Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 10, 2011
I LOVED this book! It was such a cute cozy that - while it showed God's help and presence - wasn't a 'come to Jesus' book.

I'm still not sure who I liked best! The characters were awesome and the only thing lacking in their race to find the murderer and clear Aunt Connie's name is a series!

Side Note: I was very sorry to see that the author had passed away. I'm glad that the book was published, though, but am sorry we won't be seeing more of her work!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
When Dixie gets a call from her Uncle Rudd she knows he probably isn't calling jut to chat. All he tells her is that her Aunt Connie is in serious trouble and it is time for the Tanner family to do some investigating before the police find out or Connie could very well end up in jail. He tells her to pack and hit the road and then hangs up. Dixie does just that because, hey, family is family and you help family. Soon Dixie learns that the story is that Aunt Connie's ex-fiance, the same one that left her at the alter over forty years ago, was found dead...murdered...in her Aunt's flower shop, with her Aunt there. Luckily the law didn't find her, her family did. So they did what any good family would do....wrap him in pink cellophane and stash him in the flower cooler until they can solve the murder themselves and keep clear Connie's good name. Will the Tanner family be able to solve the murder before someone discovers Aaron missing? Can they hide a body while doing their investigations? When they do decide to go to the law, before or after they solve it all, will they all still get in huge trouble...maybe even all be seen as murderers?

Oh my gosh! I just LOVED this book! It was a fantastic mystery that was very well written with a fantastic flow. It jumped off on the first page and kept me wanting to do nothing but read it until the very end. It was a quicker read for me, but I think that is because I found myself unable to put it down. It kept me reading long into the night and early morning. The characters couldn't have been better either. They were simply amazing and ones I found myself wishing were part of my family too. The whole mystery of the murdered ex-fiance in his beloved one's flower shop cooler is just hilarious. As I read this book I found myself not only wanting to read on for the mystery, but also for the humor of it all and how the characters acted through it all. This read had me laughing out loud, which doesn't happen too often to me. Everything in this book was done so well that I found myself almost forgetting that it was a fictional book. It was so crazy I could see it happening in real life somewhere. I found this book to be more colorful and fascinating than all the flowers in Aunt Connie's flower shop! Amazing mystery read that you simply must read!!!!

5/5 Stars!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
It is a cute little mystery, light reading and just fine as far as it goes. The negative is the character development. It is difficult to write kookie and eccentric without devolving into dumb. The author does not accomplish that. The characters are just dumb and responsible for most of their own problems. I have no problem with quirky characters, but not really a fan of dumb. There is no explanation why a tenant feels the need to totally involve himself with the problems of the family.

I would read another book by this author just to see if it is any better, but I won't be seeking any out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
Dixie Tanner is from the little town of Kenna Springs, and as a psychologist, she takes pride in knowing she's made a name and good life for herself. That is, until her uncle gives her a call. Recruiting Dixie by taking her shocked silence as acceptance, her uncle talks her into coming home to help solve a murder. Reluctantly, she agrees to help absolve her aunt Connie of murdering her ex-fiance from forty years ago. But when she arrives she finds her relatives have taken things into their own hands. Will they find the murderer before the sheriff finds out what they are all up to? Or will the killer come for anyone who discovers the truth?

The characters in this book are not only charming and endearing, they are hilarious in every sort of way one can possibly imagine. I couldn't help but fall in love with the Tanner family, even in the short time I got to "know" them. While I dearly wish we could all read more books by this author, she has passed from this world to the next. This will, and shall remain, my favorite mystery novel that has just the right touch of everything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
Dixie Tanner is a therapist and one night she gets a call from her uncle that her aunt is in trouble and they need her to come home to Kenna Springs right away. At first she blows her uncle off but once she find out there has been a murder she packs her bags and heads home. You soon meet her family and find out her aunts ex fiancée is dead and they are working to figure out who did it before the sheriff figures out what is going on. Also throw into the mix is a young man who lives in the same building as Dixie's aunt. He is soon helping them to solve the mystery. Will they figure out who done it before they end up six feet under as well?

This book has a lot of humor in it and in my option made it a book I could read. This book is only told from Dixie's view point and I really don't enjoy a book that is only told by one character. It also seemed a bit far fetched. I kept thinking to myself how do they keep getting away with this stuff? I did enjoy the love of this family and how they stuck together and worked together to figure out who killed the guy.

There was a very small romance story between Dixie and her aunts neighbor. Being a fan of romance novels I was hoping for a little more of a story there but the ending was happy at least.

Over all if you like a funny quick reading mystery novel then I think you will enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2011
A few years ago, Dixie Tanner moved away from her hometown of Kenna Springs, Arkansas, and has made a nice life for herself in Little Rock as a clinical psychologist. Dixie is the first to admit she comes from a family of dysfunctional misfits and considers herself the least peculiar one of the bunch. Of course, that doesn't mean she loves them any less, just that she has to live with the fact that people will always consider her as strange as they are.

Uncle Rudd calls her up late one night with the news that Aaron Scott, the man who left Dixie's Aunt Connie at the altar 40 years ago, has suddenly turned up dead in Aunt Connie's flower shop. Uncle Rudd insists that they need Dixie's help and psychological expertise. Despite intense reservations, Dixie packs her bags and heads home to Kenna Springs.

Once there, we meet the whole wacky family, including Uncle Rudd, his wife Aunt Nissa, and Aunt Connie, who is apparently suffering from mental "episodes" set off by finding the only man she's ever loved murdered in her very own shop. It isn't long before Dixie learns that her relatives have wrapped up Aaron's body in pink cellophane and hid him in the flower cooler. They knew how it would look to the police if Connie was found standing over her ex-fiancé's dead body, and they were simply trying to keep her out of jail. The Tanners have determined to solve this mystery on their own. Once they do, they'll go to the sheriff with the evidence to prove Connie's innocence and put the killer away.

There are several suspects in town to choose from, including the eight men who were present at Aaron's bachelor party all those years ago. Then there's Freedom, an outsider who recently came to town and is renting a room from Aunt Connie. As the Tanners get closer to solving the mystery, it becomes clear that the murderer will stop at nothing to prevent the truth from coming out, even if it means killing every one of the Tanner clan.

Between moving the body several times, coming up with hairbrained ways to avoid the police, slapstick dialogue and amateur sleuthing, MAY COOLER HEADS PREVAIL reads like an episode of "The Andy Griffith Show." The best word to describe it is quirky. But it's also a lot of fun. After a bumpy start, with quite a bit of backstory and much telling, the story evolves into an entertaining ride. The characters grow on you and become more endearing as the plot moves along. Definitely several chuckles, and maybe even a few laugh-out-loud moments throughout.

The Barbour Hometown Mysteries tagline is "where love and suspense meet." But romance fans will be disappointed. The closest this book comes to romance is merely hinting at the possibility of Dixie finding love after the story ends. Suspense isn't necessarily a component, either, even in the climax. But MAY COOLER HEADS PREVAIL will satisfy mystery lovers looking for a quick, fun puzzle with plenty of quirky and memorable characters to go around.

Perhaps most notable about this book is that the author, Teri (T.L.) Dunnegan, did not live to see her first novel in print, as she passed away in 2006. This novel reveals Teri's sense of humor and her writing talent. Although fans of MAY COOLER HEADS PREVAIL will not get the privilege of waiting for the next book by T.L. Dunnegan, readers should feel blessed to have been graced with the end result of her life-long dream of being a published author.

--- Reviewed by Lynda Schab
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2010
May Cooler Heads Prevail (Hometown Mysteries)
Teri Dunnegan
5 Stars

You don't mess with the Tanners. That's like messing with the Hatfields and McCoys. This somewhat dysfunctional family has their selves wrapped up in a murder---litterly.

Forty years earlier Connie Tanner was to be married but for some reason unknown to not only Connie but everyone else in the small town of Kenna Springs was why Aaron Scott skipped town and left the country. With only a dozen red carnations and a blue note, Connie knew he did not get cold feet. Something or someone drove him out of town. Now he is back in town, dead as a doornail in Connies flower shop with a pair of her flower cutting scissors in his back. Now the rush is on to prove Connie did not kill Aaron. Wrapping him up in pink cellophane like a mummy they stick him in the cooler, and call in their niece psychologist Dixie Tanner, who seems to have the coolest head amongst the Tanner clan.

Trying to convince them to let the sheriff in on what's happening they are bound to solve the murder their self and catch who ever "dun it" then turn everything over. When other circumstances start happening, a brief case and luggage is found, someone breaks into the flower shop, and the murderer is now after Dixie and the family will they get to the bottom of this before it's too late. When a local a local artist helps provide clues will he be more help than a hindrance. After all he was a stranger who moved to town.

Come along on another hilarious sweet cozy hometown mystery and see if you can figure out the clues and help capture the murderer. Another great afternoon read in the Hometown Mystery Series by Barbour Publishing.

I would like to thank Barbour Publishing and Net Galley for providing this ARC for my reading pleasure. A positive review was not required and the opinions are my own views of the book.

Books in the "Hometown Mystery" series

Missing Mable
Blown Away
Nursing The Grudge
Burying The Hatchet
May Cooler Heads Prevail
Nipped In The Bud
Advent Of A Mystery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2011
This book was a hoot! It was silly but suspenseful. I liked the first person point of you and really enjoyed it. If you are expecting romance like most of these books you will be disappointed but I didn't mind not having the mushiness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2010
If you live in the Ozarks you will identify with the small town setting of "May Cooler Heads Prevail" by TL Dunnegan. The entire Tanner family converges on Kenna Springs to help Aunt Connie solve the murder of Aaron Scott. Connie finds her runaway groom murdered in her flower shop and hides his body in the flower cooler. Reminiscent of the Mitford series by Jan Karon "May Cooler Heads Prevail" proves that a good book does not need gore and profanity to be mysterious and entertaining. Dunnegan's first novel includes colorful characters, clever dialogue and several laugh out loud moments. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
The book was pretty good it kept my attention enough that I wanted to finish it to see who the killer was and not who I thought
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.