Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Surprise
I was really expecting these books to get alittle stale, but that is not the case. This is an intense, riviting adventure. The action was great, the romance was good and I am looking forward to the next one in fact I have already pre-ordered it.

Jack Norton is a Ghostwalker, his twin brother Ken is also a Ghostwalker. When Ken is captured on a mission, Jack...
Published on November 1, 2006 by Elaine C McTyer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Swimming Upstream
I can see I'm going against the current of 5 stars and good reviews.
This was the first book by this author I tried, but I just couldn't get in to it.

Didn't finish this, too hard to swallow.
Published on November 8, 2010 by bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Surprise, November 1, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was really expecting these books to get alittle stale, but that is not the case. This is an intense, riviting adventure. The action was great, the romance was good and I am looking forward to the next one in fact I have already pre-ordered it.

Jack Norton is a Ghostwalker, his twin brother Ken is also a Ghostwalker. When Ken is captured on a mission, Jack goes in to save him and he is captured. Both men are tortured but Jack gets Ken out and then has to save himself. While trying to escape he finds an old friend and his family are with a circus in Africa. Jack is known for his ability to put his emotions, those he has, on hold and get the job done.

Briony is the sister of his friend. She is a trapese artist as well as her brothers. When she meets Jack they are immedately attracted. In fact it is the first time either has been so filled with these emotions. They know Jack has to leave, but he leaves in a very bad way, leaving Briony very hurt.

Two months later she finds she is pregnant, when she goes to her doctor he immedately tries to capture her and sedate her. She must fight her way out of his office. She knows she was adopted and now she realizes how she has been controlled and studied her whole life. Jack has mentioned Dr Whitney and now they are sure he is still alive. Her only safety can be with Jack.

When she tells Jack about the baby, they know someone orchestrated their meeting, and they know they have been geneticially created for each other. Dr Whitney has no intention of letting her or the special child she carries escape him.

I think this is one of the best books in this series. At the end we learn she has a twin too. The next book should be the story of Ken and Mari, and I for one can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read! Hard to put down., November 3, 2006
By 
Neilisa (Tulsa, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
Jack, like his twin brother Ken, is a Ghostwalker. And like other Ghostwalkers, he and his brother have lived hard lives, beginning with a traumatic childhood that included Jack killing his father in self-defense.

Ken and his Ghostwalker team are sent on a mission to save a US Senator and a team of scientists who have been kidnapped by an African warlord and held for ransom. Ken is captured in the process so Jack and his team go in to recover him. Jack is captured. He, however, makes his escape and runs into Briony and his brothers.

They agree to help him, but before he leaves, he and Briony have an affair. Several months later, Briony is told that she is pregnant and is suddenly on the run because a shadowy group wants her and her baby. Out of options, Briony turns to Jack for help and protection. Her intention is to stay only long enough until things cool down. But Jack has other plans. He walked away from Briony once and he wasn't going to let her go again.

This is the fourth Christine Feehan book I've read and so far it's my favorite. It's easy to fall in love with Jack and Briony. They're both stubborn, can't keep their hands off each other, but I suppose it's something about their love and devotion to each other that eventually won me over.

Well, it's more than that. Jack, ruthless and cold-blooded in carrying out his missions, is suddenly trying to adjust to becoming a father, and a husband. He devotes himself to reading baby books, building a cradle, and tries to "manage" Briony's pregnancy. Briony, on the other hand, is used to dealing with guys, after growing up with four over-protective and pushy brothers. She simply ignores Jack's orders and does exactly what she wants to do.

You'll enjoy reading this book. It's entertaining, lively, and mesmerizing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trust no one, February 17, 2007
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
Warning: If you decide to read the first book, have the others waiting for you on your nightstand because you won't be able to wait to read the next book. This is actually my favorite of Feehan's series and I have read everything of hers I can get my hands on. In this one, with each book she reveals a little more of a complex scientific experiment with human paranormal abilities that has been going on for years. From the first book we know the experiment has been repeated at least once but were there other times and other subjects? Where are the subjects of the original experiment? And do they know what was done to them? There are betrayals of everything the characters believed was true. There may be conspiracies going on at the highest level of government - maybe more than one government. With each book, Feehan peels back another layer and reveals to the reader that the sheer scope of the project was even greater than we thought. The characters - not innocent pawns, but strong, smart people, are ultimately flawed each in their own way. These characters, each subjects of the experiment, are endowed with special paranormal abilities (we readers have all secretly fantasised about having such powers.) Feehan shows how those abilities would inevitably come only at a price to the human body. The characters must fight the effects the experiment has had on their systems, they must work out the flaws in their natures to form friendships and romantic relationships, and they must work together to figure out what was done to them, what was the true purpose of the experiment, and who amongst the others, changed like themselves, can they trust. It is an exciting, fantastic, and totally addictive series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Walker series continues, February 13, 2007
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
As an avid Christine Feehan reader, I enjoy all of her books. This book is about Jack Norton, a ghost walker who is part of another group experimented on by Dr. Whitney, (Jack is psychicly and genetically enhanced). In the first book Shadow Game, we are led to believe that Dr. Whitney is dead. In the book before this one, Night Game, evidence is strong that he is still alive. More groups of people he has enhanced are coming forward. Jack goes on a mission to retrieve his twin brother, Ken, who was captured and tortured in the Congo. Jack is successful is getting Ken out, but is captured himself by the same group. Jack and his brother are both very skillful snipers. Jack escapes, but does not leave the area before destroying the camp where they held and tortured him. While trying to get help in leaving the country, he meets Briony (she is one the infant girls Dr. Whitney first experimented on) and together they fight to survive a meeting with enemy soldiers. In close proximity to her, Jack reacts physically to her presence. Something he did not expect. As a killer and someone who suffered great abuse in his home life, he thought his emotions died a long time ago. He never wanted a woman in his life for fear that he would be like his father. The dialogue between the two brothers is great. Jack's struggle to come to grips with his strong feelings for Briony is compelling. They both believe Dr. Whitney created their attraction to one another and put them together in the hopes of creating the next generation of soldiers. Dr. Whitney may be able to create a physical attraction, but can he create an emotional attraction or is that still up to them? At first, I was disappointed that this book was not about one of the original ghost walkers form the first book; but after reading it, I have changed my mind. The next book is about Jack's brother, Ken. Briony discovers she has a twin also. Guess who Ken's match is? This story due out the end of February '07. Can't wait to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully well written book..., December 7, 2006
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
After rescuing his brother, GhostWalker Jack Norton is taken captive and subsequently tortured by a sadistic, evil man. When he escapes, Jack knows that his chances of getting away are about 50/50. While he has skills that his enemies aren't prepared for or expecting, he's also outnumbered. When he finds another GhostWalker in the jungle where he's hiding, he's immediately suspicious.

Briony Jenkins and her four brothers came to Africa to perform in their family owned circus. Adopted as a young girl, Briony has never been able to stand the touch of even her own family. Being in Africa is one of the hardest things Briony has ever had to endure because she can feels the emotions of those around her. When she literally runs into someone during one of her nightly runs, she's mystified by the fact that she feels none of those emotions which plague her daily.

Jack and Briony soon learn that they are nothing more than puppets in a show that is being run by the crazy Dr. Peter Whitney. Jack, with demons of his own, tries to be noble and let Briony go. However, when she turns up on his doorstep begging for his help, there is little he can do but help her. He knows that he'll never let her go now that she sought him out. Together, along with Jack's brother, Ken, they must protect more than themselves. They must protect their future and that of their families.

Jack Norton is one tortured hero, that's for sure. He may have come off as "overly" tortured until Feehan really brought the reader into his past. After that, you have no doubt that Jack and his brother Ken are extremely tortured men who are afraid of ending up like the man that fathered them. While I did like Briony, she cried too much for my taste. Other than that, I had no problem with her. :) The book was extremely fast moving and really flowed. It didn't seem like it was as long as it was.

In March 2007, we'll get Ken Norton's book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like 4.5 Stars, December 14, 2006
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a big fan of Feehan's and this book was very close to 5 Stars for me. I had only one real issue with it, the Ghost Walkers find out that Dr. Whitney may be pairing them up into couples (by messing with pharamones) and no one is all that upset. I will leave room for the possibility that that will be dealt with in later books.

One of the things I loved about this book is that even though Briony is not anchor, she has been able to (with a lot of pain and will) live among people. She is even a member of her adopted family's famous trapieze act. Jack is a member of one of the other Ghost Walker teams, he and his twin appeared in Nico's story. Jack and Briony meet in Africa, she and her brothers are performing at a festival. Jack has been taken hostage saving his identical twin Ken; Briony and Jack meet up after Jack has escaped. Jack was tortured and Briony helps him to saftey.

Jack is the first person like her that Briony has ever met and they are instantly atracted. After thier short affair, Jack leaves thinking he is not a good enough man for Briony. But Briony soon finds out she is pregnant and that for much of her life she and her family were lied to. Now people are after her and they want her baby. Her loving brothers try to protect her, but Briony fears she will get them killed. She decides that she must learn to protect herself, and that Jack (the most leathal person she or her brothers know) is the ideal man to teach her. So she heads to Jack's Montana home.

Jack and Briony's relationship is well devolped and enjoyable. The byplay between Jack in Ken is funny. Some people feel that the Game series is to formulaic, but good romance novels are all about the characters and the journey of thier relationship. Feehan's characters are well devolped and come across like real people despite the extraordinary circumstances of thier lives. Also this journey is worth going along for the ride. Here's looking forward to Ken and Kaden's stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christine Never lets you down!, November 15, 2006
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
I own everyone of her books starting with Dark Prince. I even started collecting each book for each different series because with

everyone its a book within it self but its part of a story line. Conspiracy Game is number 4 in a series of books she has been writing

about The Ghost Walkers.

They are an Elite group of Soldiers from the military that come in to save the day and each other, they never leave a man behind.

In this book they are finding out that the Doctor that gave them their powers also gave them women that will only connect to them

on a level never felt before.

Its like finding out there is a man or woman out there, that a Doctor created in a lab that will only relate, react and be yours!

Its very disturbing but it gives a whole another meaning the words soul mate!

Ghost Walkers are solders thats became part of a elite group, that broke away from the Doctor that gave them their gifts because

they found out he was a very evil man.

He did experiments on girls at a very young age, all unwanted girls, called one his daughter and put the other girls out into the

world not knowing they have these gifts. He daughter is now married to the leader of the Ghost Walkers and fighting along with

them against the man she thought was her father but turns out she too was experimented on. How wicked is that?

These girls are all grown up now and are old enough to have children. The Ghost Walkers are to be the fathers of their children to

create a race of Super Solders.

The stories are filled with love, fighting, sex and finding out there is a soul mate for you. Yet how would you feel if you knew that

your bodies DNA is made to react to one man only? That you won't be able to stand another man touching you, yet you meet a

stranger that drives you so wild that you can't not let him touch you? That you must be with him and you will fight hell to be with

him? That your love you feel is really your body reacting to his on a DNA level? How would you feel?

To find out how one woman reacts to this knowledge, you need to read Conspiracy Game! Then go and pick up the rest

starting with Shadow Game the first book about Ghost Walkers and how they came to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly different from the usual Carpathian alpha male, November 3, 2006
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
Of this series, Mind Game remains my favorite. But this book is a good continuation of the series, and much better than Night Game which was just so-so.

Like a previous reviewer wrote, I too was a little disappointed about the 1 genetic mate thing. Other than the villains being vampires, and the heroes sucking blook and the no sunlight rule. The Game books are almost similar to the Carpathian series. Except in the Game series, the villains are just other genetic guinea pigs done by Dr. Whitney.

I was also disappointed that Jack Norton, the hero of this book, is not part of the original Ghostwalker team from the other books. I would have liked to have some interaction w/ Briony, the heroine, and the other flowered named women that were part of the original 12 girls experimented on.

As for the story, the plot has evolved into more of the battles of the good psychic soldier team versus bad psychic soldier team. Dr. Whitney, the original creator of all the Ghostwalkers is now suspected of being alive and manipulating everyone to mate properly.

Briony's circus act has been hired to perform in Africa, where Jack has been held and tortured. After Briony helps Jack when he escapes, the sparks fly but he leaves her anyways because he doesn't think she'll fit his life and because of his emotional history w/ his father. Unfortunately, there is a consequence from the passion of Jack and Briony, and Dr. Whitney's team will do anything to capture Briony. Hunted and on the run, there is only one option for Briony to go for protection.

The plot of the story was good, but I will say I got kind of tired of hearing how big and bad the Norton twins are from everyone. It was like reading a Carpathian book where someone is constantly harping on how big and bad Gregori or some such is. I couldn't help rolling my eyes everytime that dialogue came up, and it came up often.

I will say that Jack is a little different from all other Feehan alpha males in that he was really harsh and crude when he dumped Briony. And when Briony and her brother confronted Jack, he actually told her brother that he bad worded her. I was a little shocked because I don't remember the author ever having a hero be so mean to his mate before. Jack also is alot more agressive sexually than her previous heros as well. There is actually one scene that made me kind of uncomfortable.

Overall, it was good continuation w/ the books and I will continue to read her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just keeps getting better, November 5, 2009
By 
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
This second series from Christine Feehan is still going strong. I have gotten a little tired of her Carpathian series but the problems with it certainly don't stem from her writing ability. She can still pack a punch and this newest in the GhostWalker series never slows its pace from beginning to end.

Many have already given the plot analysis so I won't go into that. Ken and Jack Norton are genetically enhanced soldiers who are also identical twins. For me this was the most enjoyable aspect of the book. I loved their camaraderie and obvious love and devotion toward each other. The dialogue between them is realistic and funny and will make you wish you too had a twin you could banter telepathically with all day long. When Jack's preconditioned mate comes into their lives they open their arms and hearts to embrace her and the three of them make a family that will melt your heart. And once melted these scarred warriors will steal the puddle. Feehan obviously does a lot of research for these books because the details of combat scenes are so realistic you will feel the bullets flying by.

(Spoiler)

The only negative I found in this book was the three of them being slow to realize a bug had been planted IN Briony leading the bad guys to her over and over. Someone of Jack's caliber would have thought of that first thing. But the book is so good I can forgive her trying to slide that one by us. And the best thing is that I can continue to read about the brothers since Ken is up next for his HEA. Fortunately I already have it on hand so as soon as I closed one I could open the next one. I recommend you buy them as a pair because I bet you'll want to do the same thing.

Well done, Ms. Feehan, well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arguably one of Feehan's strongest heroines, November 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) (Mass Market Paperback)
Conspiracy Game is the fourth book in the Ghost Walker series about physically and psychically enhanced warriors, and the women who were the guinea pigs for the military enhancement project. It's by far my favorite of Feehan's series.

Briony Jenkins is a performer in her family's circus act. Unknown to her, she's also one of the young women from the original experiment, who'd been adopted out to a family. Her superior physical skills are a benefit in the act, but her extreme empathy, which causes her to feel the emotions of everyone around her, makes being near people physically painful.

Jack Norton rescues his twin Ken from a torturer, only to be captured and tortured himself. He escapes, seriously injured, and senses another Ghostwalker nearby, who turns out to be Briony. In a nice twist, she saves his life, gets him back to her brothers, the eldest of whom knew Jack in the military.

Her brothers keep telling her to stay away from Jack, but whenever she's near him, she has the novel sensation of being without pain because he's an anchor. And the more she's near him, the more they're drawn to each other. They have a brief romantic interlude, then Jack leaves, intending never to return because of demons in his own past.

Hmmm. How much to reveal? I think I'll stop there. Suffice it to say that Jack and Briony were literally made for each other, and that the evil Dr. Whitney is determined to capture Briony, while both he and the African warlord are after Jack.

The suspense kept me on the edge of my seat, with one dangerous situation after another, but just as exciting was the emotional journey of the characters.

Briony is quite possibly one of the strongest heroines Feehan's ever written. Not only does she have the Ghostwalker enhancements, but she's lived her whole life without any support, with nearly constant pain, and she's learned to work around it. What was most heartbreaking was that her family didn't believe her about the pain--they assumed it was all psychological.

Jack has the opposite problem--he's learned not to feel, and he's afraid to be close to anyone but his twin for fear of what he'll do--partially because of years spent as a sniper, and partially because of a horrible, dark secret in his past. He's also endearing, as is Ken (whose story I hope will be written soon), because he's not movie-star handsome. Both brothers are covered with scars.

This series has developed Feehan's famous quirk: soulmates. But I really cannot object, because I like the way it was explained--Dr. Whitney produced mated pairs deliberately so that he could breed his own army. Plus, the pairs haven't just fallen in line with their programming. They end up together, but there's more to it than just pheromones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4)
Conspiracy Game (GhostWalkers, Book 4) by Christine Feehan (Mass Market Paperback - October 31, 2006)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.