Customer Reviews


589 Reviews
5 star:
 (448)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


189 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maturation of an Artist: Mayer's Continuum shows considerable growth.
How many musicians have you ever heard coming out of the suburbs of Fairfield, Connecticut? If you are a John Mayer fan, you know at least one. Pigeonholed as a sensitive pop artist with the debut album, Room For Squares, Mayer shifted tack to a bluesier sound with his second studio release Heavier Things. Joining up with impresarios Steve Jordan and Pino Pallidino, Mayer...
Published on September 12, 2006 by A. G. Corwin

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leg humpingly good?
John Mayer couldn't have come to me with less of a negative vibe than he did when I was gifted this cd by a friend who is a huge fan. I have always liked her choices in music but she didn't help Mayer's cause by professing that she has often envisioned humping his leg during the many times she's seen him in concert. Her lust only underscored a common criticism of this...
Published on November 27, 2008 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

189 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maturation of an Artist: Mayer's Continuum shows considerable growth., September 12, 2006
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
How many musicians have you ever heard coming out of the suburbs of Fairfield, Connecticut? If you are a John Mayer fan, you know at least one. Pigeonholed as a sensitive pop artist with the debut album, Room For Squares, Mayer shifted tack to a bluesier sound with his second studio release Heavier Things. Joining up with impresarios Steve Jordan and Pino Pallidino, Mayer broke out in full on blues mode with the live album Try! Though some dismissed him, Pallidino and Jordan don't play music with hacks, and anyone who heard the track "Good Love is on the Way" knows the boy can play. With his new studio album, the excellent Continuum, Mayer continues to demonstrate his impressive guitar chops, a more mature songwriting style, and a richer, deeper sound.

The socially conscious first single "Waiting for the World to Change" reminds that "it's hard to beat the system when you're standing at a distance." "I Don't Trust Myself" features a gorgeous guitar sound and some nice fretboard work while the outstanding track "Belief" showcases some strongly emotional lyrics: "we're never going to win the world..we're never gonna stop the war...Belief is what we are fighting for." The likely second single "Gravity" is a soft, slow blues jam on which Mayer plays some fantastic lead guitar. At his recent St Louis concert, all four of these songs blew the crowd away, generating more applause than "Daughters" or "No Such Thing." "The Heart of Life" has a clean, crisp, and spare production with layered harmonies and a subdued guitar making for an elegant track.

The solid track "Vultures" is slinky and moves to a smooth beat with its falsetto harmonies sounding surprisingly good. "Stop this Train" sounds like it came directly off Heavier Things. Mayer sings of broken hearts in the beautiful "Slow Dancing in a Burning Room," which chronicles the end of a relationship , "this is the deep and dying breath, this love we've been working on." Mayer attempts to cover Jimi Hendrix on "Bold as Love", and while the guitar work is amazingly strong his vocals aren't quite as well suited to Hendrix. An elegant ballad sure to make the ladies swoon is "Dreaming With a Broken Heart." A powerful guitar solo highlights "In Repair", and closing track "I'm Gonna Find Another You" has shades of the early Mayer song "Comfortable", but with the addition of horns and electric guitar.

The 12-track record, produced mostly by Mayer with support from Jordan and Pallidino, is an extremely strong, mature collection of songs that showcases Mayer's growth as an artist. His backing band is extremely tight, and the sonic values on ther record are exceptional. Most importantly, Mayer has grown as a songwriter, incorporating new depth and substance to his songs. Those who didn't give him a chance before would be well suited to check him out now. His live shows are incredible and the man has some serious guitar chops. Fans of his earlier pop sound may be a bit disappointed, but will likely adapt quickly based on the response of the young crowds at his concerts. Comparisons to legends like Stevie Ray Vaughn and Eric Clapton are premature, but if Mayer continues on the path he's on, he will have a great career worth following closely. Highly recommended.

A.G. Corwin
St.Louis, MO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Album That I've Been Waiting for Mayer To Make, September 17, 2006
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
Finally, John Mayer has realized that he has the potential to utilize his great talents even moreso than he has been. Sure, such a potent Grammy winning number as "Daughters" is a song that might never be forgotten in music history, but CONTINUUM I believe maybe the truest and quite possible the first TRUE John Mayer album that we've heard. The material here as well as the overall sound and timbre easily trumps a majority of Mayer's earlier and previously best material. I am glad to see the virtuostic Mayer (where his guitar chops are concerned) actually embrace the blues-side of rock and venture out in a direction that showcases that bluesy-soulful influence. If nothing else, Mayer's CONTINUUM is easily Mayer's most soulful LP.

The album opens up with the simple enough, but brilliantly simple "Waiting For The World To Change". Unfortunate for the PROMO single is that radio didn't give it the respect that it should've. It is a very nice track and it is one that is tuneful enough that it sticks when you listen to it. What is most admirable and loveable is the soulfulness that pours from this track, almost a newfound soulfulness or a complete rejuvenation of Mayer that ditches "Clarity" or "Bigger Than My Body" for Hendrix, Buddy Guy, B.B. King influenced blues rock.

"I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)" is a second consistent number, keeping up the idea of minimalist soulful arrangements coupled with Mayer's awesome, virtuostic guitar playing. Something else key here is that Mayer's vocals sound as mature as ever, not to say that he didn't on HEAVIER THINGS (a very good album, not knocking it), but it is a new found maturity, which was foreshadowed by the TRY! which was a project featuring Mayer's newly formed trio, who are featured on CONTINUUM as well.

"Belief" is yet another strong track. What makes it so cool besides it's driving soulful-rhythmic feel is the booming bass line that is so often "underwhelmed" in adult-alternative music. Here, Mayer has the bass line turned up with a "booming" sound that is perfect for this track. What may even make Mayer's vocal performance stronger here is his subtlety and his use of instrumental breaks in between the verse and the chorus as well as in between parts of the verse.

"Gravity" sounds like it should be featured on say an Anthony Hamilton album or a B.B. King album. The opening guitar solo in the 6 feel is just immaculate. This is yet another 5 star number of 2006, perhaps one of the most touching tracks here. The organ is subtle in the background, but it serves its purpose ten-fold. The songwriting here is as it has been through the entirety of the album-- way above par and above the par that great songwriter Mayer has previously set for himself in the past.

"The Heart Of Life" speeds the tempo back up again after the chilling "Gravity". This track spans more than adult-alternative, and is a track that would sound nearly equally at home on say a Sufjan Stevens album or a country-rock folk album. The guitar sounds great here and yet again John Mayer doesn't disappoint, even if you expect him to after 5 straight great, consistent numbers.

"Vultures" returns a rhythmic groove back to continnum. The sound here is a mix of a classic soul groove and an overall soulful blues-rock arragement. I personally love the sound of Mayer's vocals here as well as the semi-polytonal element of the rhythmic guitar coupled with Mayer's guitar improvisations and riffs. This track is a masterwork of "in the pocket" rhythm section playing and it is just another phenomenal track.

"Stop This Train" is in the same plane as "The Heart Of Life", only there is a slight bit more rhythmic support on the bottom with a very supportive bass line at the bottom of the arrangement. The songwriting here is again great and the chord progression is perfect. I love and "heart" the folk feel and the hearkening to go back to the simpler times of acoustic music and the earthy feel of tracks such as these.

"Slow Dancing In A Burning Room" is personally one of my very favorite tracks here. While all the tracks on this album are great, this one just has the soulfulness that I've been hoping that Mayer would always pull out. It was like I felt Mayer was so close with numbers such as "Daughters" and "Come Back To Bed", but the soufulness that oozes here is phenomenal. The guitar sound is great and reminds me of listening to Buddy Guy, John Lee Hooker, Eric Clapton, B.B. or any of the great Blues artists.

While "Bold As Love" isn't my favorite, it is very ambitious that Mayer did a Hendrix cover. "Dreaming With A Broken Heart", starts out with an incredibly tender melodic piano line as well as somber lyrics and vocals by Mayer. This is among the tender and most plaintive sounding I've heard Mayer... another winning and enthralling vocal performance that starts out slowly and picks up more and more momentum as the song progresses. Another one of my favorites.

The introductory organ in "In Repair" again marks the maturity of Mayer with CONTINUUM. His sense of what "real music" should represent is made so clear on this album which deserves Grammy nominations! This time you just feel that Mayer got it right with the chilling melodic vocal lines, the exceptional guitar work coupled with everything else. He ends on a high note with "I'm Gonna Gind Another You", which begins with Mayer's soulful chops only accompanied by a bluesy electric guitar. Again, the feel is in six and gradually horns, drums, and organ are added to the mix. It is absolutely chilling and enthralling to listen to. This is the first Mayer album for me that I am able to listen to without stopping... it is THAT GOOD.

The production here is first rate as is both Mayer's songwriting and his vocals. The guitar playing was always there, but maybe because everything else is so great here it sounds that much better and that much stronger. For me, Mayer has made perhaps one of the VERY best albums of 2006. I would love, as I've already said, to see Mayer snatch Grammys for this wonderful and exciting music experience. 4.5 stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He Keeps Getting Better..., September 13, 2006
By 
J. Greeno (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
I'm a Blues-first music fan, so John Mayer flew under my radar for a long while. I have a profound respect for guitarists, however, so when I saw Mayer play at the Crossroads Guitar Festival a couple years back, I had to see what he was all about. Didn't know what I'd find, but what I saw that day was a guy that was clearly among the best guitarists of his generation.

His first two albums showed me a young artist allowing his music to evolve organically. By no means perfect, but definitely worth the price of admission, and each effort is better than the last.

Recent collaborations with legends such as Herbie Hancock, B.B. King, Sly & The Family Stone, Eric Clapton, and Aaron Neville clearly demonstrate his respected acceptance by the heaviest hitters in the industry, inspiring him to shake off his pop-centric roots and release the blues/rock album Try! with Steve Jordan and Pino Palladino.

And now it's Continuum, released Tuesday as his third solo studio effort. I'm still getting a feel for it, but it's absolutely a big step forward from Heavier Things. This one is best described as a blues/soul album, and each track is a worthwhile effort. John Mayer has carved out a pretty unique sound for himself. While you'll hear lyrical a melodical nods to obvious influences from Marvin Gaye to Curtis Mayfield, the lyric/music combo solidifies Mayer as an artist that has finally found his identity and sound.

In the past, I've seen many references to John Mayer being a "Dave Matthews ripoff" and I can't express just how musically uneducated that opinion is. Aside from being pop singers with guitars in their hands, there's really no obvious connection between the two.

If I had to make an honest comparison, Sting is the first guy that comes to mind. Not because they sound alike, because they don't. Here you have two guys that broke out young and allowed the world and music around them to shape their art. There's no comparing Sting's work with The Police with his latest efforts. His evolution as an artist over the last 30 years is staggering in both style and substance.

I think John Mayer is on a similar path. He keeps changing it up, trying new things, working with artists from multiple genres and allowing it to affect his tastes and creative process. There's no ego about it. It's unpretentious. I never get the sense that he's trying to impress anyone. Instead, each new track builds on what came before, always with a new twist that I rarely expect and always appreciate.

As a Blues fan, it used to pain me a little to admit that I'm a big John Mayer fan. Not anymore, and Continuum is why. Check it out.

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been there, September 14, 2006
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
What can I say that hasn't already been said? John Mayer has found his grove.

I love music, all kinds of music. From Jazz to rock, country to blues, there are players and writers that find the zone, their zone and you can tell. If you listen to Mayer's Heavier Things he was close, real close, but not until Continuum did he lock it in.

I started playing music in the early 60's, mostly rock and blues. I recorded a couple of albums and had the privilege of playing with some of the best musicians at the time; The Doors, Yard Birds, Hendrix, Airplane, Steve Miller, all players that found their style, their zone. John Mayer is there, I know, I've been there. With seasoning, he will simply further refine his talent into one of the best-of-the-best singers, song writers and guitar players to come along.

Check out the Vulture cut. When you feel everything is closing in, you feel the world is testing you, testing you, this song helps you to never give up hope. Listen to the words, feel his guitar and let his voice pierce your heart and soul. Damn he's good............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuum - Best yet, September 14, 2006
By 
Jacob R (Huntington Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
During a time when NEW great music is few and far between and only a handful of bands are writing anything groundbreaking there in still John Mayer. I haven't heard a better album from start to finish in years. This album is his third and by far his best. You always hope the next album is as good as the last without being a copy of the last one. This is Continuum. Mayer is maturing in his music and Continuum could not be a better example of an artist pushing the envelope and setting the tone for NEW great music.

It's tough to find a bad song on here. "Stop this train" is fantastic and could be the next "Daughters". Continuum has Grammy writtin all over it. Do youself a favor and buy this album. If you are even a minor Mayer fan you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, September 14, 2006
By 
April Hoffmann (Santa Barbara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
I've been a John Mayer fan since before he was famous, and this album is incredible. Lyrically and musically - it will sweep you away. I personally think it's much better than his second album, and on par (if not better) than his first. Most albums you have a few songs you love, and a few songs you skip; on this album you'll hang on every song, every word, every beautiful melody. Buy two - you'll want to give it to a friend, trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid CD from a great artist, September 14, 2006
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
John Mayer has thrown his fans some curveballs in the last few years with his departure from the style of music (Room for Squares/Heavier Things)that earned him his status of a great pop/rock artist from the younger generation. His John Mayer Trio CD certainly had many fans scratching their heads woefully wondering what happened to their artist so known for ballads like "Body is a Wonderland" and "Daughters" and favorites like "Clarity" and "No Such Thing". While certainly more bluesy than previous solo John Mayer albums, Continuum is a return to the type of music that John shines in; good lyrics, great guitar playing, and solid melodies. Fans will not be disappointed with his latest offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leg humpingly good?, November 27, 2008
By 
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
John Mayer couldn't have come to me with less of a negative vibe than he did when I was gifted this cd by a friend who is a huge fan. I have always liked her choices in music but she didn't help Mayer's cause by professing that she has often envisioned humping his leg during the many times she's seen him in concert. Her lust only underscored a common criticism of this artist; that he is more college girl heartthrob than cool guitar hero. It doesn't help that I'm beyond sick of seeing this guy's mug every time I stand on line in a supermarket and come face to face with the bathroom journals that scream at you from their perch next to the jerky and candy bars. On top of all of this, a particular interview I read revealed him to be arrogant and buying into his own hype. Therefore, I would have to say that I was not thinking much of what John Mayer's music would be like.
Well...I like it! John Mayer is not the second coming of anyone, he isn't the greatest guitarist I've ever heard, and he's exceedingly derivative in tone and vocals. It's easy to imagine the casual radio listener mistaking one of his songs for a handful of others who he sounds almost copyright-infringement like. But...it's good stuff nonetheless.
I like this one better than other cds I've subsequently listened to as there is a maturity and a bit less of the pop-idol-to-heartbroken-women vibe going on. "Belief," "Vultures," "Stop This Train," and "Slow Dancing in a Burning Room" are all really nice songs full of sweet beats, his vibrato-laden Strat licks, and intelligent if, at times, a bit overly-earnest lyrics (but, hey, if it works for Don Henley...).
This is a cd that is easy to listen to, guitar-rich, and sometimes poignant and you rarely get all of those traits even from some of the many masters that Mayer seems to mimic. Ignore the E! gossip, his legion of lusty fans, the wannabe comparisons to Hendrix, Vaughn, et al, and even his unfortunate lack of humility and just give the music a chance. John Mayer's music is good stuff...but I still don't have the slightest interest in humping his leg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Album in A Perfect Place, September 12, 2006
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
Sometimes, when you're trying to get where you're going, you have to shoot past that place so that when you split the difference, you're right where you want to be. Continuum - music by John Mayer, is the culmination of not just the past two years but of John's entire musical career, from coffeeshop troubadour to pop icon to blues guitar hero. His best work yet, Continuum fits perfectly between Room For Squares and Try! (his live "blues" trio release), and in fact some might say he needed the Trio to get where he is now - which is a really, really good place. This album has it all - great songwriting and deep lyrics that run the spectrum of insightful to downright painful, a funky groove more in tune with classic R&B than contemporary pop/rock, solid vocal melodies and serious, I mean "REAL DEAL" guitar tracking and solos on almost every singly song. And it has all of John - he really lays it all out musically and lyrically, he produced the album (with his colleague Steve Jordan) and even designed the cover art.

As for the songs themselves, every one is a gem, some even sparkling diamonds. He sets it all up by opening with "Waiting on the World to Change," which generates the albums funkiness right off the bat while simultaneously setting the psychosocial tone that pervades much of the album. And there's a real guitar solo - good sign of things to come. Next comes "I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)," a sexy jam that replaces the cheesy `bubble-gum tongue' metaphors with love's confusing and merciless nature (and hopefully will replace them on the radio waves as well). "Belief" reenters the political tone, criticizing all blind faith and describing its role in our war-ridden society - he even asks "What puts a hundred-thousand children in the sand? ... What puts the folded flag inside his mother's hand?" and answers, "Belief can. Belief can."

"Gravity" was given to us earlier on the Try! album, but this version is even more glorious. The clean electric guitar sound on this track is about as good as I've ever heard, no exaggeration (the guys at Fender and K&M/Two-Rock amps should be proud). The tune ends with a real soulful harmonic vocal build that can be described only by goosebumps. "The Heart of Life" is one of the simpler tunes on the album, providing a nice break between "Gravity" and "Vultures," while giving an emotional optimism that seems so honest as to convert even the biggest cynics. He sings "Pain throws your heart to the ground/Love turns the whole thing around/No it won't all go the way it should/But I know the heart of life is good."

"Vultures" is another revisited tune, very similar to the live version but with keys added and a "don't give up" fade-out that wraps the tune nicely in its studio package. "Stop This Train," in my opinion, is one of the best-written songs on the entire album. It revisits some of the emotions discussed earlier in "Gravity" and "The Heart of Life," which in itself makes the point that once we think we've tackled those big existential questions, they keep haunting us (as in the lyric "I just can't sleep on this tonight") in the ongoing aporia. It's also the best vocal track on the album, and ends with its own crescendo to final resolution (if there could be one given the subject matter). From existence we return to relationships with the best metaphor-title of them all, "Slow Dancing in a Burning Room." John paints a portrait of a couple fallen out of love having their last intimate moment, and does so perfectly. The guitar work is both beautiful and blistering (if you listen closely), and the vocal harmonies round it out in a sound so huge it's hard to believe only John, Steve, and Pino played on it.

To open the final 1/3rd of the album, John covers Jimi Hendrix's "Bold as Love." Because he can. And if any of you saw his sick Trio rendition on the Tsunami-Relief Telethon, you know why. The guitar work is naturally fantastic, but he really brings it home with the key change and closing chorus - overall very well done. He returns to Earth but not quite consciousness on "Dreaming With A Broken Heart," which has a simple, longing musical quality that matches the lyrics, and (like just about every other track) has a solid guitar solo and build of intensity that keeps the listener wishing there were more than two tracks left. "In Repair" is the barn-burner of this very, very mellow album. It keeps the emotions and candidness of the album to this point firmly in the forefront, and he saved the best guitar solo for last on this one. The album closes with a real soul-ballad, "I'm Gonna Find Another You," which comes full-circle to finish with the true-to-R&B feel that the album started with, and give a final cadence on this most-cohesive work.

One must remark upon the completeness of the work. The album is entirely complete in ways not so different from Pat Sounds, Born to Run, Sgt. Peppers and Dark Side of the Moon - from top to bottom, it's all there, it all works like it should, and there's nothing to be changed; in these ways Continuum really is the "perfect album" that John said it is. Which brings us to one more question: where does he go from here? He closes "In Repair" with the refrain "I'm in repair/I'm not together but I'm getting there." Is this just emotionally, or musically as well? I'm not going to worry about that now; it's time to listen to Continuum again and enjoy it until the next installment.

Final Thought: The packaging is as much of what completes the album as the music is. The cover art is simple and really classy, and the liner notes are filled with little gems, including original manuscript facsimiles showing his lyrical process, pictures of his rig and studio (the latter with a handwritten caption that says "*This is what my heart looks like."), and a page towards the back entitled "THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW," which is like a "Thank You" section but more meaningful and personal. Check it out - it shows what's wrong with this computerized world of unpackaged music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stars But Ultimately May be a 5 Star Album Years To Come, September 16, 2006
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
I have been a fan for John Mayer for several years now. I first heard of John on a radio program called Reg's Coffehouse on WRAX in Birmingham, AL they played John's music long before Room For Squares came out and I believe in the liner notes of Room For Squares there is a mention of the station manager/ programmer who gave him so much attention. Although, a fan of John I have never thought he had done a great album from start to finish. Continuum, though, has definitely made me a believer in John again he has definitely stepped up and made a great album. This album shows one thing and that is that he has matured and grown a lot musically in the past couple of years. There is not a weak song on here from start to finish. Standouts on the album really is all of the songs on the album. I have only one problem with the album and that is the cover of Jimi Hendrix's Bold As Love. John does a great job with the song and I do enjoy the song but the problem is the song to me sticks out like a sore thumb because all of the songs on the album fit really well together until you get to this song and it disrupts the mood of the album. The album would have been much better to have left that song of the album and put it out as a B-side or as a single by itself but not on the album. Okay that out of the way I do have some personal favorites off of the album and they are:

1. Slow Dancing In A Burning Room

2. Dreaming With A Broken Heart

3. In Repair

4. Stop This Train

5. The Heart Of Life

But as I said this album does not have a bad song on it including the song Bold As Love. If your a fan of John buy this album steal it if you must because this is John's finest hour in his career so far. If you want to hear a really soulful and melodic album this is a must buy for those as well. Waiting On The World To Change sounds like it could have been written in the '60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Continuum
Continuum by John Mayer (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.