Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Consumer Guide to Home Energy Savings (Ninth Edition)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Pop Ups Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 3, 2008
This book is filled with practical advice and energy saving suggestions, with illustrations and instructions that explain the "hows and whys" of energy savings. The book takes you through the house from attic to appliances, from windows to CFL lights, with the Real Story on each. The advice is highly practical and much better than some books that simply point out the obvious. The book is FULL of practical projects you can do this weekend to make your home more efficient. This book will pay for itself the first weekend you own it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2008
Written by Jennifer Thorne Amann (Senior Associate in the Buildings and Equipment Program at the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy) Consumer Guide to Home Energy Savings is a handy resource for homeowners, state utility companies, and anyone else interested in saving money and reducing environmental impact. Now in its ninth updated edition, Consumer Guide to Home Energy Savings offers in-depth comparisons between available energy-saving technologies, cost-effective repair and replacement options, step-by-step instructions for finding the right equipment for one's needs, and much more. "Try to install your clothes washer as close to the water heater as reasonably possible and insulate the hot water pipes leading to it to minimize heat loss through the pipes. Also, if possible, locate the washer and dryer in a heated space. This is particularly important with dryers, which depend on heat to dry." Simple black-and-white illustrations help to clarify key points in this solid money-saving guide. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2012
great book but as a librarian I find it frustrating that it's not up to date as of Feb 2012 because many patrons still want a few print version at least
--esp. those who have trouble using computers or can't afford one or the internet service each month.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
This venerable book has been updated several times since its initial publication in 1990 and is now in its 10th edition. I consulted this book when I was writing Creating A Sustainable Home: Fast, Cheap, and Easy Ways to Save Energy and Money, and found it to be a comprehensive resource for saving energy and money.

The authors lead off with a helpful checklist for actions you can take today, this week, this month, and this year. I must object to the first item on the list, though: "Turn down the temperature on the water heater to the warm setting (120 degrees.)" Legionnaires disease is a real danger with water temperatures under 123 degrees.

I especially like the point about return on investment (ROI). Saving money after installing a new furnace, for example, will give you a return on investment each year, and that return is tax free! The section on appliances is also quite useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2009
This is a very detailed book which lays out for you what items drains energy needlessly and what a homeowner can do to remedy the situation. A lot of things can be done cheaply and with no effort all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
A great resource for understanding your home and how to manage its energy effectively and efficiently!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
Got for class and enjoyed reading!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Easy read, well categorized, good graphics. Really helpful in getting me to where I know what to ask for, what to do, for winterizing my home and saving lots of money on fuel costs. I also got an energy audit, for just $100, and they told me what areas are priority energy leaks. I could understand their evaluation bcs of this book. Now ready to start winterizing, incrementally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.