Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2002
"Consider love./Look here and there./Consider love./It's everywhere./Condsider love./Observe a while./It comes in every/shape and style." Sandra Boynton and her easily recognizable, quirky menagerie explore all the facets of love. From the hopeful, unbounded, deep, cautious, and shallow, to the extravagant, eloquent, hot, over-jealous, and problematic, love is all around us, and here to stay. Ms Boyton's engaging and creative text, full of rhyming wordplay, energy, and joy, is sure to put a big smile on your face, and is only outdone by her charming and amusing, ingenious signature illustrations. Together word and art offer a large slice of affection to be read and shared with those you love. Perfect for lovers of all ages, Consider Love is a sweet and endearing, feel-good gift book that's just right for Valentine's Day, birthdays, anniversaries, and really any and every time you want to let that special someone know how much you care. "Now consider/one love/in the/midst of/the crowd-/an affectionate love,/neither timid nor loud./A love that appreciates/fire, and grace./A love that adores/one remarkable face./A love that is steady./devoted,/and true-/Consider my love for incredible you."
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2003
"Consider Love" - subtitled "Its Moods and Many Ways" - is a sweet valentine filled with wisdom and heart. Though intended as a gift item for consenting adults, this is truly a novelty book for all ages. It was created by the prolific Sandra Boynton, a greeting card designer-turned-children's book author/illustrator who has previously created such clever board books as "But Not The Hippopotamus," "Blue Hat, Green Hat" (about the foibles of getting dressed), and "Horns to Toes" (about body parts). More than ever before, her greeting card past is apparent in this 32-page card. Combining semi-serious verse with cartoonish characters, she extols the virtues of love. "Consider love / Observe a while / It comes in every shape, and style...There's love that's shallow / Love that's deep / Love extravagant / Love...well, cheap." For the latter two instances, Boynton draws corresponding images of an elephant gifting his love with an entire, uprooted apple tree (extravagant love), and a gorilla presenting his bemused mate with an empty banana peel (cheap). A turtle pops out of his shell to express "bold love," a pair of porcupines ponder "love problematic," and a moose gazes admiringly at his own reflection to express "love unfounded." The conclusion is savvy enough to warm even the coolest heart, as it calmly requests that the reader "consider one love in the midst of the crowd - an affectionate love, neither timid nor loud...A love that is steady, devoted and true - Consider my love for incredible you."
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2003
First off, it's a Boynton book so that says it mostly right there. But this is also a very sweet and simple book perfect for your special someone. A very romantic little gift - no special occasion needed! I've read it over and over and so will you!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2004
Sandra Boynton has outdone herself.
It's difficult these days to find a rhyming-text book that isn't weak at best, nauseatingly poor at worst. Ms. Boynton's sublime gift of perfectly balancing rhyme and meter has apexed in this charming, tender, and ever-so-Boyntonly-dry little book of love.
Long-time Boynton fans will instantly recognize -- and love -- her sweet (but not too-too-sweet) animal characters with their wry expressions and hapless actions. The author's classic way with words covers every "type" of love imaginable while saving the tenderest and best for last -- "Consider my love for incredible you."
The closing line itself makes this book a perfect "love gift" for Valentine's Day or any "Day" at all.
Buy it for someone you love. And buy a copy for yourself, too!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2003
"Consider love./Observe awhile./It comes in every shape, and style."
In this little book of verse Sandra Boynton considers all kinds of love with coquettish rhymes and charming illustrations. There's "bold love" (displayed by a turtle climbing out of his shell to meet his mate), "love over-zealous" (two beavers who've gnawed heart shapes into tree trunks), or, my personal favorite, "love problematic"... two porcupines anticipating an embrace.
This book would make a perfect Valentines gift. The opening title page has a "To;" and "From:" slot in a red heart and the lines of the poem read like a greeting card. Even though it's classified as a children's book, I think it'd be very cute to give this as a gift to a sweetheart of any age.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2015
This book brought me to tears. People of all ages will love and appreciate the words of love and cute illustrations accompanying the rhymes.

For a first chance of love, a last chance of love, a reminder, a romantic gesture, a gift to a young person...you will love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2007
"Consider Love", is another delightfully charming book created by the talented Sandra Boynton. I have been buying her books to read to my daughter for years and I always find myself chuckling at the adorable illustrations and nice message tucked into her jaunty rhythmic style of writing. The best thing to do when first reading one of her books is to read it through once, then go back and look at each little character drawn, to capture their little expressions and mannerisms. My daughter is now nine years old and we both love "Consider Love". It is a colorful, fun,and interesting look at the many different forms that love may take. I highly recommend it to anyone who has little ones near by!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
I ordered several copies of this book for my grandchildren, ages 6 - 12, for Valentine's Day. The sentiments make you consider the many faces of love and Boynton's charming drawings bring those feelings home. This wonderful little book has a message for all ages.
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2014
I’m not sure exactly what it is that makes readers fall in love with Sandra Boynton’s sweet little picture and board books. Probably the adorable illustrations filled with such emotion and expression? Or the tenderness and feelings the stories evoke? Whatever it is I love them! In this one Sandra B. expresses the many many types of love; from shy love, to overly dramatic love and everything in between.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
Is there anything negative to be said about a Boynton book? I can't think of anything! We have almost her entire collection of books, and my toddler has loved them all! This one in particular made the perfect Valentine's Day gift for him!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.