Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the Progressives are doing and why it is against our Consitution and Heritage
This is a perfect book for the times. Terrence Jeffrey clearly explains what Obama, Pelosi, and Reid are trying to accomplish and demonstrates why their policies, actions, and legislative tactics are against our Constitution, our heritage as a nation, and the will of the majority of Americans. (Of course, I hope we correct this in 2010 and 2012.)

Chapter One...
Published on August 9, 2010 by Craig Matteson

versus
7 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Whenever I see one of these right wing screeds
reduced in price to $3 I know that they are tedious, pompous, and self-congratulatory in tone. Why would anyone bother when there are so many better things to do in life?
Published 17 months ago by Guiseppe Gramanzini, Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the Progressives are doing and why it is against our Consitution and Heritage, August 9, 2010
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
This is a perfect book for the times. Terrence Jeffrey clearly explains what Obama, Pelosi, and Reid are trying to accomplish and demonstrates why their policies, actions, and legislative tactics are against our Constitution, our heritage as a nation, and the will of the majority of Americans. (Of course, I hope we correct this in 2010 and 2012.)

Chapter One shows how Obama, our disgraceful transportation secretary Ray LaHood (a nominal Republican from Illinois) are using the force of government to manipulate markets to force us out of our cars and even our homes to live in the "high density" housing environments they preferred we would inhabit. You see, they are not about enabling us to fulfill our dreams and live in freedom and liberty, but as far as they are concerned we exist to allow them to fulfill their dreams and visions.

The second chapter focuses on the lies that were used to create social security and why it is collapsing today. Mr. Jeffry shows why would all be better off caring for our own retirement and how to do it than allowing the control freaks to keep ripping us off. And no, none of this is about breaking our promises to those in or near retirement. The rip offs have gone on from the beginning. Did you now that Ida May Fuller, the first recipient of social security, retired at 65 after paying a 1% tax on her $900 salary as a secretary. She had paid in $49.50 from 1937 until her retirement in 1939. By the time she died in she had collected payments from 1940 until 1975. By her third check she had recouped everything from her "trust fund" and when on to collect a total of $22,888.92 of other people's money.

We next explore the way our Federal Constitution has been tortured and ignored by Congress, abetted by "living Constitutionalists" in the judiciary to accomplish an expansion of government to intrude into every aspect of our lives. "Freedom, what freedom? We just want the illusion of security! No matter if we ruin the country as long as I get mine!" is what too many of seem to be saying with our votes and inattention to what our government is really doing to us. It cannot and won't go on, my friends. Not much longer, anyway.

I found the chapter on the perversion of "public use" into "public purpose" and an analysis of the "Kelo" decision by the Supreme Court to be most interesting and useful. I think you will to. This is a huge threat to our lives and property. Of course, the Left doesn't much like the idea of Private Property. To them, everything belongs to the state and they allocated it as the 535 demigods in Congress, the Chosen One in the White House, and the 9 great priests in the Supreme Court see fit. What was it the Declaration says about government existing to protect our natural rights and what we should do if the government fails to protect us in our rights?

The chapter on the way the Left strives to control political speech is exasperating and yet we know from what we see on the news and read in the paper that it is absolutely true. They act as if our Founders wrote the First Amendment to protect pornography rather than political speech. Another chapter on health care and our right to life is also a very important read. Obama pretends that the notion of when life begins is "above his pay grade" when he is a candidate, but when he is in office as a state legislator, a federal Senator or our President, no one is more pro-Abortion than he. Wait until some bureaucrat decides you aren't worth the healthcare sources they would have to allocate to treat you. Even if you have your own money, they will withhold it from you. We have to fight this, folks. Seriously fight it and repeal it.

Which leads us to the culture war the Left wants to fight while preventing the opposition (you and me) from resisting their efforts to "fundamentally transform" our culture and our nation.

An excellent book and you will find you can read it quickly while getting good information you can look up and verify if you want to.

Please get and read this book.

Reviewed by Craig Matteson, Saline, MI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-Opening, October 6, 2010
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading this book. I especially liked the parts about FDR & his court-packing plan, which essentially made liberal judicial activism the law of the land for a generation. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I haven't read the book either, July 27, 2010
By 
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
I haven't read the book, but it's obvious the other reviewer hasn't either. Since he gave it a one-star review, I guess I'll give it a five-star review to offset his. This is a great book. This book says everything a book should say in the manner in which books should say it: with words. Words that bind (because the book is bound). Words that influence (because it influences jackasses who haven't read the book to put up a one-star review, just so the book will have a one-star rating). Words that stand the test of time (because it's time someone took these idiot liberals to task). There! I did it! I created my own positive review of the book without ever reading it! Now I can be just as disingenuous as a liberal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All devoted Americans must read this book or suffer consequences, August 1, 2010
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
I have read this book completely although I noticed Amazon displays more of this book than others online so one can see practically every chapter(I assume they really don't want people to buy it instead read the summary) This book is a must read for all Americans who choose to keep our country free and prevent BIG government from telling us what to do in every aspect of our lives. This is a wake up call and notice not one sign of this book mentioned anywhere in the press ,except it was reviewed by Mark Levin on his show thank goodness for people like him. What is happening to our beloved America? Read this book and find out, do not take all this lightly as this IS where we are headed. Stop listening to the movie star lies out there being told by our Democratic so called leaders. They should be ashamed of the money they are spending to control us hard working Americans. Wow what a wake up call and thank the author for an excellent book that really is understandable and says it all. If you read the excerpts here you will surely enjoy the book. Terry Jeffrey is a true American.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Control Freaks by Terence Jeffrey, May 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
When some one connects a few dots, it helps to see the big picture more clearly. All the smoke and mirrors of the present mob running the Executive Branch, should tell any watchful person that taking a closer look would be prudent.

It is the good citizens responsibility to make an effort to see what is really going on behind the wall of words that the Government and Media prepare for the lost every day.

The progressives think they know what is best for you and everybody on the planet. So you can go quietly or claw your way back to reality.

Each generation has to fight to preserve their freedom, so turn off the brain washer (TV) and read a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just got the book, July 27, 2010
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
Just got the book today and so far I have been reading passages here and there. I'll dive in the book big time tomorrow. The book is a must read. The references are superb and the analysis is spot on. I would describe Control Freaks as an important book, one that citizens should read to not only understand the madness of the Obama revolution which threatens the foundations of the country, but also for the younger folks who have not lived through the 60's, 70's, 80's and don't quite understand what is at risk with the liberal revolution. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
I wanted to read any book on Obama to see where he was coming from. Now that we know, I regret him ever becoming President. I did not vote for him, but what an embarrassment to our country. The book was well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lefties, August 19, 2010
By 
Richard Hamilton (Fleetwood, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
Read the book. It's outstanding. Thirty to forty percent of Democrats today are hard left tin cup liberals and would vote for ANYONE with a D after their name. They simply are simpletons. Useful idiots. Look at any poll. No Democrat will ever poll under 30-40 percent. The useful idiots or simpletons won't allow it. They have no flexibility, no sense, no moral direction, hate God and Jesus, hate the constitution, want to kill babies by the millions, hate our military, hate and are afraid of guns and the shooting sports, love political correctness and hate America as it once was and what the founders like Jefferson, Franklin and Madison wrote into the US constitution and Bill of Rights, think we are the cause of non-existent "climate change". And we are supposed to take their insane posts on this comment page seriously? No Thanks. They are irrelevant without the other fifteen to twenty percent of real American democrats. You remember the old Democratic Party don't you? That's the party of Scoop Jackson, JFK, Harry Truman and Sam Nunn. You remember them. Honest opposition we respected, not the anti-America progressive-liberal morons that infect the Democratic Party today like Obama, Polosi and Reid. The Democrat Party (i.e., liberals, progressives, Marxists, socialists) is the culture of corruption. The liberals that post here are comparable to the "loyalists" during the Revolutionary War and we know what happened to that kind of scum. They would not fight for our freedom.They were sent packing and tarred and feathered. They objected to a free America. Sound like someone you know? Look in a mirror. Scratch a reactionary, Democratic leftist like those that infest this board, find the fascist writhing underneath. The one star people commenting here are the problem. They are too dumb to realize it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very scary and thought-provoking read., September 29, 2013
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
Outside of abortion, gay marriage, and marijuana the left does not believe in any personal freedom or choice. They want to tell you what food to eat, what car to drive, what job to have, where to live, what school to attend, etc. They basically want to control you like a robot. The question is how to stop them before it is too late. Even though America delusionally re-elected Obama president, he at least still has checks and balances on his power for now, but will that last??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Title should be altered slightly, May 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life (Hardcover)
Kind of boring to me, but found some of the information to be interesting at the same time. I agree with the premise though and believe that that progressives are doing this. I think the title should be changed to 7 ways progressives plan to ruin your life. Progressives are both right and left and are the ones doing the damage IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life
Control Freaks: 7 Ways Liberals Plan to Ruin Your Life by Terence P. Jeffrey (Hardcover - July 27, 2010)
$27.95 $16.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.