Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Coraline - 2-Disc Collector's Edition [Blu-ray]
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$10.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 17, 2010
This movie, yes is a little creepy. It has a moral, which is the point. The grass is always greener on the other side. The moral is the grass is not always greener and things are not always what they seem. I watched this with our 12 year old daughter. She was fine with it. Not sure that a child of 10 or younger would understand it. We love this movie. The person who commented about the 3D effects is wrong. They must have watched that non Blu-Ray 3D, with the paper glasses. This is the version for 3D TV's and Blu-Ray players.
22 comments|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2009
Universal Studios Home Entertainment have announced the US DVD and Blu-ray Disc release of Coraline on 21st July 2009. Based on the book by Neil Gaiman, this stop-motion animation written and directed by Henry Selick follows an adventurous girl who finds another world that is a strangely idealized version of her frustrating home, but it has sinister secrets.

Available on single-disc DVD, two-disc Collector's Edition DVD and Blu-ray Disc, all include both the 2-D and 3-D version of the main feature and come packaged with 4 pairs of 3D glasses. Features are outlined below...

Single-Disc DVD

* 2-D and 3-D Presentations
* 1.85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen
* English, French and Spanish DD5.1 Surround
* English SDH, French and Spanish subtitles
* Feature Commentary with Director Henry Selick and Composer Bruno Coulais

2-Disc Collector's Edition DVD - As above plus a bonus disc with the following content:

* Digital Copy of Coraline 2-D Version (Expires 07/31/2010)
* Deleted Scenes
* The Making of Coraline
* Voicing the Characters

Blu-ray Disc - This is a Blu-ray Combo release which comes bundled with a standard-def DVD that includes the 2-D version of the film (AV specs as per the DVD releases), audio commentary, and a Digital Copy of the film. Features include:

* 2-D and 3-D Presentations
* 1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
* English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio
* French and Spanish 5.1 DTS Surround
* English SDH, French and Spanish subtitles
* U Control - Picture in Picture (2-D Feature Only)
* U Control - Tours and Voice Sessions (2-D Feature Only)
* U Control - Picture in Picture Animatic (2-D Feature Only)
* Deleted Scenes
* The Making of Coraline
* Voicing the Characters
* Creepy Coraline
* Feature Commentary with Director Henry Selick and Composer Bruno Coulais
* D-Box
* BD Live - My Scenes Sharing
* BD Live - The World According to Henry
* Disc 2: DVD with standard-def 2-D version of the film, audio commentary & 2-D Digital Copy of the film (expires 31st July 2010)
2121 comments|271 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Nobody can drench a book in creepy, dank atmosphere like Neil Gaiman, infused with humor and more than a little horror.

Fortunately that flavour is kept alive in the movie adaptation of "Coraline," brought to life by the talented Henry Selick. It's a haunting little dark fairy tale full of decayed apartments, dancing rats and eerie soulless doppelgangers, as well as a gutsy heroine who finds herself in this ominous "other" world.

Newly moved into an aged apartment, Coraline (Dakota Fanning) is bored. Her parents are too busy to do anything with her, and her neighbors are either insane or boring. The one exception is Wybie, a boy who annoys her no end.

It's the sort of relentlessly dull world that any little girl would want to escape from -- until Coraline does. She encounters a plastered-up door and a colourful wormhole, leading to a doppelganger of new home. In fact, it's so similar that she has a button-eyed "other mother" (Teri Hatcher) and matching "other father," (John Hodgman) as well as great food, games, a shimmering magic garden, a chorus of circus rodents and magic toys.

At first Coraline is fascinated by the other world, especially since her other parents are as attentive as her real ones aren't. Then she finds her real parents sealed inside a mirror. With the help of a sarcastic cat, Coraline ventures back into the other world. But with her parents and a trio of dead children held hostage, Coraline's only hope is to gamble with her own freedom -- and she'll be trapped forever if she fails.

Neil Gaiman's book "Coraline" is a brilliant dark fairy-tale vibe -- decayed apartments, dead children, spiderwebs, beetles, disembodied hands, button eyes, and an insectile button-eyed woman who wants to claim Coraline for herself. It's a fairy tale world that turns into a nightmare realm where souls are lost and horrific things scuttle in the shadows.

Most directors would turn the story into a cutsy, unscary affair... but not the director of "The Nightmare Before Christmas" and "James and the Giant Peach." Instead, Selick gives it a dark, cobwebby atmosphere, brilliant colours and surreal details (the button eclipsing the moon). And it's full of lovely details that could have been silly (the creepy-crawly claw hand) yet work brilliantly.

The story starts off as merely surreal, but grows more ghastly and eerie as the movie unwinds -- and in the last third, the slow-moving story suddenly spins into a thoroughly spooky territory, and a truly terrifying climax where the Other Mother shows her true self. And along the way, there are plenty of wonderfully creepy moments -- the three ghosts in a rotting bedroom/mirror, the offering of buttons and thick black thread, weird circus acts, and much more. The horror is subtle, the delicious creepiness is not.

Coraline -- the Alice in this Notsowonderland -- is a wonderful little heroine: strong, sensible, self-sufficient but still fairly freaked out about what is happening around her. Normally I'm not crazy about Dakota Fanning, but voice-only she's quite good in this role.

The sarcastic cat is a wonderful counterpoint, and the movie's original character Wybie makes a nice companion (albeit an extraneous one). And the other mother is the stuff of nightmares -- she's utterly inhuman and merciless, and by the movie's climax she's become the stuff of nightmares. Oh, and French and Saunders make a pair of fun cameos as the kooky neighbors.

"Coraline" is a brilliantly dark little movie, full of dark magic and eerie creatures -- definitely for fans of Gaiman, dark fantasy and really creepy stuff.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
Doesn't matter what age you are this movie is just amazing, the stop motion animation and tim burtons famous clay designs for his scenery and characters is truly captured in this movie over his other master pieces. It stays closely aligned with it's book and has various areas that differ but it's a very good length with amazing color and was so beautifully done i highly recommend this movie to many people especially those who are fans of tim burton.
review image review image review image
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
I am only commenting on the 3D aspect of it....not the story itself.
I have several movies in 3d and for me this is bright & colorful. Story is well done but unfortunately nothing really leaps out of the screen at you except for a few instances. I did not think that I was going to like this but watching this in 3D really changed my mind.
I did not really care for Alice in Wonderland or A Christmas Carol. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and Despicable Me are pretty good but this I found to be more of a visual treat.
I must say that out of all that I have -Saw 3D and Clash of the Titans-Resident Evil... just do not hold up against CGI movies. IMAX does great stuff but those are not movies.
From start to finish Coraline is a visual feast and I would recommend this for anyone that has a 3D television.
33 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
I really enjoyed this movie, but I am disappointed with the 3D.

This gift set does NOT come with a Blu-Ray 3D movie; it comes with a Blu-Ray that uses Anaglyphic 3D. Some reviews rave about the 3D of this movie, but they must have had a different set because this only come with the Anaglyphic kind of 3D (with the colored glasses), not the Stereoscopic kind. I searched to try and find a definitive answer as to what kind of 3D came in this set and found very little information, so I decided to order it and give it a shot. If you are looking for a REAL 3D Blu-Ray movie, this gift set is not for you.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
For PG it had some pretty scary scenes for younger kids, and I found the scene with the really really almost naked fat (large chested) woman offensive in a PG. I know, she's animated, but it was pretty graphic.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2011
Comment: I was not expecting to like this movie... only wanting to check out the technical aspects such as the "stop motion" and 3D qualities. This movie was so well done, with particular attention to the details that I was blown away (in a good way). After I watched the "extras", again I was blown away with the tremendous amount of work that goes into making one of these stop action movies... it is incredible. The story and the situations became spooky... (button eyes), and may be a little intense for younger children. For "mature" viewers... whether you watch the 3D version or "normal" version, I think you are in for a pleasant surprise.
3D Performance: The 3D was "stellar" on this disc. As good or better than at the theater. Most Blu-ray 3D discs have a problem with "convergence" best explained as "stereo ghosting" to objects in the background. It can be as little as 2% up to about 20%. This movie was absolutely perfect. This is the disc I am now using for my "golden master" of 3D perfection. I am now asking: "If they can do such a perfect job on this movie... why not all 3D movies"?
Disc Performance: This disc performed perfectly. No aberrations of any kind (audio, video, 3D or skipping).
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This uncommon animation starts with tween-aged angst, the kind that demands independence but still wants mom and dad close by. Her busy parents don't have much time for her, though, and her new, remote home doesn't offer much reward for her explorations (other than some rather kooky neighbors). So, even if it's not wholly conscious, Coraline wishes for a nicer place and parents that pay more attention.

As the movie's tagline says, "be careful what you wish for." Like Alice down the rabbit hole, Coraline finds a secret passage to a more magical place. Soon, however, the magic turns dark. That's where the brilliant animation really comes into its own. The stop animation (or at least the look of it) bring to mind Tim Burton with a macabre touch of Brothers Quay. You know your child best - skittish ones might find some of the imagery a bit much. Still, kids' stories (like Alice in Wonderland) have always had dark edges. That deliciously spooky sense, plus some great animation, really set this movie apart from the usual.

-- wiredweird
0Comment|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2009
"Coraline" is a frighteningly beautiful fantasy, filled to the brim with delightfully bizarre visuals and one-of-a-kind characters. Some may say that it's too dark for young children, and indeed, it is, in essence, a family-friendly horror movie. But I suspect that most children will find it more dazzling than scary; through the painstaking but rewarding process of stop-motion animation, writer/director Henry Selick retains the essence of the original novel by Neil Gaiman, crafting a tale that's just creepy enough to thrill audiences without sending them running out of the theater. It's also presented in 3-D, although the process isn't as impressive as you might think it is. I stared at the screen through a pair of special glasses, and yet I never flinched or covered my eyes when something came at me from off the screen. No matter--dimension isn't important as long as a fun story is being told.

With "Coraline," we're once again invited to explore an alternate world hidden amongst our own, specifically within the walls of a house (Gaiman has tackled this subject before with films like "Mirrormask" and stories like "The Wolves in the Walls"). In this case, the alternate world is a lot like ours, except it's better. That's exactly why it appeals to Coraline Jones (voiced by Dakota Fanning), an adventurous young girl leading a very dull life. Her parents (voiced by Teri Hatcher and John Hodgman) are too busy writing articles for a gardening catalogue to take any notice of her. She's surrounded by eccentric but boring neighbors in her new home, which was once a Victorian house but is now an apartment complex. There's nothing worth exploring inside or outside. Worst of all, she never feels as if anyone is listening to what she's saying. Maybe it would help if they didn't keep calling her Caroline.

Then she discovers a small door hidden behind a wall of an old parlor, a door that covers a tube-like portal leading to the alternate version of our world. Things are so much more interesting there, including the people, who are reflections of the people in Coraline's world. There's one small physical difference: They all have black buttons instead of eyes. When we first see Coraline's Other Mother (also voiced by Teri Hatcher), we immediately sense that something sinister lurks behind that vacant, artificial stare; she's a little too sweet-natured, a little too accommodating. It's as if she wants Coraline to stay in this alternate world forever, not as a daughter, but as a prized possession. Coraline's suspicions are confirmed when the Other Mother hands her a box containing two black buttons, a spool of thread, and a needle.

There comes a point when Coraline must not only rescue her real parents, who have been kidnapped, but also free the souls of three dead children, who have been imprisoned in the alternate world for who knows how long. With the help of a special green stone, Coraline will play a game with the Other Mother, a hide-and-go-seek game, a finding-things game. If she loses ... well, let's just say that losing won't be a good thing for her.

Another fitting way to describe this film would be to call it a Good vs. Evil fable, where a wise but non-complacent hero battles it out with a malevolent force. Coraline is daring, but she certainly isn't fearless, which only makes her that much more relatable as a character. She even has to be helped at specific points, as seen when the local cat appears in the alternate world; we quickly learn that, once in this world, he has the ability to speak like a human, specifically in the voice of Keith David. (Is it the independent nature of cats that inspired Gaiman to make this character a bit haughty?)

As with any good fantasy, "Coraline" features a number of side characters, each with a unique personality quirk. Coraline's downstairs neighbors are Miss Spink and Miss Forcible (voiced by Jennifer Saunders and Dawn French), former actresses who speak as if they were trying to be heard in the balcony section. I don't know whether or not it's unfortunate that we only see their Other selves giving a performance (to an audience primarily made up of Scottish terriers). Her upstairs neighbor is Mr. Bobinsky (voiced by Ian McShane), an eccentric circus performer who gets from point A to point B using only acrobatic poses. He claims to have a troupe of mice training for their next performance, although the only mice we see belong to the Other Mr. Bobinsky; the show they put on for Coraline is one of the film's best scenes.

Finally, there's Wybie Lovat (voiced by Robert Bailey, Jr.), a boy not much older than Coraline. He's awkward and timid, always hunched over, always sneaking up on Coraline, forbidden from entering the apartment complex because of his grandmother. This character was not in Gaiman's novel, and truth be told, I'm not sure he was needed for the film. He and Coraline have a few interesting scenes together, but there's always the sense that the story would have been just fine without him. It certainly was when Gaiman wrote it. Be that as it may, "Coraline" is still a fantastic explosion of creativity, a haunting, vibrant fantasy teeming with visual goodies. It's a dark film--not unpleasantly dark, but dark nevertheless. It works in much the same way as a bedtime story, many of which hint at the possibility of bad things happening. You know your children better than I do, but keep in mind that many are more fascinated by the macabre than by the mundane.
88 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse