Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NBC's chance to add a little zest to a floundering series
I was a huge fan of District Attorney Alexandra Cabot on Law and Order: SVU, so I was thrilled when they brought her back as the bureau chief of a bunch of young district attorneys on Conviction. This show was marketed for different generation than the other Law and Orders, more specifically a younger demographic. These ADAs are in their late twenties, and know that...
Published on September 2, 2006 by K. Hinton

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your $$$ - HORRIBLE
i only bought 1 episode and i was sooooooo disappointed, i actually want my $1.99 back!!! just stick to law and order, these other shows, no way can compare! the show "conviction" needs to be convicted!!!! LOL
Published 1 month ago by Diva


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NBC's chance to add a little zest to a floundering series, September 2, 2006
This review is from: Conviction: The Complete Series (DVD)
I was a huge fan of District Attorney Alexandra Cabot on Law and Order: SVU, so I was thrilled when they brought her back as the bureau chief of a bunch of young district attorneys on Conviction. This show was marketed for different generation than the other Law and Orders, more specifically a younger demographic. These ADAs are in their late twenties, and know that there is little glory to be had with the cases that they're getting, but that they're fighting for something real. Their cases don't have the glitz and glamour of regular Law and Order, and there isn't always a sexual element like on SVU, but their determination and perseverance are a joy to watch.

Cabots group of young ADAs is comprised of:

Jim Steele: Steele is the Deputy Bureau Chief who has to take over when the other DBC is gunned down in the first episode. Steele is like his name, he is a man made of steel who tries to shape the younger attorneys looking up to him without becoming disillusioned himself. He's also in a relationship with one of them while secretly pining away for Cabot.

Nick Potter: Potter is the newest kid to join the bureau and is still wet behind the ears when it comes to criminal law. The other attorneys love to remind him of this and treat him like a rookie. Still he's determined to prove himself in their eyes and in Steele's after making a horrible mistake in the first episode.

Billy Desmond: Desmond is arrogant, cocky, and full of himself--but with good reason. He's undefeated in the courtroom (28-0) and he is determined to stay that way. He only takes cases that he can win and will even go as far to hand off a losing case to one of the other lawyers.

Christina Finn: Finn has been with bureau for two years and is still a little green in the courtroom. She gets her first case in the first episode and makes mistakes, but in an endearing way. Finn's like your little sister, you want to look after her because she keeps making the most charming mistakes. Her search for Mr. Right is one of the more lighthearted plot lines in the series.

Brian Peluso: Peluso is a smooth talker who spends as much time ducking the ladies who call him at the office as he does working on his cases. He has a mild flirtation with Finn, as well as a gambling problem that continues to rear its ugly head. Still he's Steele's right hand man and a great attorney.

Jessica Rossi: Rossi is a tough young attorney who has a weak spot for domestic abuse cases. She refuses to not prosecute wife beaters, even to her own detriment. Her relationship with Steele is a constant problem throughout the season.

I was so disappointed that this show got cancelled because it was really well written and a nice change from the others in the Dick Wolf series. I feel like the original Law and Order has gotten stale in recent years and it might be time to let it go. While SVU is still as great as ever, this was NBC's chance to add a little zest back into a floundering series. I highly recommend this show to people who enjoyed the original Law and Order back in the Angie Harmon years, and to those who like SVU. It's great to have Cabot back in the courtroom even if it is only on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dick Wolf's Conviction!, October 1, 2007
By 
Servo (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conviction: The Complete Series (DVD)
The first Law & Order series to not be called Law & Order, "Conviction" was NBC's very obvious answer to ABC's hit series Grey's Anatomy only with lawyers instead of doctors. Despite their own hopes that Conviction could do for law dramas what Grey's Anatomy had done for medical dramas, NBC (as with creator Dick Wolf's previously short-lived Law & Order: Trial By Jury) ultimately cancelled the series. Too bad, especially for fans of Stephanie March's Law & Order: Special Victims Unit character ADA Alex Cabot, as later episodes, according to March, would have dealt in depth with Alex, both in terms of her family and what makes her tick. Thankfully though, the producers were allowed to wrap up the series with a satisfying two-part finale. Conviction might've deviated somewhat from the typical L & O formula, but it still remained true in tone to the other Law & Order shows. Definitely a worthy addition to any Court TV DVD collection. Not so much for the packaging and extras which are solid, but for the episodes themselves which feature immaculate picture and sound. Not to mention the show's killer theme song "Destiny" by Syntax which can now be heard in both the main and closing titles. Props to Universal for a great transfer. Conviction - The Complete Series is a 3-disc (single-sided) set featuring all 13 episodes; Anamorphic Widescreen (1.78:1) video; Dolby Digital 5.1 English audio; plus the following Special Feature: Seven Character Profiles.

In the criminal justice system, the average age of a prosecutor in New York City is 28. These are their stories.

1. Pilot
2. Denial
3. Breakup
4. Indebted
5. Savasana
6. Madness
7. True Love
8. Downhill
9. The Wall
10. Deliverance
11. Indiscretion
12. 180.80
13. Hostage

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conviction, January 12, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Conviction: The Complete Series (DVD)
I love this show!!!It's great that Alex was let out of Witness Protection after they caught the man that shot her. I can't believe Numb3rs beat it. Personally, I don't think Numb3rs is that great, maybe an episode or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too bad they canceled it after one season. BIG Mistake!, June 11, 2011
By 
This review is from: Conviction: The Complete Series (DVD)
They should have given it another season......they screwed up. Could have been a great series. I do agree that Cabot's b itchy character wasn't like her Law & Order character. This could have been fixed in the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great stories and acting, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conviction: The Complete Series (DVD)
great acting and story lines
enjoy great movies from america
WITH EXCELLENT ACTORS AND GREAT STORIES
chfancier
fancier of fine movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting., August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show is interesting and clever. I will be watching more of it soon! I am surprised this show is not still on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show; shame about the main characters, January 5, 2008
By 
This review is from: Conviction: The Complete Series (DVD)
Watching the 13 episodes on this DVD, it's quite easy to come up with a theory as to why the show never made it past the first season. For what it's worth, my guess is that the characters - with the exception of Nick Potter (played by Jordan Bridges) and Chris Finn (played by Julianne Nicholson) - were just all so patently difficult to like and/or identify with. Even Alexandra Cabot (played by the brilliant Stephanie March) who was really one to watch when she was on earlier seasons of "Law & Order: Special Victims Unit" has now climbed a few steps up the career ladder (she's now Bureau Chief, "the boss", as she seems to relish in telling us) and become a "self-important b***h" (not my words, but the words of a colleague in one particularly tragic episode of the show) and to be honest, 13 episodes was about as much as I could stand. If they had gone on to make season two, I doubt I would have watched it.

Another huge personal disappointment with this DVD was with the music. The show had some really good music that would come on towards the end of each episode and I was really hoping the DVD would have details of the people whose music was used. I know they used stuff by popular musicians because I heard Coldplay, James Blunt and Amos Lee among a few others that escape me at the minute. I also know that there's a way the producers are able to use people's music and not credit them at the end of the show; "Homicide: Life on the Street" did it too but at least they gave us details in the DVD extras. It's a glaring omission in my book.

That said, in all other respects this is a brilliant legal drama as one would expect from Dick Wolf and it's this that redeems the DVD set. It's what makes it worth buying if you didn't see it when it originally aired. The cases and characters are realistic and the show is well written, well acted and directed. The season finale starring Gbenga Akinnagbe, an actor whose work I'm really enjoying on HBO's "The Wire" at the moment, was a classic hour of high tension. I remember watching it though and, apart from one or two exceptions, not really caring which way things went. That's when it dawned on me why I didn't like the show as much as I could have. I just wish they had bestowed a bit more humanity on the main characters. I didn't know prosecuting lawyers could be so cold, arrogant, unfeeling, miserable and acutely self-obsessed - and I've been watching all manner of legal drama for over 20 years now.

So in short: Very enjoyable drama; shame about the main characters in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting addition to Wolf's crime dramas, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All the actors were great. Would have been interesting to see where this drama would have gone. Seems like Network TV doesn't
give new shows a fair amount of time to develop a following
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilot, October 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well done drama. Excellent cast. Smart script. Such a good show then the idiots cancelled the series. Along the same idiot thinking when Firefly was cancelled. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conviction: The Complete Series (DVD)
just great .go get it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Conviction: The Complete Series
Conviction: The Complete Series by Norberto Barba (DVD - 2006)
$19.98 $7.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.