Copyright question Will this allow me to convert my children's copyrighted VHS tapes to DVD? We are overran with VHS tapes in our house but I don't want to have to re-purchase all their favorites on DVD. This would be great for me if I can do that....will help with storage issues
asked by W. Wells on October 15, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 21 answers
A
My understanding of copyright law is IF YOU OWN IT you can make a copy for YOUR OWN USE, thereby allowing you to keep the original from being corrupted, damaged, or lost. You may not, however, make copies to share or sell. On the other hand, who's likely to be checking? As long as you're still using those kidvids for your own kids & grands... Makes sense. Just know that if you no longer own the "originals," you might technically be considered to be running afoul of the original copyright exception.
NOTE: I am not a lawyer, and my understanding is based on advice rec'd years ago, so you might still want a second opinion.
Sheryl A. Gregory answered on October 15, 2011
Comment | 3 of 4 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
Be aware that most of the commercial VHS tapes have Macrovision, which means that you cannot copy it - the color balance, contrast, and brightness goes in and out. You may need to purchase a connector that will override Macrovision protection so that you can copy the VHS tape (they do exist and usually run about $40).
bookworm answered on October 16, 2011
Comment | 3 of 3 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
I believe you are referring to making a copy of copyrighted material going from VHS machine to DVD burner; in this case you are going from VHS machine to a PC that may allow for the copy to me made.
We need someone who owns the software to chime in and let us know if it can be done.
Alberto answered on October 15, 2011
Comment | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A