Robin non-member


Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $2.00 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Buy Music Add to Cart
$11.99  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Continuo

Avishai Cohen, Avishai CohenAudio CD
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)

Price: $11.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 9 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, Sept. 2? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to your music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 10 Songs, 2006 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2006 $11.99  

Amazon Artist Stores

All the music, full streaming songs, photos, videos, biographies, discussions, and more.
.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Continuo + Gently Disturbed + Seven Seas
Price for all three: $40.08

Buy the selected items together
  • Gently Disturbed $11.99
  • Seven Seas $16.10

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 23, 2006)
  • Original Release Date: 2006
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Alliance
  • ASIN: B000FDEU12
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #50,709 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Nu Nu
2. Elli (In Memory Of Elisheve Greenbaum)
3. One For Mark
4. Ani Maamin
5. Samuel
6. Emotional Storm
7. Calm
8. Arava
9. Smash (Dedicated To My Sister Ela)
10. Continuo (Dedicated To Joaquin Marco)

Editorial Reviews

Bassist/composer Avishai Cohen, a jazz visionary of global proportions -DownBeat, and one of the 100 Most Influential Bass Players of the 20th Century -Bass Player Magazine, offers to the world his spectacularly beautiful new recording, Continuo, a project that gloriously combines the influences of classical and Middle Eastern music. These elements together produced the combination of sounds I was looking for, and created a nice balance between composed and improvised music, says Cohen. Continuo (the follow up to the critically acclaimed At Home) displays the magic of a working band, which in this music is stronger than any concept, says Cohen. He continued, I'm very grateful to have two young masters (pianist Sam Barsh and drummer Mark Guiliana) of their instruments with me to convey that they are young in their ever thirsty minds for more information, and old enough in their souls to emotionally express themselves on a very high level through the compositions. The trio, a crackerjack unit that has been on the road for the last two and a half years, welcomed into the fold a long-time collaborator of Cohen's, fellow Israeli Amos Hoffman, who contributed his singular oud playing to several tracks. Avishai explains, a lot of the new material on Continuo has a through-composed, classical music-like nature to it, as well as open sections for solos. In addition to that, there are strong Middle Eastern influences in some parts of the compositions. Contemplating the material for the album, I realized I wanted an additional color added to the trio in order to enhance those influences. There was only one man for the job, Amos Hoffman. I'm excited and proud to offer you some moments of my life once again, reflected through the music, says Cohen.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
(16)
4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First review not fair to artist August 13, 2006
Format:Audio CD
I'm writing this review because I feel that S. Crabb's opinion is unjustified. Avishai Cohen is a great composer who tends to use vamps and grooves more often than the typical acoustic jazz musician but certainly not as often as Crabb conveyed in his review. The album hardly feels monotonous or repetitive.

His compositions have a poetic simplicity and creative elegance that is lacking in a lot of modern jazz music. As a bass player, Cohen makes no effort to overshadow the other members of his trio. Oudist Amos Hoffman makes several appearances on the album, adding to Cohen's trademark Middle Eastern sound.

This is certainly not Cohen's best work. Give that prize to his second solo album "Colors." It is quite clear that a larger ensemble serves as a better vehicle for his work. Continuo is a fine album worth the $11 though.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuo February 19, 2007
Format:Audio CD
In his latest album "Continuo," Avishai Cohen displays virtuosic bass playing and a series of filthy awesome compositions. Although I see where the reviewer who complained of over-repetiveness is coming from, I disagree. Yes, the themes in the songs are repeated, but they change each time in arrangement, tone, and resolution and every single song has quality improvisation.

Sam Barsh (piano), Mark Guiliana (drums, percussion), and Amos Hoffman (oud) all demonstrate remarkable lyricism, deft skill, and incredible musicianship in handling Cohen's twisting time signatures and powerful rhythmic phrases.

Also, the compositions in this CD have some of the most emotionally powerful (sometimes almost pump-upish, sections in any music I've ever heard. The music is always accesible and beautiful, but never at the expense of depth and integrity of composition.

Every single track on this CD is top quality. I highly recommend it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuo January 4, 2007
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
There will be no strife in the world if we could all sit back and listen to the poetry of "Continuo."

I had to go to Amazon just to find Avishai Cohen, the new heavy-hitter of jazz bass and an exceptional composer.

Listen to Avishai Cohen's compositions played on his accoustic and electric basses with Sam Barch on the piano, Mark Guiliana, drums and percussion -- and get this, Amos Hoffman on the oud.

The oud, a mideastern stringed instrument, has the exotic pluck of all that is good about the world.

"Continuo," is a world of wonderful listening. Cohen's other CD in my Collection, "Colors" is another marvel.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful. August 23, 2006
By R. Amit
Format:Audio CD
Wonderful album, my Avishai Cohen's favorite so far. All together, and each one by himself - a great pleasure, specially with the wonderful Amos Hoffman joining with his Oud.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great CD December 17, 2006
Format:Audio CD
This is one of the only contemporary CDs that make it to my CD after 3-4 times. It's melodic yet full of energy. The Oud plays an important part in making this something that sounds different, Middle Eastern.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz music with ethnic influences of the best variety January 15, 2012
Format:Audio CD
Gently Disturbed is the album that made Avishai Cohen explode on the European Jazz scene, attracting huge crowds and expanding way beyond the traditional jazz audience. And yet Continuo, the album that preceded Gently Disturbed is the one I find the most interesting, perhaps because the blend of musical cultures is slightly more pronounced.

It's no surprise that Avishai Cohen and his trio are adept at drawing from multiple influences: Cohen himself is Israeli born and bred but came to musical prominence in New York City backing the likes of Chick Corea. Sam Barsh started classical piano before switching to jazz with a blend of funk, r&b and groove on top. These threads are immediately apparent when you listen to his playing. Mark Guiliana is a New Jersey born drummer with fingers in both the jazz and the rock pies and adept at mixing both. Maybe this overview of the trio give you a sense of the musical blend I was talking about earlier. The addition of Amos Hoffman on Oud on a couple of tracks adds the little bit of spice that makes Continuo exotic.

What I like about the music on Continuo is that it's uncompromisngly melodic without being tame. It seems to me that Jazz has a complicated relationship with melody because it's a necessary element that you must nonetheless kill if you can. Avishai Cohen's trio manages both to perfection in my opinion. Fans of exploratory jazz improvisation might feel frustrated I guess, but for me the limited level of "out" is just right. Listen to Nu Nu, the opener: slow dirge intro to strong syncopated oriental melody gives to hard groove with oud and bass improvisations. There's variety and entertainment without compromise.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant April 25, 2008
By J W
Format:Audio CD
Wonderful work. Repetitive? That's like calling Phillip Glass repetitive - and missing the whole point. The arrangements are magical. The repetition is hypnotic - and the subtle and sometimes not subtle changes keep you wide awake. Can't get enough of this CD and look forward to exploring the rest of Mr Cohen's work. The middle eastern influences are magic.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixture January 9, 2010
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
'Continuo' was recorded in December 2005 in Sweden.
The compositions are a mixture of classical, jazz and Middle Eastern music and are played skillfully and with a great amount of pathos.
With Mark Guilliana on the drums, Sam Barsh on piano and Amos Hoffman on the oud (a Middle Eastern string instrument)on four of the ten tracks on this CD; and of course Avishai on the acoustic string bass.
All musicians have plenty of freedom to excel on their instruments.

Nice, melodious tunes to listen to, even though the compositions are complicated, both rhythmically as well as musically.
The CD is well recorded: all instruments are clearly audible and sound as if recorded in a concert hall with magnificent acoustic qualities.
It even sounds terrific in the car!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars He ROCKS!
I'm always looking for new music & great artists. Cohen Rocks the Jazz! Highly recommend his work, can't wait to hear more from him!
Published 6 months ago by Sierra Dante
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow.... can I say that again... Wow.
I love Smash, it is so aggressive yet restrained. Very good music.

Avant Garde, free jazz but a lot of fun.
Published 15 months ago by Tecumsah
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow
I was driving when I heard Avi's "Ani Ma'amin" on WRCJ, and I almost had to pull over. As it is, I raced home to find it, first on Youtube, so I could listen to it again, and then... Read more
Published 20 months ago by Michael J. Edelman
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly hypnotic, not repetitive
This is one of my favorite CD's, and I own literally thousands of jazz, classical and rock discs. I counted FIVE songs on Continuo which I have rated with 5 stars (maximum) so... Read more
Published on April 23, 2011 by Tough Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars continuo
An excellent jazz trio and quartet CD from Israeli bassist Avishai Cohen,very solid yet still adventursome music highly recommended if you enjoy European and Scandinavian jazz... Read more
Published on March 6, 2009 by Manning Glicksohn
5.0 out of 5 stars negative review should be discredited
I have had this CD for a couple of years now, and it is still as fresh as ever. I listen to it frequently, and it has opened up a new appreciation of jazz for me. Read more
Published on August 8, 2008 by R. H. May
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Well worth it. I've been playing it non-stop for a month and bought the rest of his CDs.
Published on June 7, 2007 by Emery E. Nelson
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category