Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best works on the JFK assassination
Anthony Summers' comprehensive work on the assassination of JFK is among the top books on the subject, ranking alongside Gaeton Fonzi's "The Last Investigation." The author's voluminous research brings together the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle in a lucid and rare way. In a nutshell, the anti-Castro Cuban organizations [CRC, Alpha-66, etc.]and their right-wing...
Published on October 21, 1999 by Theodore M. Herlich

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raises questions, but has no answers
I have to say that I am very disappointed in Anthony Summers with this book, after reading `Reclaiming History' by V. Bugliosi. I have previously enjoyed other biographies that Summers has written (Monroe, Nixon, Hoover). Summers did write this originally in 1980, but updated it in 1989 and 1996 and changed hardly anything of importance. Summers calls out all of the...
Published 24 months ago by R. Martenis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best works on the JFK assassination, October 21, 1999
This review is from: Conspiracy (Hardcover)
Anthony Summers' comprehensive work on the assassination of JFK is among the top books on the subject, ranking alongside Gaeton Fonzi's "The Last Investigation." The author's voluminous research brings together the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle in a lucid and rare way. In a nutshell, the anti-Castro Cuban organizations [CRC, Alpha-66, etc.]and their right-wing American supporters [Gerry Patrick Hemming and Interpen, for example], the Mafia [Trafficante, Marcello, Giancana, Roselli], and elements within the CIA [David Atlee Phillips, E.Howard Hunt, Theodore Shackley, David Sanchez Morales, William Harvey, etc.] and their numerous contract agents [David Ferrie, Guy Banister, Lee Harvey Oswald(?)]were collaborating in an effort to assassinate Fidel Castro and reverse the socialist revolution in Cuba. The Mob wanted their gambling casinos back, while the anti-Castro Cubans and the CIA wanted multi-national corporate capitalism back. In a classic case of "blowback", the forces working to destroy Fidel and the Cuban Revolution failed in their efforts and subsequently conspired to destroy the man [JFK] they believed responsible for their failure. Elements within the CIA, CIA contract agents, Mob and anti-Castro Cubans had the motive, means and opportunity to effectuate the "blowback" assassination of JFK. For the meticulously researched details which support this thesis, read Anthony Summers' work: "Conspiracy". It's one of the most well-reasoned and articulate works on the subject of the JFK assassination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW OF ANTHONY SUMMERS' CONSPIRACY BY JOHN CHUCKMAN, February 24, 2005
By 
John W. Chuckman (Citylights, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Conspiracy (Hardcover)
If you only ever read one book on the Kennedy assassination, this is the one it should be. Absolutely first-class journalism in a clear and compelling narrative.

There has been an industry in Kennedy assassination books, with nearly half of them ridiculous and nearly another half having no integrity. This book, now aging in some aspects, was startling when published, not startling because of extreme claims, but startling for its skilled marshaling of a huge body of facts. It is done so well, you will not be able to put it down.

My apologies to another reviewer, but Gerald Posner's book not only contains errors, it brings nothing fresh to the controversy. Posner simply re-interprets parts of the body of evidence according to his inclination, and he is an awkward writer. But it is the body of evidence itself which is in question, or at least many important parts of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better books on the JFK assassination., November 3, 2009
This review is from: Conspiracy (Paperback)
CONSPIRACY is one of the more comprehensive books I have read on the murder of John F. Kennedy.
I have read many different books on the subject in the last 32 years. Some are clearly cover propaganda and others are the investigative "real deal". Anthony Summers' work falls in the latter category.

He spends a lot of time on Oswald and Jack Ruby. He did provide some new material on them both that I hadn't read before.

Mr. Summers lists some of the many witness statements identifying the Grassy Knoll as the focus of attention after the shooting. The statements that gunsmoke was present and identifiable immediately after the shooter fled and personal reactions from spectators make a very convincing case for that location of a sniper.

What I found even more intriguing was the identity of "Maurice Bishop" and his alleged activities in Mexico City at the time "Oswald" was spotted at the Cuban Embassy there.
The link to the anti-Castro Cubans was more clear in this book also.
The French Connection section was a confirmation of some information I have read before.

CONSPIRACY is on a short list of books that I have read and would recommend on the JFK assassination.
That list would include the following books:
Mafia Kingfish: Carlos Marcello and the Assassination of John F. Kennedy
Kennedy Contract: The Mafia Plot to Assassinate the President
Contract on America: The Mafia Murder of President John F. Kennedy
Ultimate Sacrifice: John and Robert Kennedy, the Plan for a Coup in Cuba, and the Murder of JFK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, well written and still timely (Conspiracy by Anthony Summers), March 2, 2008
By 
Phillip M. Rose (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Edit January, 2010: I've just discovered that there is a problem with getting the title of this book to appear at the top of my review. It is Conspiracy, by Anthony Summers. Conspiracy It has appeared with similar titles, but it's still the same book. This book is still referred to by prominent researchers such as Jim DiEugenio, so it's worth picking up a used copy or checking it out of your local library. (End Edit January, 2010)

This book is well researched, with many references to publicly available sources including the Warren Commission report and the HSCA report. His status as a journalist for the BBC gave him access and the resources to interview some people who may not have talked to most other journalists or investigators. In this book, copyright 1980, Summers claimed that he was the first journalist to interview many of his sources. However, this was not usually because these sources were unknown to other journalists, but because the journalists and the corporations they worked for couldn't be bothered.

Summers did not appear to have an agenda in proving a particular point (e.g., Michael Collins Piper). While he does come to his own conclusions, these are informed by exhaustive research that lead to each point. He focuses on three main suspects, the Mafia, the anti-Castro community, and US intelligence agencies. Each of these entities are linked by solid evidence. The author spends considerable time on Oswald and Ruby, both of whom had links to the three main suspect entities.

The book was completed shortly after the HSCA published its report. The HSCA stated that there was a conspiracy, based on forensic evidence that there was more than one shooter, and testimony, however limited and narrowly focused, that the three main entities I cited above were involved in the conspiracy. It seemed to me that the HSCA tried to focus the blame on the Mafia, a safer option for US congressmen than entities more closely linked with the US government, such as the anti-Castro groups and US intelligence agencies.

I found it interesting to read about the HSCA from a current events point of view. Summers, in the final chapter titled "Aftermath", cites the lamentable but all too predictable responses by Time and Newsweek magazines, and the New York Times newspaper to the HSCA report. "Long before their reporters could possibly have studied the monumental verbiage of the report ... (t)hey gave space to articles ranging from the caustic to the openly sarcastic." Claiming to know the public mind on the topic, the corporate media owners said the public was tired of hearing about the JFK assassination.

Reading this book for the first time in 2008, I naturally made comparisons between the media coverage of the JFK assassination in 1980 and the coverage of the 9/11 events post-2001. At least in 1978-80, the BBC was willing to sponsor a serious TV documentary about the JFK assassination, produced by Mr. Summers, as well as this book. Post 2001, the BBC has joined the corporate media in covering up alternative conspiracy theories about the JFK assassination and 9/11. At least we still have the Internet.

I have read several books on this topic, but still found new information and insights here. I found Mr. Summers to be an engaging author, regardless of his recitation of details, many of which I'd already read about elsewhere. I highly recommend this book. The case is definitely not closed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine overview of the case, July 28, 2013
By 
TLR (California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Conspiracy (Hardcover)
The original 1980 edition and revised 1989 edition are hard to find but worth tracking down. Investigative author and BBC reporter Summers raises many questions and is able to answer very few of them. For those not able to accept living with such uncertainty, there is the cocoon-like security blanket of the official story and its defenders like Posner and Bugliosi. For the rest of us, we know there will be always be mysteries in this case that we may never find the solutions to.

Summers writes: "As I did more and more work on this [the JFK assassination] I became increasingly more ashamed for my mainstream American colleagues...In 1978 I went to Dallas, 15 years after the assassination, knocking on doors of witnesses. My preamble would be 'I'm sure you spoke to everyone back in 1963,' and the response would be, much to my surprise, 'No. Where have you been all these years?' The media and in some cases law enforcement, had never spoken to them." "The key targets of suspicion can now be distilled to three - members of the Mafia, American intelligence personnel, and anti-Castro activists...Nobody I spoke to on the Assassinations Committee...felt that the case had yet been exhaustively investigated. All agree that lack of time and funds forced the Committee to leave important research unfinished."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent piece of investigative journalism, August 18, 2013
This review is from: Conspiracy (Hardcover)
Summers book is an exhaustive piece of investigation which seeks an explanation for all of the threads to the JFK assassination puzzle which the Warren commission and the HSCA left unexplained. Summers unearths starling revelations mainly involving "rogue" CIA elements and cuban exiles and other right wing extremists. Summers work stops short of a conclusion, which is appropriate for the era in which is was written and for the vein of the book, which is more of an examination instead of a polemic(see Bugliosi, Vincent/Posner). For beginners to the case, I would recommend reading this book along with the Last Investigation and Henry Hurt's book Reasonable Doubt. All three of those books are more informative and honest than anything bugliosi or Posner wrote 10 and 20 years later. These three books will give you an informed start to begin investigating the labyrinth which is the JFK case for yourself and all of the startling revelations which have been unearthed since Hurt's book was written in 1985. One need only read Summer's lead in on the cover of his book to understand where the evidence he unearthed leads. Read it for yourself and make your own determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meticulously Documents the Case for a JFK Conspiracy, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy (Hardcover)
Anthony Summers did his homework on this one. From Oswald's hidden connections to the CIA to the names and backgrounds of the shooters on the Grassy Knoll, he has put the puzzle together. The depth of his research is impressive, and also his ability to synthesize mounds of information and come up with logical conclusions. He does not pull punches, but methodically lays the facts out and then presents his case. Many of the facts he presents were not well known at the time he wrote this book, and much has come to light more recently that substantiates his conclusions. He gives credit for this largely to the late Mary Ferrell whose research has been instrumental in unraveling the "crime of the century." Even today, the Mary Ferrell Institute is a wealth of information that is available online for anyone interested in research in this area.
Robert Kirkconnell
Author of: American Heart of Darkness: Volume I: The Transformation of the American Republic into a Pathocracy (Volume 1)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT "THE DEFINITIVE BOOK," BUT A VERY INTERESTING ONE, August 27, 2012
By 
This review is from: Conspiracy (Paperback)
Anthony Summers has written many other books, such as The Eleventh Day: The Full Story of 9/11, Official and Confidential: The Secret Life of J, etc. He said in the Preface to this 1989 book, "For more than two years I immersed myself in the massive documentation of the Kennedy case and traveled widely to question a great number of witnesses... I know of no professional colleague who was ever assigned to delve so deeply or so long into the case." (Pg. xxi)

He begins by reviewing the evidence; he observes that the House Select Committee on Assassinations (HSCA) said the autopsy doctors made a "glaring mistake": the entrance wound was actually four inches higher than recorded in the autopsy report. (Pg. 11) He also admits that "There is an almost imperceptible forward movement of the President's head," before the side of his skull exploded, with a violent backward motion of the head. (Pg. 13) He dismisses the 132 witnesses who believed that only three shots had been fired, as "almost all witnesses gave statements hours---and, in some cases, weeks---later, when the generally published version of the assassination had already put the total of shots at three." (Pg. 18)

He admits that Oswald's use of an alias to buy a gun "remains perplexing... Oswald not only gave his own post office number... but also invited exposure... by going out to murder the President with a 'Hidell' identity card in his pocket and a 'Hidell'-purchased rifle under his arm..." (Pg. 63) Oswald claimed that the photos of him with guns were "faked," yet Summers notes "his widow's statement that she took them for her husband, have seemed persuasive evidence that this was so." (Pg. 63-64)

Concerning the dictabelt recording that convinced the HSCA that there had been FOUR shots, and thus a conspiracy, he notes that the Academy of Sciences ruled that the recording seemingly had been done a minute or so after the shooting, he suggests, "The Dictabelt needle could have jumped back---as sometimes occurred with that old-fashioned system---or the illusion of 'crosstalk' may have been caused during copying of the original police recording." (Pg. 475) He concludes, " is probably impossible for anyone... to say the evidence proves the President was shot in the head from the rear, from in front, or perhaps from both directions at virtually the same instant." (Pg. 479)

This is one of the better JFK "conspiracy" books, and it (or its revision, Not in Your Lifetime) will be of considerable interest to anyone studying the controversy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Investigative Masterpiece!, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy (Hardcover)
"Conspiracy" by Anthony Summers is a riveting sequence of events unveiling unmistakable evidences that the assassination of the late John F Kennedy was nothing less than a conspiracy.

With intrigue, the author exploits the probably of a "coup d'etat" tailored by renegade CIA members who were closely associated with the Mafia and anti-Castro movement, giving new insight to the level of involvement the US had in Cuba prior to the assassination.

Immersed in espionage, saboteurs and covert operations, Summers' gripping evidences substantially overshadow the Warren Commission with its supposed "lone gunman" theory as well as the congressional investigation conducted in 1979, inconclusively assessing the possibility of a second gunman.

In addition to re-evaluating former incongruent evidences by previous commissions, this book is a compilation of captivating and well documented research that will continue to engender much debate. No doubt "Conspiracy" is an investigative masterpiece, the inquisition of which startles the very imagination!
Wm Marsh ~ Mierzejewski
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy (Paperback)
I read information about this JFK assasination, but not with this perspective and detail, so i recommed to people who wants to know the true about JFK assasination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Conspiracy
Conspiracy by Anthony Summers (Hardcover - June 1980)
Used & New from: $0.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.