Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars13
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 27, 2011
In our vulgar era, when the word "Celebrity" has been entirely divorced from "Worthy of Being Celebrated", Richard Schickel's Conversations with Scorsese is more than a damn good read; it's a restoration. What's being restored to our Access Hollywood-drenched culture is the notion art comes from inspiration, yes, but also hard work, seriousness of purpose, and intelligence. The line where Scorsese explains why he had to make Mean Streets just grabbed me. That's what art is--taking the truth of someone's life and expressing it, not in a navel-gazing way but as a way to touch upon something universal in the human condition.

Would just also add that Schickel's knowlege of film and filmmaking is right up there with Scorsese's well-know encyclopedic mind. "You know that 1928 film by Joe Blow from Prague?" "Oh, yeah, I loved that film." "The colors in it were amazing." "Yeah, that second act when the green tugboat is going up the gray Danube." "Kind of a silvery gray." "Fantastic." (Completely made-up dialogue to illustrate a point. No extra charge!)
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
This book is a must-have for anyone interested in the intricacies of the filmmaking process from inception to script to filming to finally editing and releasing the film. If you've ever wondered what Scorsese's thought about one of his movies, the answer lies herein.

This extremely interesting and insightful book by filmmaker and reviewer Richard Schickel delves into Scorsese's origins to his film Shutter Island, essentially covering everything. The book goes in depth into just everything you could possibly want to know about the man or the films.

This book will hopefully be among the great film books in history, perhaps among such (now) classics as Francois Truffaut's famed interviews with Alfred Hitchcock, the Master of Suspense. If you are a fan of Scorsese and enjoy his films, I urge you to purchase this book. It's worth the price, and it's most definitely worth your time.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
When two people get together to discuss things that they love, it can be very rewarding. When a top-notch critic and his friend who happens to be one of the great filmmakers of our time get together, the result is insightful, fun to read and invaluable for those of us who love movies. I learned a great deal about Scorcese from this book, and it makes me wish I was a fly on the wall as these two men were visiting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
I read this over three days, a few dozen pages each day. Although it took me three days, I honestly could have read it all in one sitting, that's how easy to read this book is. It's not even a book in the traditional sense, it is essentially a transcript of a sitdown conversation between Scorsese's friend Richard Schickel, and Scorsese himself. The nature of the format is what was the most appealing to me, because you get a sense that it's a real, unfiltered conversation. There are even moments where in any other case an editor could have "fixed" the section, but it's left in the book for all to see. Like a courtroom stenographer taking down every beat, repetition, and laughter.

What's truly wonderful about this book is that it covers everything from Scorsese's youth to his latest film - which at that point was Shutter Island. After that, there are sections on Shooting, Directing, Editing, Music... and they're all illuminating . This is a wonderful book on the man for anyone looking to find out more about the persona behind Scorsese, his mindset behind each film, his process on filmmaking, and overall what makes Scorsese be the filmmaker he is today.

An easy, fast read, but very thorough.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
Learned more about Scorcese than any other book or medium and was reinvigorated to watch his movies again. Two film lovers talking about film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2012
This belongs in the library of every true movie enthusiast. Scorsese is an American treasure and truly one of the greatest directors ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
excellent product, very happy stay, I came in very good condition, new, very good quality ... thank you very much ... I recommend are serious in what they offer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
i THOUGHT THIS WOULD BE MORE INSIGHTFUL AND INTERESTING CONSIDERING THE SUBJECT AND THE AUTHOR.IT WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT..I WOULDN'T RECOMEND IT.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2015
I'm a big Scorsese fan. Writing a screenplay with his film opinions at the forefront. Plan on using it as a reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
haven't read it yet. have a million others to
read first but I skimmed thru and looks great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.