Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Copper Beach Review by Novel Reaction.com
Abby Radwell can unlock the paranormal secrets of books but when she starts receiving blackmail threats, she knows she needs help. Copper Beach by Jayne Ann Krentz , Abby hires Sam Coppersmith, an paranormal investigator, to help her track down her blackmailer and to help for find an ancient text known as The Key.

Sam Coppersmith, has an affinity for crystals...
Published on January 10, 2012 by Novel Reaction

versus
63 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Derivative and long-winded.
I have enjoyed Krentz's books for years, but have been increasingly unhappy with the direction her books have taken, with them becoming far less "romance" and far more "para-mystery." Unlike the winsome characters in "Deep Waters" and "Grand Passion" and "Absolutely, Positively," to name only a few, there wasn't a memorable character in this book. None. Instead, this is...
Published on January 11, 2012 by Anne Ivy


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Copper Beach Review by Novel Reaction.com, January 10, 2012
Abby Radwell can unlock the paranormal secrets of books but when she starts receiving blackmail threats, she knows she needs help. Copper Beach by Jayne Ann Krentz , Abby hires Sam Coppersmith, an paranormal investigator, to help her track down her blackmailer and to help for find an ancient text known as The Key.

Sam Coppersmith, has an affinity for crystals and he is willing to help Abby but in exchange he needs Abby to help him find The Key. When dead bodies start showing up, Sam worries that he won't be able to keep Abby safe especially since his feelings for Abby have gotten stronger the more time they spend together.

When I hear the words "paranormal romance" I immediately think vampires and shape-shifters, but Copper Beach is not your normal paranormal (I grinned after I penned that phrase). Jayne Ann Krentz is the queen of physic powers in the paranormal field. The chemistry between Abby and Sam is hot but it is the character of Newton, Abby's dog, that made me smile most often. Being a devoted cat owner (translation: slave to the grumpy old man cat who is currently sitting on my lap making it so I have to bends my arm unnaturally to write this review), I love Krentz's pet characters. With as many devoted pet owners out there who read romance novels you would think that more authors would include them in their novels but beyond just including a pet in her novels, Krentz does an amazing job of having the pets in her novels play an important role to the movement of the novels without overshadowing the main characters (dust bunnies are my favorite under her pen name of Jayne Castle). Copper Beach was a fabulous read that I highly recommend and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop thrills and romance!, January 10, 2012
Copper Beach is the start of a new paranormal suspense series, A Dark Legacy . Abby Radwell is a bookseller working primarily with private collectors. She has the power to take psychic energy from book and use it to disable people but primarily she uses her senses to find "hot books" for her carefully vetted clients. She gets involved in the search for a lab book with tremendous energy potential and needs protection-enter Sam Coppersmith. Sam comes from a family that has a long history of paranormal work and research. Added to his background with an unnamed government agency and he is the perfect man for Abby-personally and professionally. There is a lot of chemistry between the two characters and they get involved with each other and the search for the book right from the beginning. Abby is being pressured to find the book by her family and possibly also from an unknown blackmailer. Sam's father was involved in the beginning of the experiment that created the lab book and Sam knows the consequences should it fall into the wrong hands. Floating around in the background is the mystery of how Sam's ex-fiancé ended up dead, why Abby's family needs her to find the lab book, and who the mysterious blackmailer is. The suspense of the story keeps you turning page after to page to see what will happen next. This book is a bit of a departure from her Arcane series but just as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Derivative and long-winded., January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have enjoyed Krentz's books for years, but have been increasingly unhappy with the direction her books have taken, with them becoming far less "romance" and far more "para-mystery." Unlike the winsome characters in "Deep Waters" and "Grand Passion" and "Absolutely, Positively," to name only a few, there wasn't a memorable character in this book. None. Instead, this is a book that goes into excruciating detail about a bunch of crystals that don't exist.

There's not even a dust bunny, and the fact I would miss a fictitious creature tells a tale. The dust bunnies are turning into the most entertaining characters in Krentz's books. Goodness knows the primary characters all run together, being indistinguishable from one another.

What really bugs me is I paid - with tax - $14 for the ebook, which I will likely never read again. Unless you are enthusiastic about the direction Krentz's recent books have taken, save your money and either skip it entirely or get it from the library.

The villain was obvious, based upon her past books. It was no surprise at all. Realized who it'd be as soon as that particular character showed up. Okay, to be strictly honest, I thought another character was involved, too. If you read the book, you'll know precisely who I mean when you get to that part.

It's a pity that an author who has, in the past, brought to life such characters as Serenity Makepeace and Elias Winters (from "Hidden Talents" and "Deep Waters," for the uninitiated), has chosen to rely heavily on creating imaginary stuff such as the crystals in "Copper Beach" rather than unique characters and situations, both of which were once her strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copper Beach is a shiny new series!, January 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been reading Ms. Krentz's books, under all her pseudonyms, for more than 20 years, and I still love her work regardless of subgenre. Copper Beach starts a new series featuring the Coppersmiths, three siblings who are talented with crystals; this is Sam's and Abby's story. It doesn't appear to have an Arcane linkage, although it has a lot of those elements. The story is told with Krentz's usual charm, and the characters are very likeable. I liked Sam's attitude about Abby from the beginning (no spoiler!), and felt the romance was sweet and plausible. The book is clearly setting up the other two in the series, but not in a way that detracts from the Copper Beach story. Krentz does have a style, and "typical" types of characters, so you either like her or you don't. I like her a lot. I bought this on my Kindle, without waiting for the price to lower, because I wanted to read it right away and I KNOW I will read it again. And again. A charming, warm, entertaining and engaging story worth your time (and money), IMHO. Thanks again, Ms. Krentz! You rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copper Beach, January 28, 2012
By 
This is the first book in a new paranormal trilogy. If you don't like paranormal, don't read it.

Abby Radwell, a very exclusive paranormal book dealer, is going through a private library when she hears a man threatening the wheel chair bound owner. She sees a shaking, nervous man with a gun saying he needs a certain book and the woman who can decode it, Abby. She calls him upstairs, finds the 'hot' book he wants and hands it to him. He complains that he can read it. She explains that coding leaves a readable book, but that it must be decoded before the actual book appears. He insists that she decode it which she does and hands it to him. When he touches the book she also is touching it, and uses her power to knock him out.

The next thing she knows she's getting blackmail notes about it. When she tells her close friend, the reclusive book collector Thaddeus Webber, he insists that she get in touch with Sam Coppersmith. She does. When she gets to the island where he lives, she finds out that everyone thinks he is grieving about the murder of a woman he had been seeing, but that Sam sure didn't do it because if a Coppersmith committed a murder, no one would ever know! When she meets Sam, she finds that she believes it. After he hears her problem, he follows her home, stays with her.

Her family is a blended family and she has never cared for her step-brother nor he for her. He has come to her and begged her to get a certain book for him as he was broke. He had invested in what turned out to be a Ponzi scheme and so had his snooty, rich mother. When Abby refused, he blamed it on 'payback' from when they were kids.

Sam and Abby are extremely attracted to one another. When her apartment is vandalized and destroyed, Sam takes her back to the island where she'll be safe.

There are several people looking for the journal her step-brother was asking about. It gives information about a mine of powerful paranormal crystals. Sam's family also wants it as his father and a friend were nearly killed in an explosion set up by the third partner. They do not want the crystals mined as they know they are very dangerous.

That pretty much lays it out. If I go further it would be a spoiler.The story is complex; a mystery, a love story, amusing in spots, has a lot of characters, surprises, and holds the reader's interest.

Recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid comfort read from JAK, January 15, 2012
I've been reading Jayne Ann Krentz and her Amanda Quick historicals for over a decade, and she's still my go-to author when I need a comfort read. "Copper Beach" delivers just that: JAK's usual well-crafted story and extremely likeable characters. That's no small praise when the romance market is flooded with books, and not all of them can, at the least, boast solid writing. In her latest offering, JAK has moved away from the Arcane Society although this is still a paranormal romantic suspense that fits right in with those books.

Also typical with Krentz, there are no major surprises in this book. There's not much of a who-done-it since the primary villain is known from chapter one. There's the Scooby Doo ending with the villain revealing everything before the wrap-it-all-up final showdown. The main characters have extended families with some interesting dynamics, and it appears we will see some of them in future books.

Bottom line: "Copper Beach" is a light, entertaining read with all the JAK standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, May 26, 2012
Enjoyable read. I would have liked a little more push/pull between the hero and heroine who bond pretty quickly but I enjoyed the story line and the pacing moves right along. If you like mystical elements, you'll like this, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copper Beach, February 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good romance. Decent plot. Some of the "psi" physics and technology were confusing. Krentz is really getting into the crystal thing for her paranormal spin-offs from the Arcane Society series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read, August 13, 2012
If I had paid attention to the reviews, I would've passed this book up - but I bought it and enjoyed it completely. I recommend this book. Exciting and a fast read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story. Fast read., July 1, 2012
By 
Denice "DJS" (Boise, ID, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As always JAK provides an interesting story with different twists and turns. I love the different relationships and coping skills used in each characters life. Happy endings are always great. I can't wait for the next in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Copper Beach (Dark Legacy Novel)
Copper Beach (Dark Legacy Novel) by Jayne Ann Krentz (Mass Market Paperback - December 31, 2012)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.