of that day, which he ties into a discussion of his life in small town Illinois, as well as the life and culture of his neighbors and fellow townspeople.

Beyond that, the essays in this book run the gamut, taking in everything from the adult video awards to the unique challenges of translating Russian literature to the niche that is sports biographies and finally ending up with his Atlantic Monthly story on political talk radio, in which he really lets loose with the footnotes and asides, in a manner that suggests that, for him, writing footnotes and asides is a compulsive behavior, and one which he is only marginally successful at containing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Consider the Lobster and Other Essays
Consider the Lobster and Other Essays by David Foster Wallace (Paperback - July 2, 2007)
$16.00 $9.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.