Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did what I expected
You're delusional if you think a USB port can take a drink from room temp and make it nice and cold. If you want to do that for $30, again, you're crazy.

Now, if you want an apparatus that keeps cold drinks from warming up as fast and also keeps the bottom half of your can of soda colder much longer, this is perfect. Assuming you crack open a beverage when it's...
Published on January 3, 2007 by AX

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chiller + Koozie = Success!
While the CoolIT Beverage Chiller isn't powerful enough to even keep a drink cool, I found a way to keep my drink cold until I finish it. Get a koozie (foam can holder), cut out the bottom, put it around a soda can and stick the can on the CoolIT chiller. Granted, most of the job is done by the koozie, but near the end of the can, it does make a difference.
Published on August 9, 2006 by gembaser


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did what I expected, January 3, 2007
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
You're delusional if you think a USB port can take a drink from room temp and make it nice and cold. If you want to do that for $30, again, you're crazy.

Now, if you want an apparatus that keeps cold drinks from warming up as fast and also keeps the bottom half of your can of soda colder much longer, this is perfect. Assuming you crack open a beverage when it's cold, this thing is great. The top half of the drink is gone before it warms up. It's the bottom half that causes problems and this does the job.

Not even close to as loud as some reviews say it is. Yeah, it hums...but it's the same level of sound as the power supply on the CPU, so it's not like I even notice. Granted, this thing is closer to the user than the power supply, but it makes no difference.

I liked this thing. Got it as a gift and it is useful only for aluminum can drinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chiller + Koozie = Success!, August 9, 2006
By 
gembaser "gembaser" (Los Angeles, California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
While the CoolIT Beverage Chiller isn't powerful enough to even keep a drink cool, I found a way to keep my drink cold until I finish it. Get a koozie (foam can holder), cut out the bottom, put it around a soda can and stick the can on the CoolIT chiller. Granted, most of the job is done by the koozie, but near the end of the can, it does make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beverage chiller, May 5, 2006
By 
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
works ok with cans, extends coolness of beverage but not for long time .. looks cool at my desktop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eh... waste of money, March 28, 2007
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
The CoolIT USB Beverage Chiller is a great idea with not-so-great execution. It only keeps the bottom part of the beverage cold, and not so much that you would notice a difference. The fan is loud. All-in-all an unimpressive product. I'm sending mine back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Product & Service, March 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
It appears that some people think this device will freeze their beverage. Then when they find out it does not, they leave negative feedback; which is wrong! This device works exactly as described and I have no problem with it! It is not the manufactures or vendors fault that some people have an unrealistic expectation. This device will keep your beverage cooler than without it, but it will not super chill it. The fact that it can keep your beverage cool with just a little power from a USB port is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very cool., May 30, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
Junk best describes this so called beverage chiller. It has not worked well on bottles, mugs, nor cans. Its best function seems to be producing condensation. Of course, according to the instructions, this is bad for the chiller and must be wiped away to prevent damage. This chiller will be joining other failed gizmos in the back of my closet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Perfectly, November 8, 2006
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
I have my plugged in all day in my notebook and I leave for meetings throughout the day and I have not had any issues. USB 2.0 ever hear of it? If your using 1.1 of course it's not going to supply as much power and not work, thus it says optimized for USB 2.0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chill It - Luke warm at best, April 11, 2007
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
Great idea that doesn't live up to it's hype. Two issues, it steals the USB ports completely and often causes problems with one's computer. More importantly, it doesn't cool down drinks, or even maintain them. They usually warm up to room temperature within an hour, whether on the coolIT or not. Disappointing performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very effective, May 25, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Richmond, Virginia USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
It doesn't really keep your beverage cool. It also lacks an on/off switch. A foolish gadget that's a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gimmicky, but works as advertised, September 21, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller (Kitchen)
Many people complain that this device doesn't take a pot of boiling water and freeze it on your desk. That isn't what it is for. I like drinking cold water at my desk at work, sometimes I have the water there for a while. I figured it would be a fun thing to try. It works, keep my water cold, most definitely colder than leaving it on my desk. My only real complaint is the noise level. It is quiet, but it is designed to be sitting on a desk right next to you so the noise is more noticeable. Personally, I like the gimmicky aspect of this cooler than the actual function. It is a nice conversation piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Coolit Systems USB Beverage Chiller
Used & New from: $20.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.