Customer Reviews


856 Reviews
5 star:
 (549)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie
This movie, yes is a little creepy. It has a moral, which is the point. The grass is always greener on the other side. The moral is the grass is not always greener and things are not always what they seem. I watched this with our 12 year old daughter. She was fine with it. Not sure that a child of 10 or younger would understand it. We love this movie. The person...
Published on December 17, 2010 by S. Hughes

versus
188 of 247 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delightlfully Trippy Movie, But Don't Be Enticed by the 3D Feature Alone
My husband and I rented the dual sided version of the film a couple days ago as well as bought two pairs of the dual color 3D glasses.

The film was absolutely beautiful designed and animated. It was also delightfully balanced between trippy and creepy. I'd definitely say that if parents have young children, they should preview the film prior to showing it and...
Published on August 4, 2009 by K. Carlson


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, December 17, 2010
This review is from: Coraline Blu-ray / DVD (Blu-ray)
This movie, yes is a little creepy. It has a moral, which is the point. The grass is always greener on the other side. The moral is the grass is not always greener and things are not always what they seem. I watched this with our 12 year old daughter. She was fine with it. Not sure that a child of 10 or younger would understand it. We love this movie. The person who commented about the 3D effects is wrong. They must have watched that non Blu-Ray 3D, with the paper glasses. This is the version for 3D TV's and Blu-Ray players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


258 of 325 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD & BLURAY specs, May 19, 2009
Universal Studios Home Entertainment have announced the US DVD and Blu-ray Disc release of Coraline on 21st July 2009. Based on the book by Neil Gaiman, this stop-motion animation written and directed by Henry Selick follows an adventurous girl who finds another world that is a strangely idealized version of her frustrating home, but it has sinister secrets.

Available on single-disc DVD, two-disc Collector's Edition DVD and Blu-ray Disc, all include both the 2-D and 3-D version of the main feature and come packaged with 4 pairs of 3D glasses. Features are outlined below...

Single-Disc DVD

* 2-D and 3-D Presentations
* 1.85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen
* English, French and Spanish DD5.1 Surround
* English SDH, French and Spanish subtitles
* Feature Commentary with Director Henry Selick and Composer Bruno Coulais

2-Disc Collector's Edition DVD - As above plus a bonus disc with the following content:

* Digital Copy of Coraline 2-D Version (Expires 07/31/2010)
* Deleted Scenes
* The Making of Coraline
* Voicing the Characters

Blu-ray Disc - This is a Blu-ray Combo release which comes bundled with a standard-def DVD that includes the 2-D version of the film (AV specs as per the DVD releases), audio commentary, and a Digital Copy of the film. Features include:

* 2-D and 3-D Presentations
* 1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
* English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio
* French and Spanish 5.1 DTS Surround
* English SDH, French and Spanish subtitles
* U Control - Picture in Picture (2-D Feature Only)
* U Control - Tours and Voice Sessions (2-D Feature Only)
* U Control - Picture in Picture Animatic (2-D Feature Only)
* Deleted Scenes
* The Making of Coraline
* Voicing the Characters
* Creepy Coraline
* Feature Commentary with Director Henry Selick and Composer Bruno Coulais
* D-Box
* BD Live - My Scenes Sharing
* BD Live - The World According to Henry
* Disc 2: DVD with standard-def 2-D version of the film, audio commentary & 2-D Digital Copy of the film (expires 31st July 2010)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie I have...in 3D, January 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coraline Blu-ray / DVD (Blu-ray)
I am only commenting on the 3D aspect of it....not the story itself.
I have several movies in 3d and for me this is bright & colorful. Story is well done but unfortunately nothing really leaps out of the screen at you except for a few instances. I did not think that I was going to like this but watching this in 3D really changed my mind.
I did not really care for Alice in Wonderland or A Christmas Carol. Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs and Despicable Me are pretty good but this I found to be more of a visual treat.
I must say that out of all that I have -Saw 3D and Clash of the Titans-Resident Evil... just do not hold up against CGI movies. IMAX does great stuff but those are not movies.
From start to finish Coraline is a visual feast and I would recommend this for anyone that has a 3D television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully creepy, February 9, 2009
This uncommon animation starts with tween-aged angst, the kind that demands independence but still wants mom and dad close by. Her busy parents don't have much time for her, though, and her new, remote home doesn't offer much reward for her explorations (other than some rather kooky neighbors). So, even if it's not wholly conscious, Coraline wishes for a nicer place and parents that pay more attention.

As the movie's tagline says, "be careful what you wish for." Like Alice down the rabbit hole, Coraline finds a secret passage to a more magical place. Soon, however, the magic turns dark. That's where the brilliant animation really comes into its own. The stop animation (or at least the look of it) bring to mind Tim Burton with a macabre touch of Brothers Quay. You know your child best - skittish ones might find some of the imagery a bit much. Still, kids' stories (like Alice in Wonderland) have always had dark edges. That deliciously spooky sense, plus some great animation, really set this movie apart from the usual.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


188 of 247 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delightlfully Trippy Movie, But Don't Be Enticed by the 3D Feature Alone, August 4, 2009
My husband and I rented the dual sided version of the film a couple days ago as well as bought two pairs of the dual color 3D glasses.

The film was absolutely beautiful designed and animated. It was also delightfully balanced between trippy and creepy. I'd definitely say that if parents have young children, they should preview the film prior to showing it and use their personal judgment. The narrative has the same threads of menace that haunts original Brother's Grimm tales. The film at times can be rather disturbing. My husband and I humorously traded off with the line, "That is messed up!" several times through out the film. My only critique with the film is that the resolution falls too swiftly and maybe too neatly into place.

The reason my review is three stars is that I fail to see the reason behind packaging the DVD with a 3D version of the film. Even on a HD plasma with unimpaired vision, the dual colored glasses just did not work for me at all. I knew going in that the home television would lose the incredible effect of what dual projection in a theater could create, so I didn't have high expectations. I was merely curious if the industry had gotten better at implementing it over time.

I went in to watching the 3D version expecting to at least get a sense of scene depth similar to an old school View-Master. Unfortunately, I didn't even get that. None of the 3D effects worked for me. Even with a darkened room, my eyes would water while they constantly fought to refocus and make sense of the dual colors. I had to stop watching after about twenty minutes in, because my eyes were just exhausted. The 3D versions also dulls the color scheme. This really doesn't do the original film justice at all. It was rather shocking to see the vivid color difference switching from 3D to the 2D version.

In Conclusion: Skip the 3D gimmick and enjoy the 2D version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You are not my mother!, July 4, 2010
This review is from: Coraline (2D Version) (DVD)
Nobody can drench a book in creepy, dank atmosphere like Neil Gaiman, infused with humor and more than a little horror.

Fortunately that flavour is kept alive in the movie adaptation of "Coraline," brought to life by the talented Henry Selick. It's a haunting little dark fairy tale full of decayed apartments, dancing rats and eerie soulless doppelgangers, as well as a gutsy heroine who finds herself in this ominous "other" world.

Newly moved into an aged apartment, Coraline (Dakota Fanning) is bored. Her parents are too busy to do anything with her, and her neighbors are either insane or boring. The one exception is Wybie, a boy who annoys her no end.

It's the sort of relentlessly dull world that any little girl would want to escape from -- until Coraline does. She encounters a plastered-up door and a colourful wormhole, leading to a doppelganger of new home. In fact, it's so similar that she has a button-eyed "other mother" (Teri Hatcher) and matching "other father," (John Hodgman) as well as great food, games, a shimmering magic garden, a chorus of circus rodents and magic toys.

At first Coraline is fascinated by the other world, especially since her other parents are as attentive as her real ones aren't. Then she finds her real parents sealed inside a mirror. With the help of a sarcastic cat, Coraline ventures back into the other world. But with her parents and a trio of dead children held hostage, Coraline's only hope is to gamble with her own freedom -- and she'll be trapped forever if she fails.

Neil Gaiman's book "Coraline" is a brilliant dark fairy-tale vibe -- decayed apartments, dead children, spiderwebs, beetles, disembodied hands, button eyes, and an insectile button-eyed woman who wants to claim Coraline for herself. It's a fairy tale world that turns into a nightmare realm where souls are lost and horrific things scuttle in the shadows.

Most directors would turn the story into a cutsy, unscary affair... but not the director of "The Nightmare Before Christmas" and "James and the Giant Peach." Instead, Selick gives it a dark, cobwebby atmosphere, brilliant colours and surreal details (the button eclipsing the moon). And it's full of lovely details that could have been silly (the creepy-crawly claw hand) yet work brilliantly.

The story starts off as merely surreal, but grows more ghastly and eerie as the movie unwinds -- and in the last third, the slow-moving story suddenly spins into a thoroughly spooky territory, and a truly terrifying climax where the Other Mother shows her true self. And along the way, there are plenty of wonderfully creepy moments -- the three ghosts in a rotting bedroom/mirror, the offering of buttons and thick black thread, weird circus acts, and much more. The horror is subtle, the delicious creepiness is not.

Coraline -- the Alice in this Notsowonderland -- is a wonderful little heroine: strong, sensible, self-sufficient but still fairly freaked out about what is happening around her. Normally I'm not crazy about Dakota Fanning, but voice-only she's quite good in this role.

The sarcastic cat is a wonderful counterpoint, and the movie's original character Wybie makes a nice companion (albeit an extraneous one). And the other mother is the stuff of nightmares -- she's utterly inhuman and merciless, and by the movie's climax she's become the stuff of nightmares. Oh, and French and Saunders make a pair of fun cameos as the kooky neighbors.

"Coraline" is a brilliantly dark little movie, full of dark magic and eerie creatures -- definitely for fans of Gaiman, dark fantasy and really creepy stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jeepers Creepers! Where'd You Get Those Peepers?, February 6, 2009
By 
"Coraline" is a frighteningly beautiful fantasy, filled to the brim with delightfully bizarre visuals and one-of-a-kind characters. Some may say that it's too dark for young children, and indeed, it is, in essence, a family-friendly horror movie. But I suspect that most children will find it more dazzling than scary; through the painstaking but rewarding process of stop-motion animation, writer/director Henry Selick retains the essence of the original novel by Neil Gaiman, crafting a tale that's just creepy enough to thrill audiences without sending them running out of the theater. It's also presented in 3-D, although the process isn't as impressive as you might think it is. I stared at the screen through a pair of special glasses, and yet I never flinched or covered my eyes when something came at me from off the screen. No matter--dimension isn't important as long as a fun story is being told.

With "Coraline," we're once again invited to explore an alternate world hidden amongst our own, specifically within the walls of a house (Gaiman has tackled this subject before with films like "Mirrormask" and stories like "The Wolves in the Walls"). In this case, the alternate world is a lot like ours, except it's better. That's exactly why it appeals to Coraline Jones (voiced by Dakota Fanning), an adventurous young girl leading a very dull life. Her parents (voiced by Teri Hatcher and John Hodgman) are too busy writing articles for a gardening catalogue to take any notice of her. She's surrounded by eccentric but boring neighbors in her new home, which was once a Victorian house but is now an apartment complex. There's nothing worth exploring inside or outside. Worst of all, she never feels as if anyone is listening to what she's saying. Maybe it would help if they didn't keep calling her Caroline.

Then she discovers a small door hidden behind a wall of an old parlor, a door that covers a tube-like portal leading to the alternate version of our world. Things are so much more interesting there, including the people, who are reflections of the people in Coraline's world. There's one small physical difference: They all have black buttons instead of eyes. When we first see Coraline's Other Mother (also voiced by Teri Hatcher), we immediately sense that something sinister lurks behind that vacant, artificial stare; she's a little too sweet-natured, a little too accommodating. It's as if she wants Coraline to stay in this alternate world forever, not as a daughter, but as a prized possession. Coraline's suspicions are confirmed when the Other Mother hands her a box containing two black buttons, a spool of thread, and a needle.

There comes a point when Coraline must not only rescue her real parents, who have been kidnapped, but also free the souls of three dead children, who have been imprisoned in the alternate world for who knows how long. With the help of a special green stone, Coraline will play a game with the Other Mother, a hide-and-go-seek game, a finding-things game. If she loses ... well, let's just say that losing won't be a good thing for her.

Another fitting way to describe this film would be to call it a Good vs. Evil fable, where a wise but non-complacent hero battles it out with a malevolent force. Coraline is daring, but she certainly isn't fearless, which only makes her that much more relatable as a character. She even has to be helped at specific points, as seen when the local cat appears in the alternate world; we quickly learn that, once in this world, he has the ability to speak like a human, specifically in the voice of Keith David. (Is it the independent nature of cats that inspired Gaiman to make this character a bit haughty?)

As with any good fantasy, "Coraline" features a number of side characters, each with a unique personality quirk. Coraline's downstairs neighbors are Miss Spink and Miss Forcible (voiced by Jennifer Saunders and Dawn French), former actresses who speak as if they were trying to be heard in the balcony section. I don't know whether or not it's unfortunate that we only see their Other selves giving a performance (to an audience primarily made up of Scottish terriers). Her upstairs neighbor is Mr. Bobinsky (voiced by Ian McShane), an eccentric circus performer who gets from point A to point B using only acrobatic poses. He claims to have a troupe of mice training for their next performance, although the only mice we see belong to the Other Mr. Bobinsky; the show they put on for Coraline is one of the film's best scenes.

Finally, there's Wybie Lovat (voiced by Robert Bailey, Jr.), a boy not much older than Coraline. He's awkward and timid, always hunched over, always sneaking up on Coraline, forbidden from entering the apartment complex because of his grandmother. This character was not in Gaiman's novel, and truth be told, I'm not sure he was needed for the film. He and Coraline have a few interesting scenes together, but there's always the sense that the story would have been just fine without him. It certainly was when Gaiman wrote it. Be that as it may, "Coraline" is still a fantastic explosion of creativity, a haunting, vibrant fantasy teeming with visual goodies. It's a dark film--not unpleasantly dark, but dark nevertheless. It works in much the same way as a bedtime story, many of which hint at the possibility of bad things happening. You know your children better than I do, but keep in mind that many are more fascinated by the macabre than by the mundane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D not ready for home use yet, July 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got the DVD of "Coraline" today and had to look at it. The 3D is based on the Red/Green system - not polarized. The upshot is that although the effect is there it picture is dim/muted by the glasses. I found it hard on the eyes. Also, the effect is less pronounced than in the theater. All in all, the 2D version is better for home viewing.

That said - it is a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 3D Works., July 28, 2009
By 
Emad Khan (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coraline - Collector's Edition (Blu-ray Combo Pack (Blu-ray + DVD)) (Blu-ray)
I was let down when I saw the paper glasses that it comes with. I was expecting clear, transparent 3D glasses but the glasses that it comes with have Pinkish and Greenish lenses.
But after watching the movie with glasses I found that they worked pretty good. I haven't seen Coraline 3D in theatres, but I was blown away with some of the 3D scenes. The glasses do take away the bright vibrant colors (not too much though, Coraline's bright orange coat and Blue hair were still vibrant) but add a completely new feel and mood to the movie that's very appropriate for it.
Some people have said that only a few selected scenes are in 3d. I didn't feel this at all. The entire movie was in 3D. Maybe a couple close up scenes where there wouldn't be too much depth to begin with may be 2D, ( I don't know) But the rest was completely 3D.
I watched the movie on Blu-ray and on an HD TV. That's the only way to get the best picture possible.
There are almost 2 different version of Coraline. The 3D and the regular versions. They both create two completely different experiences. When watching in 3D, you feel like you've been transported into a different world that's gloomy and dark. In 2D Blu ray, you get to observe the same world with rich details that aren't visible in the 3D.
So this is defiantly worth buying. The 3D is not as good as the theatres but still works splendidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Stop-Motion Dandy!, February 18, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a big fan of stop-motion animation (using physical objects), any time a stop-motion film gets wide distribution I celebrate. Simply put, stop-motion animation is my favorite film making medium. I did it as a kid and I appreciate its unique place in the world of film art today. Unlike 2d cell animation (Disney style), 3d stop-motion animation seams to be finding a place in the computer driven world of feature films. Though not specifically advancing the art of stop-motion animation, Coraline dutifully keeps it alive for all the right reasons.

WARNING: RISK OF SEVERE GEEK JUICING BEYOND THIS POINT!!! PLEASE WEAR EYE PROTECTION!!

STOP-MOTION = CREEPY
If you want a fantasy to be creepy, inject a little stop-motion and you will be successful. If you look back at prominent films that employ Stop-motion it becomes clear: Corps Bride, Nightmare before Christmas, James and the Giant Peach, Wallace and Gromit, the Curse of the Were Rabbit, Chicken Run and everything Ray Harryhausen did. Stop-motion usually equates to creepy or fantastic. Most fans of the technique would agree that it's the slightly jerky and awkward movements that contribute to the surreal and eerie feel that is so effective in these films. "Coraline" is a very creepy film and even more so for employing stop-motion.

TAKING A STEP BACK FROM "CORPSE BRIDE"
In my humble opinion "Corpse Bride" was the best feature film done entirely in stop-motion. As the first film to use digital still cameras to animate 3d objects, "Corpse Bride" set the standard for character expression, meaningful movement and Stop-motion artistry. "Coraline" takes a slight step back from "Corpse Bride" in its animation technique. Things don't move quite as smoothly. Characters don't have the same sense of weight or expressiveness. All of that aside, "Coraline" is still an excellent piece of art and I enjoyed watching it despite not meeting "Corpse Bride" standards.

MOVING A STEP AHEAD OF "CORPSE BIRDE"
Where "Coraline" advances the art of film making may not be in stop motion particularly, but rather in its hybrid technique use. "Coraline" may well be the first film to combine stop-motion with CGI and very effectively in my opinion. Many people revile CGI due to over-reliance on it by many in the film industry. Very often films start to look like video games. In "Coraline" CGI is used strictly as a background device. Some might call this "cheating", but I can't imagine how this film could be achieved as effectively without it. As much as I love stop-motion, CGI has its place and this was a creative place to use it.

ACTORS WHO DON'T SING
"Coraline" is unique for a stop-motion film in that there are no extraneous musical numbers in the place of conversation. That does not mean there is no music at all, it just means that the music occurs when it might in reality: While someone plays the piano, in a theater, and at the Circus. I was taken aback when the characters broke out in song during "Corpse Bride". I never expected it and it took a couple of viewings to get used to it. In Coraline the music was natural and unobtrusive. Though I've never heard Dakota Fanning (Coraline) or Teri Hatcher (Mom 1 and Mom 2) sing, I'm not disappointed I haven't yet. They both did excellent work here with Hatcher being the surprise of the day. She personally made the "Stepford Wives" look downright inviting. I don't want to take the time to talk about all the actors, though I should mention all involved make significant contributions.

WHAT ABOUT THE STORY "GEEK-MIAS"?
I enjoyed the story quite a bit. The question is, will you? Here's how my family received this film.
WIFE: she doesn't like being reminded of her own mortality, so she was not too thrilled with a story that has dead children in it. She thought the movie was ok but didn't like the subject matter.
SON: as a sensitive 6 year old, he was somewhat frightened by it. He liked the format and the fantasy, but was less than thrilled with the bugs and scary stuff, same as my wife.
DAUGHTER: She liked it. As a 10 year old, she related a lot to Coraline because she's close to the same age and has awful parents just like Coraline... ...wait, did I say that? Regardless, I've raised her to enjoy scary stuff so she was with it. She thoroughly enjoyed it.
ME: I love stop-motion and the story was original enough to keep me guessing. There were dead children, so peril was well established. There are plenty of quirky (crazy) characters and plenty of creepy stuff too, so I was well satisfied.
THE 4 YEAR OLD SITTING NEXT TO ME: "Mommy, I DON'T EVER WANT TO SEE THAT AGAIN!!" I guess she didn't like it. That warmed my heart.

LIKE THE CHILDREN OF "HAMLIN", I'M HOOKED
Though not reaching the heights that "Corpse Bride" did, "Coraline" immediately went on my DVD wish-list after leaving the theater. Seeing it in 3D was really not important and actually a distraction. Seeing it without the glasses is fine. The story is dark like many fairy tales and harkens back to the "Pied Piper of Hamlin" which creeped me out as a kid, so your kids might be a little disturbed. For fans of stop-motion, it's a reason to smile.

-Story...............4 Stars
-Animation..........4.5 Stars
-Characters..........4.5 Stars
-Family Appeal...3 Stars

Total.....3.87 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Coraline - Collector's Edition (Blu-ray Combo Pack (Blu-ray + DVD))
$19.98 $11.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.